District 26 state Sen. Mike Parry discusses election loss, his future - Owatonna MN: Local

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

District 26 state Sen. Mike Parry discusses election loss, his future

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Saturday, September 8, 2012 5:46 pm | Updated: 9:02 am, Wed Sep 12, 2012.

OWATONNA — Mike Parry has no plans to ride off into the political sunset.

On Aug. 14, the state senator for District 26 (Steele, Rice, Waseca counties) lost in his bid to secure the Republican nomination to take on incumbent DFL Congressman Tim Walz in the First Congressional District. Former state Rep. Allen Quist defeated him last month in the Republican primary (54 percent to 46).

Subscription Required

An online service is needed to view this article in its entirety. You need an online service to view this article in its entirety.

Have an online subscription?

Login Now

Need an online subscription?

Subscribe

Login

You must login to view the full content on this page.

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Thank you for reading 15 free articles on our site. You can come back at the end of your 30-day period for another 15 free articles, or you can purchase a subscription and continue to enjoy valuable local news and information. If you need help, please contact our office at 507-333-3111. You need an online service to view this article in its entirety.

Have an online subscription?

Login Now

Need an online subscription?

Subscribe

Login

More about

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

14 comments:

  • Bobo777 posted at 4:28 pm on Tue, Sep 11, 2012.

    Bobo777 Posts: 57

    I would assume then you are voting no on the marriage amendment?

     
  • Bobo777 posted at 4:26 pm on Tue, Sep 11, 2012.

    Bobo777 Posts: 57

    If I were Vern Swedin, Dan Kaiser,, and Allen Quist, I would tell Mike Parry to stay as far away from my campaign work as possible. Just like Terrell Owens is a cancer to any NFL team, Parry is a campaign cancer for these candidates. He would only talk about himself and find another way to zing Mark Dayton. It is really pathetic and shows just how out of touch he is with reality and common sense.

     
  • DFairbanks posted at 7:17 am on Tue, Sep 11, 2012.

    DFairbanks Posts: 147

    Not reelected to the city council. No Republican party backing for this primary. Mr. Parry, seems like you are pretty much on your own with a few marginalized conservatives who don't understand that government is about working together for the betterment of all, not just a select few pizza parlors that are exempted from the rules. You are so hell bent on reducing your business property taxes, yet you showed no concern about raising my taxes 9% when you changed the rules. May your political career rest in piece.

     
  • Legion posted at 9:30 pm on Sun, Sep 9, 2012.

    Legion Posts: 16

    Yo Mike, you must be doing something right. All the Bush bashers are now bashing you.

     
  • DaveyC posted at 8:16 pm on Sun, Sep 9, 2012.

    DaveyC Posts: 9

    People like Mike Parry are a real reminder why it is important to understand what is going on politically in your area... so you can make sure he never gets elected to anything above dog catcher again..... My apologies to the dogs.

     
  • 2young2die posted at 5:20 pm on Sun, Sep 9, 2012.

    2young2die Posts: 398

    This gentleman (I use this term loosely) is full of himself and delusional. Mr. Parry, living in his own little world. Denial for survival.

    How noble:
    “I feared that Congressman Walz wouldn’t have a viable candidate to run against him,” Parry said Thursday. “Not that I necessarily wanted to go to Washington, but I believed we didn’t have good representation in Washington.

    Darned liberals:
    “I never did think I would do well (in Waseca County). You never win your hometown, knowing the people of Waseca, and the people that vote in Waseca,” Parry said. “You have some strong liberals.

    Parry also believes there were a lot of Democrats who voted in the Minnesota primary for Quist in the hopes of putting up a weaker candidate against Walz.

    Just tell people what you think they want to hear.
    “Your message has to be the message that people want,”

    ......and we get more - I can't wait.


     
  • Captain Jack posted at 12:45 pm on Sun, Sep 9, 2012.

    Captain Jack Posts: 38

    “We will see what November brings. I don’t think Minnesota has seen that last of me politically.”

    One can only hope.

     
  • whitecollar posted at 9:55 am on Sun, Sep 9, 2012.

    whitecollar Posts: 625

    "“Now, I’m in this window of unbelievable opportunity,” he said. “I’m not where I’m going to go. I have had people come to me and ask me to run for some very interesting positions."
    Sorry Mike but that job offer from the Lion's Den doesn't count.
    Not every candidate loses their home district. A candidate is best known in their home district and not being chosen by your own is a pretty clear statement of their opinion of you... and mine. Go back to making pizzas and leave the economy and governance to those far more qualified.

     
  • Thundar posted at 8:45 am on Sun, Sep 9, 2012.

    Thundar Posts: 727

    Parry, you are delusional. The abrasive, in your face mode of operation he employs overshadows anything he might say that is relevant.

    Goes back to the old saying that the art of tact is making a point without making an enemy.

     
  • mrmr posted at 8:44 am on Sun, Sep 9, 2012.

    mrmr Posts: 160

    Stiff full of it and of himself!!!

     
  • MNFan posted at 12:06 am on Sun, Sep 9, 2012.

    MNFan Posts: 12

    Bye, Bye!!

     
  • Legion posted at 10:43 pm on Sat, Sep 8, 2012.

    Legion Posts: 16

    Legislators in St. Paul do not produce jobs. A healthy economy, without government intervention ,does.

     
  • Bucksnort posted at 8:20 pm on Sat, Sep 8, 2012.

