Waseca farmers host trade team from Japan - Waseca MN: News

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Waseca farmers host trade team from Japan

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Thursday, May 23, 2013 5:25 pm | Updated: 9:18 am, Fri Jun 14, 2013.

Japanese agricultural trade delegates left Minnesota assured of the superior quality of U.S. soybeans, thanks to a visit to Waseca farmers Scott and Vicky Singlestad’s farm.

The Singlestads hosted a trade delegation of leaders in Japan’s swine health industry who were interested in swine management practices and U.S. soybeans as part of a balanced swine diet. The Minnesota Soybean Research and Promotion Council organized the team of six visitors. While in Minnesota, the trade team also visited Big Gain’s facility in Mankato, the University of Minnesota Extension Southern Research and Outreach Center (SROC), and enjoyed dinner and discussion with Minnesota Soybean and Minnesota Pork producers.

“It was important for me to show international customers first-hand how we produce a safe, reliable food supply to meet their needs while still caring for the environment,” explained Scott Singlestad, who has hosted trade teams in the past from Japan, Taiwan, and China.

Japan is one of the top hog-producing countries in the world. Hogs are fed soybean meal as part of a balanced diet, rich in protein. Japanese farmers and nutritionists have come to trust the quality of U.S. soybeans in their animal diets. The country is the third-largest importer of U.S. soybeans worldwide.

In Japan, most hog farmers breed, farrow, wean, raise, and market animals all on one farm. The visitors were interested in U.S. production practices, like the Singlestads', where they are contracted by Big Gain, a livestock feed company, to raise pigs from the time they are weaned until they reach market weight. They were also interested in humane care of livestock, and remarked that United States farmers are known for their animal husbandry practices.

“We were proud to show these international visitors the time and care we put into caring for our animals and raising a quality crop for their diets,” said Vicky Singlestad.

Singlestad even had some help with planting from some of the Japanese visitors, who had the opportunity to ride along in the tractor as Scott planted soybeans. They were very impressed with the GPS technology utilized in the planter that includes an auto-shut off function to prevent over-planting, which saves resources.

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content








Waseca County News Forms

Contact Us

MAIN NUMBER
507-835-3380

Publisher and Editor
Julie Frazier, 507-837-5442  jfrazier@wasecacountynews.com

ADVERTISING
Kristie Biehn, advertising consultant, 507-837-5450 kbiehn@wasecacountynews.com

CIRCULATION
Bonnie Nguyen, classified advertising, 507-837-5441 classifieds@wasecacountynews.com
Edy Barber, customer service, 507-837-5455 ebarber@wasecacountynews.com

NEWSROOM
Suzanne Rook, regional managing editor, 507-931-8567 srook@wasecacountynews.com
Ryan Lund, sports editor, 507-837-5447 rlund@wasecacountynews.com
Samantha Maranell, reporter, 507-837-5446, smaranell@wasecacountynews.com
Christen Furlong, reporter, 507-837-5451, cfurlong@wasecacountynews.com


Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks