Conversation on gun violence long overdue - Owatonna MN: Opinion

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Conversation on gun violence long overdue

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, December 14, 2012 2:55 pm | Updated: 7:21 pm, Fri Dec 14, 2012.

There are some things in life that when they or something similar to them happen we are left scratching our heads in disbelief, wondering what would have prompted such an action. Such is the case with the morning shooting at a Connecticut elementary school — a shooting that left 26 people dead, 20 of them children.

And we may never know what would have caused the gunman to open fire in a building full of innocent children who had done nothing to deserve such violence. We may never know because the accused gunman, a 24-year-old man, is among the dead. And even if he had survived and were able to discuss what he did and why he did it, it still might not fully explain in any coherent way his motivations.

Subscription Required

An online service is needed to view this article in its entirety. You need an online service to view this article in its entirety.

Have an online subscription?

Login Now

Need an online subscription?

Subscribe

Login

You must login to view the full content on this page.

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Thank you for reading 15 free articles on our site. You can come back at the end of your 30-day period for another 15 free articles, or you can purchase a subscription and continue to enjoy valuable local news and information. If you need help, please contact our office at 507-333-3111. You need an online service to view this article in its entirety.

Have an online subscription?

Login Now

Need an online subscription?

Subscribe

Login

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

7 comments:

  • ksanh68 posted at 10:54 am on Tue, Dec 18, 2012.

    ksanh68 Posts: 172

    The conversation is about sensible gun control not banning guns, attempting to frame the discussion as a ban is a false equivocation. In the wake of the Newtown, Conn. shootings we have to ask ourselves: what do we as a society benefit from the sale of assault weapons and high capasity magazines to the general public?

    What is the purpose of these weapons other to kill at a rapid rate. Do hunters need a 9mm Glock? Wouldn’t a good old-fashioned rifle do the trick?

    The laxness of current controls and the danger it presents is highlighted in a video by Adam Gadahn, an American born member of al Qaeda, the first U.S. citizen charged with treason since 1952, who urges terrorists to carry out attacks on the United States. Jihad Joe: Adam Gadahn encourages American jihadists to buy guns http://youtu.be/EpRQzTP8H1o.

    “They say that 'Guns don't kill people, people kill people.' Well I think the gun helps. If you just stood there and yelled BANG, I don't think you'd kill too many people.” ― Eddie Izzard

     
  • Sucker Punch posted at 12:25 am on Tue, Dec 18, 2012.

    Sucker Punch Posts: 67

    Your second post clinched it. Just another liberal religion hating radical. Have a Merry Christmas.

     
  • sportsman posted at 11:06 pm on Mon, Dec 17, 2012.

    sportsman Posts: 64

    Albin everyone has a right to their opinion you don't have to like it but atleast you should respect it. GIOG has every right to his opinion even if you don't agree with it but does that give you the right to attack him the answer is NO.I don't agree with your opinion but I respect it and won't attack you on it but I do believe that if GOD was in more peoples lives it may be better. The shooter I won't use his name because he does not need to be glorified was a troubled kid whos mother knew of his problems but it seems she did not do what was needed so let's ban the guns that's the answer guns don't kill people people do. I have never had any of my guns walk out the door by themselves and kill anyone.Ban guns and only criminal's will have guns.

     
  • Albin posted at 7:55 pm on Mon, Dec 17, 2012.

    Albin Posts: 40

    GIOG: How far back in history do you wish to go to get back to that? I'd love for you to tell us all about the "good old days" when there wasn't so much violence in the world, back when your God was in full swing. Was it in the 1940s? Or maybe you'd like to return to Biblical times? Now those were some peaceful times!

     
  • Albin posted at 7:44 pm on Mon, Dec 17, 2012.

    Albin Posts: 40

    GIOG - Pull your head out of your back end and quit trying to blame this on any sort of "lack of God" crap. Use the brain God gave you and wake up and realize there is mental illness out there, there are guns accessible, and maybe there are real ways of preventing some of these tragic events in the future. Reading your violent old Bible isn't going to help one bit. There's a book riddled with so much violence it shouldn't be read by small children.

    You want those good old biblical days back, huh? By golly back in those days, everyone was all peaceful and happy..

     
  • GIOG posted at 1:17 pm on Mon, Dec 17, 2012.

    GIOG Posts: 1

    I think the problem is bigger than gun control. We need to put God back in government, schools, homes, work places and most of all back in our hearts. God Bless America.

     
  • itsmeuc posted at 10:11 pm on Sun, Dec 16, 2012.

    itsmeuc Posts: 630

    Agreed...

