For 2015, Jennie-O Turkey Store awarded more than $70,000 in scholarships to 59 graduating high school seniors in Wisconsin and Minnesota.

Applicants for the $1,000 scholarships must either be a Jennie-O Turkey Store employee or a dependent of a company employee. Recipient selection is based on an overall evaluation of academics, written essay, and letters of recommendation. Scholarship recipients are chosen by a third party.

The following students from the Faribault area were chosen to receive $1,000 Jennie-O Turkey Store Continuing Education Scholarships:

Najma Abdullahi (Faribault High School), Nimo Dakane (Faribault High School), Fadumo Mohamed (Faribault High School), Fahimo Mohamud (Faribault High School), Rahimo Mohamud (Faribault High School), Alyssa Noble (Medford High School), Hibo Abdirizak Oyow (Faribault High School), Ashley Schauer (Medford High School), Devin Steffenhagen (Northfield High School), Nicholas VonRuden (Medford High School).

Chris Houck is the city beat reporter for the Northfield News. Contact him at

Recommended for you

Load comments