It’s the best of the best so everyone can hit, everyone can field so it’s pretty fun.

The most successful battery in Faribault High School softball history got to play together one last time. And they did so in red jerseys.

FHS seniors, catcher Abby Van Ryn and pitcher McKayla Armbruster, were selected to the Class AAA Red team as part of the 2019 Minnesota Fastpitch Softball Coaches Association All-Star Series sponsored by the Minnesota Twins.

The team was coached by FHS head coach Chris Silber and FHS assistant Jesse Armbruster.

The two FHS Falcon players were a part of an 11-player team and two of 22 AAA players selected. The Red team played the White team at Caswell Park in North Mankato.

“It’s the best of the best so everyone can hit, everyone can field,” Van Ryn said, “so it’s pretty fun.”

Red won its first game 3-2 with Armbruster and Van Ryn starting the game.

The two made an immediate impact as Van Ryn hit a sharp single and Armbruster struck out the side.

In the second inning, Armbruster walked and scored a run.

Red won game two with Armbruster and Van Ryn playing the final three innings to help pick up the save. They helped erase a 6-4 deficit.

“We did well in the circle and behind the plate,” Armbruster said. “Five hits and one run in seven innings.”

The All-Star Series was reserved for graduating seniors only.

For the high school season, Van Ryn hit .375, slugged .528, hit a team-high tree home runs and walked 15 times while providing steady defense behind the plate. She’s off to play at the University of St. Thomas.

Armbruster was Minnesota’s most dominant pitcher. She went 19-3 with a .55 ERA, 242 strikeouts and walked just 11 batters. The Minnesota State University, Mankato bound athlete also hit .365 with a co-team high five doubles and a .500 slugging percentage.

Armbruster and Van Ryn will continue to wear red together through the summer with the TC Blitz 18U travel team. The Blitz also features 2018 FHS graduates Bre Bresnahan and Allison Schaak, both of who finished their freshman seasons playing for University of Minnesota, Duluth.

The AAA Red roster:

- McKayla Armbruster, P, Faribault

- Abby Van Ryn, C, Faribault

- Joey Batt, CF, New Ulm

- Lexi Braaten, SS, Princeton

- Kennedy Johnson, 2B, Princeton

- Caitlin Heinen, P, Rocori

- Shelby Gately, C, Rocori

- Staci Meyer, 2B, Sauk Rapids-Rice

- Holly Weinberger, 1B, Waconia

- Lauryn Hamernik, SS, Winona

- Carson Johnson, 2B, Winona

AAA White:

- Kaylyn Wiehle, CF, Becker

- Trinity Junker, P, Chisago Lakes

- Kaitlyn Istvanovich, C, Chisago Lakes

- Olivia Diver, 2B, Cloquet

- Alexandra Clark, SS, Hill-Murray

- Emma Young, C, Mankato West

- Ashlyn Donner, P, New Ulm

- Caroline Pritchard, 1B, Northfield

- Jillian Noel, SS, Northfield

- Jordan Case, 2B, Orono

- Kenzie Dufner, P, Rocori

Reach Sports Editor Mike Randleman at 507-333-3119 or on Twitter @fdnmike.

© Copyright 2019 APG Media of Southern Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.

{p style=”color: #000000; font-family: tahoma, arial, helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: 12px;”}{p style=”color: #000000; font-family: tahoma, arial, helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: 12px;”}{p style=”color: #000000; font-family: tahoma, arial, helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: 12px;”}{!--[if gte mso 9]}{xml} {o:OfficeDocumentSettings} {o:AllowPNG/} {/o:OfficeDocumentSettings} {/xml}{![endif]--}{!--[if gte mso 9]}{xml} {w:WordDocument} {w:Zoom}0{/w:Zoom} {w:TrackMoves}false{/w:TrackMoves} {w:TrackFormatting/} {w:PunctuationKerning/} {w:DrawingGridHorizontalSpacing}18 pt{/w:DrawingGridHorizontalSpacing} {w:DrawingGridVerticalSpacing}18 pt{/w:DrawingGridVerticalSpacing} {w:DisplayHorizontalDrawingGridEvery}0{/w:DisplayHorizontalDrawingGridEvery} {w:DisplayVerticalDrawingGridEvery}0{/w:DisplayVerticalDrawingGridEvery} {w:ValidateAgainstSchemas/} {w:SaveIfXMLInvalid}false{/w:SaveIfXMLInvalid} {w:IgnoreMixedContent}false{/w:IgnoreMixedContent} {w:AlwaysShowPlaceholderText}false{/w:AlwaysShowPlaceholderText} {w:Compatibility} {w:BreakWrappedTables/} {w:DontGrowAutofit/} {w:DontAutofitConstrainedTables/} {w:DontVertAlignInTxbx/} {/w:Compatibility} {/w:WordDocument} {/xml}{![endif]--}{!--[if gte mso 9]}{xml} {w:LatentStyles DefLockedState=”false” LatentStyleCount=”276”} {/w:LatentStyles} {/xml}{![endif]--}{!--[if gte mso 10]} {style} /Style Definitions / table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:”Table Normal”; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-parent:””; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:12.0pt; font-family:”Times New Roman”; mso-ascii-font-family:Cambria; mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”; mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast; mso-hansi-font-family:Cambria; mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;} {/style} {![endif]--} {!--StartFragment--} {!--EndFragment--}

Sports reporter for the Faribault Daily News. Graduated from Iowa State University in 2016. Originally from Eden Prairie, Minnesota.

Load comments