     

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content

Owatonna Peoples Press Forms

Contact Us

PUBLISHER

Ron Ensley, Editor and Publisher, 507-444-2367, rensley@owatonna.com

ADVERTISING

Debbie Ensley, Advertising Director, 507-444-2386, densley@owatonna.com

Betty Frost, Advertising Assistant, 507-444-2389, bfrost@owatonna.com

Beth Barrett, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2383, bbarret@owatonna.com

Diane Gengler, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2385, dgengler@owatonna.com

Aaron Louks,  Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2388, rebbers@owatonna.com

David Weeks, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2384, dweeks@owatonna.com

Bonnie Nguyen, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2397, bnguyen@owatonna.com

Danielle Schmitz, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2396, dschmitz@owatonna.com

CIRCULATION

Carol Harvey, Circulation Manager, 507-444-1561, charvey@owatonna.com

Crystal Grovdahl, District Manager, 507-444-2362, cgrovdahl@owatonna.com

Melissa Johnston, District Manager, 507-444-2361, mjohnston@owatonna.com

NEWSROOM

Jeffrey Jackson, Managing Editor, 507-444-2371, jjackson@owatonna.com

Tony Borreson, Chief Copy Desk Editor, 507-444-2373, tborreson@owatonna.com

Kelli Lageson, Copy Desk/Paginator, 507-444-2377, klageson@owatonna.com

Ashley Stewart, Reporter, 507-444-2378, astewart@owatonna.com

Al Strain, Reporter, 507-444-2376, astrain@owatonna.com

Matt Hudson, Reporter, 507-44-2372, mhudson@owatonna.com

Stacie Rions, Editorial Assistant, 507-444-2379, srions@owatonna.com

Obituary Notices, 507-444-2370, news@owatonna.com or owatonnaobituaries@gmail.com

Kaleb Roedel, Sports Editor, 507-444-2374, kroedel@owatonna.com

Jon Weisbrod, Sports Reporter, 507-444-2374, jweisbrod@owatonna.com

CREATIVE SERVICES

Kelly Kubista, Creative Services Supervisor, 507-444-2391, kkubista@owatonna.com

Jenine Kubista, print/web ad design, 507-444-2390, jkubista@owatonna.com

Paul Ristau, print/web ad design, 507-444-1563, pristau@owatonna.com

Naomi Kissling, print/web ad designer, 507-837-5452, nkissling@owatonna.com

Nicole Gilmore, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1565, ngilmore@owatonna.com

Keeley Krebsbach, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1564  kkrebsbach@owatonna.com

BUSINESS OFFICE

Dianna Schmidt, Bookkepper, 507-444-2365, dschmidt@owatonna.com

Paula Engebretson, Bookkeeper, 507-444-2364, pengebretson@owatonna.com

The Owatonna People's Press is published daily Tuesday-Saturday.

Business hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Phone: (507) 451-2840

Fax: (507) 444-2382

Mail: 135 W. Pearl St.

Owatonna, MN 55060

NEWSPAPER DELIVERY

To start a subscription to the Owatonna People’s Press call 507-444-2360, 24 hours a day. Or email your name, address, and phone number to circulation@owatonna.com.

Ask for EZ Pay-a time saving way to pay for your subscription. Through monthly automatic withdrawals from your checking or savings account or have your monthly charge applied to your credit card you will save time and ensure no interruption of your newspaper delivery.

Current rates are 12 weeks $42.60; 24 weeks $85.20; 52 weeks $184.60. EZ Pay $15.38 per month.

If you do not receive your paper by 6:30 a.m. Tuesday through Friday and 7 a.m. on Saturday, call our Customer service department at 507-444-2361 between 7 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. on Saturday.

NEWS

If you have a news tip, call the Editorial department at 444-2370. Call 24 hours a

day. Our fax number for press releases is 451-6020.

Sports-available 4 p.m. to 9 p.m. at 444-2374.

You may also email photos and story ideas to news@owatonna.com.

ADVERTISING

AT YOUR SERVICE

Classified..............................444-2399

Call 24 hours a day

E-mail - classified@owatonna.com

Retail...... 444-2389 Fax....... 444-2382

Email - bfrost@owatonna.com

CUSTOMER SERVICE

The Customer Service Center is located inside the main entrance at 135 W. Pearl

Street. We are open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

INTERNET ADDRESS

http://www.owatonna.com

- USPS ISSN 416-200 -

Periodicals postage paid at Owatonna, Minnesota 55060.

Postmaster: Send address changes to Owatonna People's Press, 135 W.

Pearl St., Owatonna, MN 55060

©2013 Owatonna People's Press:

The Owatonna People's Press retains the publication rights to all content

produced or supplied by the Owatonna People's Press.

Use of said materials without the written consent of the Owatonna

People's Press is prohibited. Contents copyrighted: all rights reserved.

The Owatonna People's Press is a division of Huckle Media, LLC.

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks

Follow us on Facebook