Community Alert

The Prairie Lakes Regional Arts Council awarded $800 in Arts Scholarships to three Waseca County students.

Over $27,000 in Youth Scholarships from the Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund, funded by the Clean Water, Land & Legacy Amendment were awarded by the PLRAC.

There were 64 students in grades 7-12 and 43 students in grades 3-6 throughout eight counties who were awarded scholarships, three of them being from Waseca County.

The Youth Scholarships of $300 for grades 7-12 and $200 for grades 3-6 will provide these students the opportunity to study their chosen art with a practicing professional artist.

Two students in Waseca County were awarded $300 scholarships and include: Jordan Bauman from Waseca will be taking voice lessons from an independent instructor and Eleanor Pearce from Waseca will be taking dance lessons at Mankato Ballet Company. Ava Trumbull from Waseca was awarded a $200 scholarship to take dance lessons at BlueJay Dance Studio in Waseca.

There is one deadline per year for the Youth Scholarships. For grades 7-12 the next deadline date is October 1, 2020. For grades 3-6 the next deadline date is November 1, 2020.

PLRAC provides grants for arts activities including dance, music, theater, literature, media arts and visual art classes and exhibitions. Applications from Non-profit Arts Organizations, Community Groups and Schools will be accepted twice a year and the next Arts & Cultural Heritage deadline is February 1, 2020. Small Arts Project Community Grants for smaller art activities and School Arts Project grants for school residences are both available for up to $2,000 and the next deadlines are January 1 and February 1, 2020.

The Prairie Lakes Regional Arts Council is committed to supporting and expanding the arts in the nine-county area; knowing that the Arts improve the quality of life in the region. A monthly newsletter and calendar of arts events in the 9-county area is posted on the website; grant guidelines and a link to the online applications are available at Questions contact: Brenda Byron, Executive Director, at the Prairie Lakes office in Waseca, 1-800-298-1254 or The PLRAC serves a nine-county area including Blue Earth, Brown, Faribault, LeSueur, Martin, Nicollet, Sibley, Waseca and Watonwan Counties.

Reach Reporter Bailey Grubish at 507-837-5451 or follow her on Twitter @wcnbailey. ©Copyright 2019 APG Media of Southern Minnesota. All rights reserved.


Load comments