    Bucksnort Posts: 47

    The GOP message might still be about jobs, but the Minnesota legislature, currently with a GOP majority in both the House and Senate....have not only produced NO new jobs, but they never even INTRODUCED a single jobs bill. [sad]

     
  • alleycat posted at 7:47 pm on Sat, Sep 8, 2012.

    alleycat Posts: 204

    The deck chairs have been arranged ,the band is playing,the end is near.

     

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content

Owatonna Peoples Press Forms

Contact Us

PUBLISHER

Ron Ensley, Editor and Publisher, 507-444-2367, rensley@owatonna.com

ADVERTISING

Debbie Ensley, Advertising Director, 507-444-2386, densley@owatonna.com

Betty Frost, Advertising Assistant, 507-444-2389, bfrost@owatonna.com

Beth Barrett, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2383, bbarret@owatonna.com

Diane Gengler, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2385, dgengler@owatonna.com

Aaron Louks,  Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2388, rebbers@owatonna.com

David Weeks, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2384, dweeks@owatonna.com

Bonnie Nguyen, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2397, bnguyen@owatonna.com

Danielle Schmitz, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2396, dschmitz@owatonna.com

CIRCULATION

Carol Harvey, Circulation Manager, 507-444-1561, charvey@owatonna.com

Crystal Grovdahl, District Manager, 507-444-2362, cgrovdahl@owatonna.com

Melissa Johnston, District Manager, 507-444-2361, mjohnston@owatonna.com

NEWSROOM

Jeffrey Jackson, Managing Editor, 507-444-2371, jjackson@owatonna.com

Tony Borreson, Chief Copy Desk Editor, 507-444-2373, tborreson@owatonna.com

Kelli Lageson, Copy Desk/Paginator, 507-444-2377, klageson@owatonna.com

Ashley Stewart, Reporter, 507-444-2378, astewart@owatonna.com

Al Strain, Reporter, 507-444-2376, astrain@owatonna.com

Matt Hudson, Reporter, 507-44-2372, mhudson@owatonna.com

Stacie Rions, Editorial Assistant, 507-444-2379, srions@owatonna.com

Obituary Notices, 507-444-2370, news@owatonna.com or owatonnaobituaries@gmail.com

Kaleb Roedel, Sports Editor, 507-444-2374, kroedel@owatonna.com

Jon Weisbrod, Sports Reporter, 507-444-2374, jweisbrod@owatonna.com

CREATIVE SERVICES

Kelly Kubista, Creative Services Supervisor, 507-444-2391, kkubista@owatonna.com

Jenine Kubista, print/web ad design, 507-444-2390, jkubista@owatonna.com

Paul Ristau, print/web ad design, 507-444-1563, pristau@owatonna.com

Naomi Kissling, print/web ad designer, 507-837-5452, nkissling@owatonna.com

Nicole Gilmore, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1565, ngilmore@owatonna.com

Keeley Krebsbach, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1564  kkrebsbach@owatonna.com

BUSINESS OFFICE

Dianna Schmidt, Bookkepper, 507-444-2365, dschmidt@owatonna.com

Paula Engebretson, Bookkeeper, 507-444-2364, pengebretson@owatonna.com

The Owatonna People's Press is published daily Tuesday-Saturday.

Business hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Phone: (507) 451-2840

Fax: (507) 444-2382

Mail: 135 W. Pearl St.

Owatonna, MN 55060

NEWSPAPER DELIVERY

To start a subscription to the Owatonna People’s Press call 507-444-2360, 24 hours a day. Or email your name, address, and phone number to circulation@owatonna.com.

Ask for EZ Pay-a time saving way to pay for your subscription. Through monthly automatic withdrawals from your checking or savings account or have your monthly charge applied to your credit card you will save time and ensure no interruption of your newspaper delivery.

Current rates are 12 weeks $42.60; 24 weeks $85.20; 52 weeks $184.60. EZ Pay $15.38 per month.

If you do not receive your paper by 6:30 a.m. Tuesday through Friday and 7 a.m. on Saturday, call our Customer service department at 507-444-2361 between 7 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. on Saturday.

NEWS

If you have a news tip, call the Editorial department at 444-2370. Call 24 hours a

day. Our fax number for press releases is 451-6020.

Sports-available 4 p.m. to 9 p.m. at 444-2374.

You may also email photos and story ideas to news@owatonna.com.

ADVERTISING

AT YOUR SERVICE

Classified..............................444-2399

Call 24 hours a day

E-mail - classified@owatonna.com

Retail...... 444-2389 Fax....... 444-2382

Email - bfrost@owatonna.com

CUSTOMER SERVICE

The Customer Service Center is located inside the main entrance at 135 W. Pearl

Street. We are open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

INTERNET ADDRESS

http://www.owatonna.com

- USPS ISSN 416-200 -

Periodicals postage paid at Owatonna, Minnesota 55060.

Postmaster: Send address changes to Owatonna People's Press, 135 W.

Pearl St., Owatonna, MN 55060

©2013 Owatonna People's Press:

The Owatonna People's Press retains the publication rights to all content

produced or supplied by the Owatonna People's Press.

Use of said materials without the written consent of the Owatonna

People's Press is prohibited. Contents copyrighted: all rights reserved.

The Owatonna People's Press is a division of Huckle Media, LLC.

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks

Follow us on Facebook