Ellendale man charged in stabbing incident - Owatonna MN: News

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Ellendale man charged in stabbing incident

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Kruckeberg

Posted: Tuesday, July 3, 2012 2:19 pm | Updated: 7:09 pm, Tue Jul 3, 2012.

ELLENDALE — An Ellendale man faces three counts of felonious assault after he allegedly sliced the neck of a man he had been fighting with all night.

Derek Jon Kruckeberg, 26, was charged with three counts of assault in varying degrees — first-degree assault, second-degree assault and third-degree assault — in Steele County Court on Monday. The first-degree assault charge carries the most serious penalty with the possibility of up to 20 years in prison and a $30,000 fine.

According to the criminal complaint, a deputy with the Steele County Sheriff’s Office responded to a home on 72nd Avenue in Ellendale after 2 a.m. June 30.

There, the deputy found a man with “blood running down his stomach, neck and back area.” There was also a woman keeping pressure to the left side of the man’s neck, according to the report.

The victim, a male relative of Kruckeberg, said Kruckeberg had sliced him with a knife. According to the complaint, Kruckeberg had been arguing with the alleged victim throughout the night.

According to the report, the man said that Kruckeberg said, “I’m going to cut you” when the two were near a shed at the back of the house. The wound was described to be about two inches long. The complaint also said that a deputy was not allowed to photograph the wound because, according to a doctor, the manner in which the photograph would be taken could have jeopardized the man’s life due to arterial bleeding.

The report stated there was “a large amount of dried blood all over (the man’s) body to include both of his arms, hands, chest, face and neck.” The man was initially treated at Owatonna Hospital before being airlifted to Rochester for further treatment.

The deputies went to Kruckeberg’s residence, but he was not there. He was later located in Clarks Grove by Freeborn County deputies and was transported to the Steele County Detention Center.

Kruckeberg’s outright bail was set at $50,000. His conditional bail was set at $10,000 with the understanding that he attend his scheduled court appearances, refrain from the use of alcohol or other controlled substances, stays out of bars and taverns and has no contact with the alleged victim.

Kruckeberg made bail and was released from the detention center. He is next scheduled to appear in court on Aug. 1.

Al Strain can be reached at 444-2376.

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

4 comments:

  • FatBroad posted at 9:29 pm on Sat, Jul 7, 2012.

    FatBroad Posts: 266

    ESL?

     
  • zjax posted at 5:02 pm on Sat, Jul 7, 2012.

    zjax Posts: 1

    Hey lumpstra maybe u should get your facts strait. U startin to sound like Owatonnas pp al strain. Makin stuff up as u go, first off no one was stabbed. fabrication of the media... second the man accusing has a record a mile long: the man accused is his nephew and never even had a parking ticket. This is just the start. I can go all day on this one. So for the peoples sake, for Al strains Sake, for "the People Press" sake, get your facts strait and quit tryin to make something out of nothing.... Hey Al.. u be lucky If Mr. Krukeberg dont read this article and sue ya. C mon man get it together. How do you even sleep at night. Honesty is the best policy. Thats false journalism. U need a new job u tool.

     
  • FatBroad posted at 8:18 am on Wed, Jul 4, 2012.

    FatBroad Posts: 266

    Don't worry lumpsta, come November we will all get a chance to cut our own throats in the presidential election.

     
  • lumpsta posted at 7:55 am on Wed, Jul 4, 2012.

    lumpsta Posts: 17

    It just seems strange to me that you can cut someones throat and just get let out of jail pretty much the next day. Hopefully it's an isolated incident.

     

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content

Owatonna Peoples Press Forms

Contact Us

PUBLISHER

Ron Ensley, Editor and Publisher, 507-444-2367, rensley@owatonna.com

ADVERTISING

Debbie Ensley, Advertising Director, 507-444-2386, densley@owatonna.com

Betty Frost, Advertising Assistant, 507-444-2389, bfrost@owatonna.com

Beth Barrett, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2383, bbarret@owatonna.com

Diane Gengler, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2385, dgengler@owatonna.com

Aaron Louks,  Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2388, rebbers@owatonna.com

David Weeks, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2384, dweeks@owatonna.com

Bonnie Nguyen, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2397, bnguyen@owatonna.com

