Midwest Athletic Association for the Deaf

The MAAD is hosting its William N. Fraser Memorial basketball tournaments March 8-9 at Faribault High School.

The last prep game of the season at Faribault High School was played Tuesday, but more basketball is still to come at Nomeland Gymnasium.

The Midwest Athletic Association for the Deaf is holding its William N. Fraser Memorial basketball tournaments Friday, Feb. 8 and Saturday, Feb. 9 at FHS. It will be the 74th annual men’s tournament and 32nd annual women’s.

The adult tournament welcomes teams from across the Midwest. Locally, the Faribault Deaf Club has two men’s and two women’s teams.

In the men’s tournament, the Star City team from Lincoln, Nebraska, is the favorite and features several former Gallaudet University athletes including current Minnesota State Academy for the Deaf activities director Lee Jones. Gallaudet is a private school for the deaf and hard of hearing in Washington D.C.

Team FDC-Minnepaul and FDC-Minnesota consist of several Faribaultians and Gallaudet alums. Minnesota includes MSAD girls basketball coach Sabrina Hubmer and Minnesota’s coach is one of the top MSAD players of all time, Ronda Jo Miller (Donatucci). She was one of few deaf players in history to try out for a WNBA team.

MSAD girls volleyball coach and former Trojan basketball player Tabitha Anderson is on Minnepaul.

First round games are 4 p.m. Friday. Second round games are 8 a.m. Saturday with the championship to follow at 4 p.m. and awards at 6.

Admission for ages 11 and younger is free both days and ages 12-18 are $5 both days. Adults are $10 for Friday, $15 for Saturday or $20 for a weekend pass.

Questions regarding the event can be directed to Wayne Morse, chairperson at wwmorse17@gmail.com or Davey Olson, co-chairperson, at daveyolson70@gmail.com.

Reach Sports Editor Mike Randleman at 507-333-3119 or on Twitter @fdnmike.

© Copyright 2019 APG Media of Southern Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.

Sports reporter for the Faribault Daily News. Graduated from Iowa State University in 2016. Originally from Eden Prairie, Minnesota.

Recommended for you

Load comments