st. olaf hall of fame

Kurt Anderson, Susannah Brokl, Katie Detwiler, Janet (Hengel) Anderson, Kevin Jensen, Andrew Schmiesing, Keith Townsend and Nelson Westby are the newest inductees into the St. Olaf Hall of Fame. (Photo courtesy of St. Olaf)

The St. Olaf College Athletic Department inducted seven former student-athletes and one former head coach into the St. Olaf College Athletic Hall of Fame on Saturday, June 1, in a ceremony held in the Skoglund Center.

The class of eight inductees consisted of Kurt Anderson (former head men's soccer coach), Susannah Brokl '07 (women's hockey), Katie Detwiler '05 (women's swimming and diving), Janet (Hengel) Anderson '01 (women's track and field), Kevin Jensen '00 (men's soccer), Andrew Schmiesing '08 (baseball and football), Keith Townsend '05 (men's hockey) and Nelson Westby '09 (men's swimming and diving).

Prior to the formal induction ceremony, there was a reception for the inductees and their friends and families in the lobby inside St. Olaf Ice Arena with remarks from Athletic Director Ryan Bowles and President David Anderson.

At the induction ceremony, Bowles introducted each inductee before the honorees delivered their induction speeches and answered two questions about their careers. More information about this year's inductees can be found here.

The St. Olaf College Athletic Hall of Fame was established in 1971 to recognize the accomplishments of former student-athletes, coaches and administrators during their time at St. Olaf.

The athletic department inducts a new class every two years and nominations for future classes can be made here.

Sports Editor for the Northfield News. Also a California native looking for tips on surviving the winter and an Indiana University grad on the quest for a good breaded pork tenderloin.

Load comments