Danielle Schmitz, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2396, dschmitz@owatonna.com

CIRCULATION

Carol Harvey, Circulation Manager, 507-444-1561, charvey@owatonna.com

Crystal Grovdahl, District Manager, 507-444-2362, cgrovdahl@owatonna.com

Melissa Johnston, District Manager, 507-444-2361, mjohnston@owatonna.com

NEWSROOM

Jeffrey Jackson, Managing Editor, 507-444-2371, jjackson@owatonna.com

Tony Borreson, Chief Copy Desk Editor, 507-444-2373, tborreson@owatonna.com

Kelli Lageson, Copy Desk/Paginator, 507-444-2377, klageson@owatonna.com

Ashley Stewart, Reporter, 507-444-2378, astewart@owatonna.com

Al Strain, Reporter, 507-444-2376, astrain@owatonna.com

Matt Hudson, Reporter, 507-44-2372, mhudson@owatonna.com

Stacie Rions, Editorial Assistant, 507-444-2379, srions@owatonna.com

Obituary Notices, 507-444-2370, news@owatonna.com or owatonnaobituaries@gmail.com

Kaleb Roedel, Sports Editor, 507-444-2374, kroedel@owatonna.com

Jon Weisbrod, Sports Reporter, 507-444-2374, jweisbrod@owatonna.com

CREATIVE SERVICES

Kelly Kubista, Creative Services Supervisor, 507-444-2391, kkubista@owatonna.com

Jenine Kubista, print/web ad design, 507-444-2390, jkubista@owatonna.com

Paul Ristau, print/web ad design, 507-444-1563, pristau@owatonna.com

Naomi Kissling, print/web ad designer, 507-837-5452, nkissling@owatonna.com

Nicole Gilmore, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1565, ngilmore@owatonna.com

Keeley Krebsbach, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1564  kkrebsbach@owatonna.com

BUSINESS OFFICE

Dianna Schmidt, Bookkepper, 507-444-2365, dschmidt@owatonna.com

Paula Engebretson, Bookkeeper, 507-444-2364, pengebretson@owatonna.com

The Owatonna People's Press is published daily Tuesday-Saturday.

Business hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Phone: (507) 451-2840

Fax: (507) 444-2382

Mail: 135 W. Pearl St.

Owatonna, MN 55060

NEWSPAPER DELIVERY

To start a subscription to the Owatonna People’s Press call 507-444-2360, 24 hours a day. Or email your name, address, and phone number to circulation@owatonna.com.

Ask for EZ Pay-a time saving way to pay for your subscription. Through monthly automatic withdrawals from your checking or savings account or have your monthly charge applied to your credit card you will save time and ensure no interruption of your newspaper delivery.

Current rates are 12 weeks $42.60; 24 weeks $85.20; 52 weeks $184.60. EZ Pay $15.38 per month.

If you do not receive your paper by 6:30 a.m. Tuesday through Friday and 7 a.m. on Saturday, call our Customer service department at 507-444-2361 between 7 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. on Saturday.

NEWS

If you have a news tip, call the Editorial department at 444-2370. Call 24 hours a

day. Our fax number for press releases is 451-6020.

Sports-available 4 p.m. to 9 p.m. at 444-2374.

You may also email photos and story ideas to news@owatonna.com.

ADVERTISING

AT YOUR SERVICE

Classified..............................444-2399

Call 24 hours a day

E-mail - classified@owatonna.com

Retail...... 444-2389 Fax....... 444-2382

Email - bfrost@owatonna.com

CUSTOMER SERVICE

The Customer Service Center is located inside the main entrance at 135 W. Pearl

Street. We are open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

INTERNET ADDRESS

http://www.owatonna.com

- USPS ISSN 416-200 -

Periodicals postage paid at Owatonna, Minnesota 55060.

Postmaster: Send address changes to Owatonna People's Press, 135 W.

Pearl St., Owatonna, MN 55060

©2013 Owatonna People's Press:

The Owatonna People's Press retains the publication rights to all content

produced or supplied by the Owatonna People's Press.

Use of said materials without the written consent of the Owatonna

People's Press is prohibited. Contents copyrighted: all rights reserved.

The Owatonna People's Press is a division of Huckle Media, LLC.

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks

Follow us on Facebook