Blair Nelson


Waseca County Commissioner Blair Nelson has been elected to serve as a district director for the Association of Minnesota Counties (AMC). Nelson will represent AMC’s district 7, which also includes Blue Earth, Brown, Faribault, Le Sueur, Martin, McCleod, Nicollet, Sibley and Watonwan Counties, on the association’s board of directors.

“I’m honored to accept this position, because it’s important that county officials across the state collaborate and work together as much as possible toward our common goals,” Nelson said.

AMC member counties belong to one of 10 regional districts around the state. District meetings are held two times per year (usually in June and October) to refine the association’s legislative policy positions and provide valuable information on specific county issues. District directors preside over district meetings, assist in the development of agendas and invite legislators to participate and attend district meetings. District director terms are two years, and each director can serve up to two terms in the position.

“We’re very excited to welcome Commissioner Nelson to the AMC board,” AMC Executive Director Julie Ring said. “His interest in working with others to find real solutions to common problems will be a true asset to the district, its citizens and the association as a whole.”

AMC is a voluntary statewide organization that assists the state’s 87 counties in providing effective county governance to the people of Minnesota. The association works closely with the legislative and administrative branches of government in seeing that legislation and policies favorable to counties are enacted. In addition, the association provides educational programs, training, research and communications for county officials. Visit us online at

Load comments