Tri-City United hosted its annual wrestling invite Saturday, and the Titans finished third place with most wrestlers seeing the podium.

The Titans wracked up 202 points with 14 wrestlers reaching fifth place or better. They were only beat out by New Prague with 238 points and Plainview-Elgin-Millville with 215. Mankato East took fourth overall with 106 points and Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted came in fifth with 92.5.

TCU had one first-place winner and four second-place winners.

Steve Miller (170 pounds) stole the show for the Titans by defeating Jay Skogerboe of New Prague in the championship match. The score was close throughout the match, but Miller just snuck past Skogerboe to take the 8-6 win and the championship. Miller finished 2-0.

Cole Franek, Nick Johnson, Caleb Whipps and Jose Reyes couldn’t quite pull off the same as all four took second place.

All but Whipps found themselves up against New Prague wrestlers as well.

Franek (113) faced Joey Novak and though he struggled, he wasn’t a match for the Trojan who won the match with a technical fall at 17-1. Overall, Franek ended the day 2-1.

Johnson (120) faced off against Nick Novak and though the match was closer than Franek’s he still couldn’t get it close enough and Johnson fell to a 9-1 major decision. Johnson finished 2-1.

Reyes (220), who beat the No. 1 ranked wrestler in the class a few weeks ago, fell to Will Busch. Their match was much closer and even across the board. But Busch secured a 3-2 win. Reyes finished the day 2-1.

Whipps (126) met with Le Sueur-Henderson’s star wrestler Jorge Hernandez for the championship. Hernandez was the sole representative for LS-H at the state meet last year, so it’s no surprise that he would put a challenge for Whipps. In the end, Hernandez defeated Whipps with a 7-3 decision to take the championship. He finished 2-1.

Five Titans also took third: Zach Balma (106), Brandon Balma (145), Adam Fredrickson (152), Riley O’Malley (160) and Sam Miller (195).

The other four took fifth including Jack Paggen (152), Caden O’Malley (132), Hunter Rutt (138) and Brody Rud (182).

The Titans head to Mapleton on Thursday to face Bloomington and Maple River and then go to Watertown on Friday for a triangular against Mound Westonka and Watertown-Mayer.


1. New Prague 238.0

2. Plainview-Elgin-Millville 215.5

3. Tri-City United 202.0

4. Mankato East 106.0

5. Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted 92.5

6. LeSueur-Henderson 77.0

7. Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial Area 72.0

8. St. Clair/Mankato Loyola 43.0


106 – Zach Balma (TCU) pinned Steven Heber (HLWW) for third place 0:57

113 – Joey Novak (NP) technical fall Cole Franek (TCU) for first place 17-1

120 – Nick Novak (NP) major decision Nick Johnson (TCU) for first place 9-1

126 – Jorge Hernandez (LSH) decision Caleb Whipps (TCU) for first place 7-3

132 – Caden O’Malley (TCU) decision Derek Boyum (PEM) for fifth place 11-7

138 – Hunter Rutt (TCU) technical fall Jacob Schimek (STC) for fifth place 15-0

145 – Brandon Balma (TCU) decision Collin Boese (HLWW) for third place 3-2

152 – Adam Fredrickson (TCU) pinned Carter Borholdt (NP) for third place 3:40

Jack Paggen (TCU) major decision Camden Ludeman (LCWM/N) for fifth place 9-0

160 – Riley O’Malley (TCU) pinned Liam Eberhard (HLWW) for third place 5:43

170 – Steve Miller (TCU) decision Jay Skogerboe (NP) for first place 8-6

182 – Brody Rud (TCU) pinned Anthony McDonough (STC) for fifth place 1:25

195 – Sam Miller (TCU) major decision Kieran Hendel (ME) for third place 9-1

220 – Will Busch (NP) decision Jose Reyes (TCU) for first place 3-2

285 – Robert Bastyr did not place

Reach Reporter Ashley Murtha at 507-931-8572.

Recommended for you

Load comments