The Kenyon-Wanamingo trap shooting team will join the frenzy that is the world’s largest shooting sport event.

Twenty-three members of the K-W squad are headed to Alexandria on Wednesday for the Minnesota State High School Clay Target League Championship.

The tournament spans nine days starting Monday with Class 1A. The Knights are in Class 3A and are scheduled to shoot Wednesday at Trap 8B. Class 9A is the largest. Opening ceremonies are at 8 a.m. and an award ceremony follows the competition.

In total, event organizers anticipate over 330 teams and over 8,300 competitors at Alexandria Shooting Park. The venue features food vendors and raffles among other entertainment.

Live scoring for the competition is available on the Clay Target Leaderboard app or at

Shooters shoot two rounds of 25, rest, and later return to shoot two more rounds of 25. It’s a test in focus and fortitude as shooters are accustomed to two rounds of 50 during the five regular season weeks.

This tournament is open to all shooters in the state regardless of skill level.

The top performing teams and individuals at this event will attempt to qualify for the Minnesota State High School League State Tournament June 21 in Prior Lake.

Top 100 individuals of the 2019 spring season qualify based on cumulative average score. Top 40 teams at the state meet also qualify.

K-W currently sits outside the top 40 and does not have anyone in the top 100, which cuts off through week 5 at 23.7 out of 25. K-W is led by Sam Androli at 22.3. That’s good for a tie for 19th in K-W’s Conference 1.

Faith Mehling is the Knights’ top girl at 16.3. Sydney Paquette was the team’s most improved performer.

K-W finished sixth place in the conference: 1. Annandale 14,880; 2. Mayer Lutheran 13,220; 3. Richfield/Holy Angels 11,968; 4. Walker/Hackensack/Akeley 9,306½; 5. Maple Grove 8,322½; 6. K-W 8,057; 7. Roseville Area 5,226

At state in 2018, K-W had 12 shooters post a 456 score to finish in 21st place. Wyatt Foss and Micah Hanson were high gun each shooting 93. Also posting qualifying scores were Matt Kohn (91), Kurt Breimhurst (90) and Androli (89). Two shooters fired perfect 100s to win the class.

Reach Sports Editor Mike Randleman at 507-333-3119 or on Twitter @fdnmike.

Sports reporter for the Faribault Daily News. Graduated from Iowa State University in 2016. Originally from Eden Prairie, Minnesota.

Load comments