Waseca man sentenced for meth posession - Waseca MN: News

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Waseca man sentenced for meth posession

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Collins

Posted: Monday, February 25, 2013 2:37 pm | Updated: 6:30 pm, Thu Feb 28, 2013.

A Waseca man was sentenced last week for a possession of methamphetamine, a fifth-degree controlled substance.

Michael Collins, 55, received a five-year stay of adjudication after being sentenced Feb. 19 in Waseca County Court.

A stay of adjudication is a situation where the defendant admits they committed the crime, supplies factual basis to support the plea, however, the judge does not formally accept the guilty plea because a conviction is the acceptance of a guilty plea.

Collins will be placed on probation under terms and conditions -- if he successfully completes probation, a conviction won't be entered, but if he violates the terms of their probation, he will have to re-appear in court and may lose the stay of adjudication and face re-sentencing.

Minnesota Statute allows for a stay of adjudication in possession drug cases, not sales.

His sentencing came months after he pleaded guilty on Nov. 2, 2012 after law enforcement entered his home with a search warrant and found meth and drug paraphernalia around the home.

Agents from the South Central Drug Investigation Unit and a Waseca police officer attempted to knock several times on Collins’ home at 154 Vista Villa Court, before forcing entry, according to the complaint, and found no one home.

Some of the items found, photographed and collected as stated in the investigation report, were a spoon with residue and burn marks, silver pill container, a scale and glass pipe, all of which field tested positive for meth.

Also found was a Remington Wing Master 870, 20 gauge pump shotgun, 22 mini-mag and Remington 22 LR Rimfire cartridges and a 410 bolt action gun in a case. 

 

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content








Waseca County News Forms

Contact Us

MAIN NUMBER
507-835-3380

Publisher and Editor
Julie Frazier, 507-837-5442  jfrazier@wasecacountynews.com

ADVERTISING
Kristie Biehn, advertising consultant, 507-837-5450 kbiehn@wasecacountynews.com

CIRCULATION
Bonnie Nguyen, classified advertising, 507-837-5441 classifieds@wasecacountynews.com
Edy Barber, customer service, 507-837-5455 ebarber@wasecacountynews.com

NEWSROOM
Suzanne Rook, regional managing editor, 507-931-8567 srook@wasecacountynews.com
Ryan Lund, sports editor, 507-837-5447 rlund@wasecacountynews.com
Samantha Maranell, reporter, 507-837-5446, smaranell@wasecacountynews.com
Christen Furlong, reporter, 507-837-5451, cfurlong@wasecacountynews.com


Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks