As Monday’s MNsure enrollment deadline draws near, many have questions concerning potential penalties, who qualifies for an extension and what to do if problems arise. More than 152,000 Minnesotans have secured health coverage through MNsure as of Friday, which Gov. Mark Dayton declared MNsure Enrollment Day. Following are the answers to some common questions regarding MNsure and the impending deadline.
What happens if I don’t enroll by March 31?
Those who don’t at least try to enroll before Monday, may be required to pay a penalty of $95 or up to 1 percent of their total household income (whichever is greater). (The open enrollment deadline does not apply to those seeking Medical Assistance or MinnesotaCare, small business owners or members of Indian tribes). A consumer with an annual income of $50,000 would be subject to a $400-$500 penalty.
After Monday, the open enrollment period will be closed until Nov. 15, when the 2015 open enrollment period begins.
What if I tried to enroll by March 31, but was unsuccessful?
MNsure will offer extensions to anyone who was unable to complete enrollment but made an attempt to do so. Minnesotans have until 11:59 p.m. on Monday to enroll or get “in line” for coverage. Being “in line” can include, but is not limited to:
Completion of the MNsure Enrollment Attempt Form
MNsure’s ability to see a consumer’s state of activity in the MNsure IT system
Submission of a paper application to the Department of Human Services or county agency
Navigator or broker records of working with consumer
Records from the MNsure Contact Center or consumer phone records that show attempted contact
Emails sent to MNsure
Documents/statements made during an appeals process
You have to let MNsure know that you tried to enroll to be eligible for an extension. Do this by filling out the MNsure enrollment attempt form on the MNsure homepage, www.mnsure.org or call the MNsure contact center at 855-366-7873. Be sure to ask the call center operator to log the transaction.
If you tried to enroll before March 15, you may be eligible for retroactive coverage. Those who tried to enroll for the first time after March 15, but before the March 31 deadline will have an effective coverage date of May 1.
Does this deadline apply to everyone? What about Medical Assistance, MinnesotaCare and small businesses? Special circumstances?
This deadline does not apply to Medical Assistance or MinnesotaCare recipients or small employers purchasing coverage through MNsure. The deadline also does not apply to people who have a life event, such as marriage, the birth of a child or loss of other qualifying health insurance coverage.
What are MNsure call center hours?
Normal MNsure call center hours are 8 a.m.-8 p.m. Monday-Friday, 9 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Saturday and Sunday. On Monday, the MNsure call center will be open 8 a.m.-midnight.
How do I enroll? What if my question is not addressed here?
Visit www.mnsure.org or call 855-366-7873.