JWP class (copy)

JWP teachers and students will create sculptures for the Janesville sculpture garden that Janesville Matters got a grant from the PLRAC for. This photo is of the advanced metal sculpture class at JWP with their second sculpture. ( Photo courtesy of JWP Advanced Metal Sculpture Class Facebook)

JANESVILLE — The Prairie Lakes Regional Arts Council has awarded Janesville Matters with one of the Small Arts grants available.

Janesville Matters was awarded $2,000 that will be used to create a sculpture garden.

The plan is to have four sculptures and landscaping done in front of the Janesville Public Utilities Building. The artwork will be created by Tim James, artist and Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton art teacher along with JWP Advanced Metals teacher Aiden Demarais and JWP students.

The PLRAC has Small Arts grants available for schools, non-profit arts organizations and community groups that are sponsoring arts activities, in the 9-county area, noted Brenda Byron, PLRAC executive director in a press release.

The matching grants are up to $2,000. Activities may include music performances, theatre events, dance activities, literary readings, visual art classes and residencies in the schools, etc.

Deadlines for applying are Jan. 1 and Feb. 1, 2020.

According to the press release first time applicants must contact the PLRAC to discuss their project. If there are questions, please contact the PLRAC office in Waseca, 1-800–298-1254 or plrac@hickorytech.net. Prairie Lakes Regional Arts Council has an online grant process. Go to the website www.plrac.org and click on the applicant Login button. Follow the instructions to set up and account and complete the application.

Annually, the arts council awards more than 200 grants to artists, non-profit arts organizations, community groups and schools, and for youth scholarships, and in 2019 over $450,000 was awarded.

A monthly newsletter and calendar of arts events in the 9-county is posted on the website, as well as grant guidelines and a link to the online grants. The PLRAC serves a nine-county area including Blue Earth, Brown, Faribault, LeSueur, Martin, Nicollet, Sibley, Waseca and Watonwan Counties.

Reach Reporter Bailey Grubish at 507-837-5451 or follow her on Twitter @wcnbailey. ©Copyright 2019 APG Media of Southern Minnesota. All rights reserved.

Load comments