U.S. Embassy asks for helping finding missing pilot identified as Waseca man - Waseca MN: News

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

U.S. Embassy asks for helping finding missing pilot identified as Waseca man

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Monday, April 15, 2013 11:00 am | Updated: 2:00 pm, Mon Apr 15, 2013.

A Waseca man serving as a missionary in Africa has been missing for more than a week.

According to the Associated Press, U.S. diplomats asked for help Friday in the search for an American pilot in a small turboprop aircraft that went missing (April 7) in a storm off the coast of West Africa.

A statement published Thursday night said: "If you catch sight of any debris from a plane that has crashed to earth or in the ocean" please contact an embassy official.

U.S. Embassy spokesman Kevin Krapf told The Associated Press on Friday that the pilot was an American but that he could not provide any other details because of privacy laws.

Family members in Waseca identify the pilot Jerry Krause. According to a Find Jerry Facebook page, Krause is a missionary who served "the Mission Aviation Fellowship, but when MAF pulled out of Mali in 2009, (Krause) stayed on with Sahel Aviation to continue serving there."

The statement said the missing plane was a twin-engine Beechcraft 1900 with the registration ZS-PHL on its tail. Only the Krause was on board. The statement said it had disappeared in the area of the Gulf of Guinea on Sunday.

Krause's wife, Gina, is also in Africa serving as a missionary.

© 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content








Waseca County News Forms

Contact Us

MAIN NUMBER
507-835-3380

Publisher and Editor
Julie Frazier, 507-837-5442  jfrazier@wasecacountynews.com

ADVERTISING
Kristie Biehn, advertising consultant, 507-837-5450 kbiehn@wasecacountynews.com

CIRCULATION
Bonnie Nguyen, classified advertising, 507-837-5441 classifieds@wasecacountynews.com
Edy Barber, customer service, 507-837-5455 ebarber@wasecacountynews.com

NEWSROOM
Suzanne Rook, regional managing editor, 507-931-8567 srook@wasecacountynews.com
Ryan Lund, sports editor, 507-837-5447 rlund@wasecacountynews.com
Samantha Maranell, reporter, 507-837-5446, smaranell@wasecacountynews.com
Christen Furlong, reporter, 507-837-5451, cfurlong@wasecacountynews.com


Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks