GPS event in Waseca shows farmers the latest tech benefits - Waseca MN: News

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

GPS event in Waseca shows farmers the latest tech benefits

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, May 29, 2013 3:59 pm | Updated: 7:16 pm, Thu May 30, 2013.

Area corn and soybean farmers will find out how they can increase production while decreasing costs at “Farming with GPS,” Wednesday, June 12 at Farmamerica, the Minnesota Agricultural Interpretive Center.

The event begins at 8 a.m. with an overview of new capabilities and benefits of GPS. Farmers will learn about how the combination of global positioning technologies, sensors, and computers can enable higher precision, use of less fertilizer, and improved yields at lower costs, according to University of Minnesota Extension Educator Brad Carlson.

Breakout sessions and demonstrations by Ag Leader, Case IH/Trimble, John Deere, and Precision Planting will be followed by a free lunch. Farmers can then stay for individual tutoring and “ride and drive” opportunities.

“Farming with GPS” is sponsored by Farmamerica, the Minnesota Corn Growers Association, and Waseca County Corn and Soybean Growers and the Soybean Checkoff, with support from University of Minnesota Extension and South Central College. Details are available at www.farmamerica.org.

© 2015 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content








Waseca County News Forms

Contact Us

MAIN NUMBER
507-835-3380

Publisher and Editor
Julie Frazier, 507-837-5442  jfrazier@wasecacountynews.com

ADVERTISING
Kristie Biehn, advertising consultant, 507-837-5450 kbiehn@wasecacountynews.com

CIRCULATION
Bonnie Nguyen, classified advertising, 507-837-5441 classifieds@wasecacountynews.com
Edy Barber, customer service, 507-837-5455 ebarber@wasecacountynews.com

NEWSROOM
Suzanne Rook, regional managing editor, 507-931-8567 srook@wasecacountynews.com
Ryan Lund, sports editor, 507-837-5447 rlund@wasecacountynews.com
Samantha Maranell, reporter, 507-837-5446, smaranell@wasecacountynews.com
Christen Furlong, reporter, 507-837-5451, cfurlong@wasecacountynews.com


Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…