GALLERY: Waseca post hosts dinner for national American Legion commander - Waseca MN: News

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

GALLERY: Waseca post hosts dinner for national American Legion commander

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, February 5, 2014 11:35 am | Updated: 6:09 pm, Thu Feb 6, 2014.

Waseca’s American Legion Post 228 hosted a very special dinner Tuesday.

Each year, the national commander of the American Legion takes a tour throughout the United States to meet with local post leaders regarding national issues that can have an impact at state and post-levels.

Commander Dan Dellinger of Vienna, Va., visited 12 posts throughout his four-day tour of southern Minnesota. Waseca was one of four chosen to host a dinner in his honor.

When the dinner portion concluded and visitors and post members sat munching their desserts and sipping coffee, Dellinger stood and began to speak.

His message was simple: We need to help the veterans.

“You’d be surprised how many people haven’t heard of traumatic brain injury or Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder,” Dellinger said. “We need to ensure [Veterans Affairs] is doing more ... It should be easier to help treat this.”

According to Dellinger, the American Legion has distributed books to government leaders titled “The War Within” to spread the word about the effects of TBI and PTSD on America’s veterans.

He also told attendees about the importance of membership.

“There is strength in numbers,” Dellinger said. “There are 3.5 million people in the American Legion family. How do we get new, young members?”

Traveling around the country, he heard twice of people who’d never heard of the American Legion.

“Its the little things we do that make the biggest difference,” Dellinger said. “But we have a long way to go.”

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content








Waseca County News Forms

Contact Us

MAIN NUMBER
507-835-3380

Publisher and Editor
Julie Frazier, 507-837-5442  jfrazier@wasecacountynews.com

ADVERTISING
Kristie Biehn, advertising consultant, 507-837-5450 kbiehn@wasecacountynews.com

CIRCULATION
Bonnie Nguyen, classified advertising, 507-837-5441 classifieds@wasecacountynews.com
Edy Barber, customer service, 507-837-5455 ebarber@wasecacountynews.com

NEWSROOM
Suzanne Rook, regional managing editor, 507-931-8567 srook@wasecacountynews.com
Ryan Lund, sports editor, 507-837-5447 rlund@wasecacountynews.com
Samantha Maranell, reporter, 507-837-5446, smaranell@wasecacountynews.com
Christen Furlong, reporter, 507-837-5451, cfurlong@wasecacountynews.com


Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks