Car enthusiasts fill downtown for Elks annual car show - Owatonna MN: News

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Car enthusiasts fill downtown for Elks annual car show

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Saturday, August 3, 2013 5:00 pm | Updated: 6:18 pm, Mon Aug 5, 2013.

OWATONNA — Terry Hansen has made a living working on automobiles.

Hansen, who owned Terry’s Repair in Owatonna for 37 years before handing it down to his son, is the owner of a restored and customized orange and taupe 1956 Chevrolet, a restored 1970 Chevrolet Chevelle and a 1990 Chevrolet pickup.

And he enjoys displaying his work at car shows across the state.

“I like getting together with other guys and looking at cars,” Hansen said.

Hansen has been going to car shows for 15 years — with 10 scheduled this summer — and he makes sure to bring his 1956 Chevrolet to the Owatonna Elks Lodge annual Show and Shine car show each year.

And this year was no different.

“Being it’s a local show, it brings out so many people,” he said.

Hansen’s Chevrolet was one of more than 80 cars, motorcycles and trucks that lined up along Vine Street as well as in the off-street parking lots Saturday morning during the Elks 12th annual Show and Shine Car show.

And for car enthusiasts, it was a good day to be outside.

Event co-organizer Cathy Kniefel said on average the Elks sees about 75-plus cars, depending on the weather.

“This is a perfect day. No wind and lots of sunshine means lots of cars,” Kniefel said. “Participation is really high this year.”

The annual event is a fundraiser for Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS), a disease of the nerve cells in the brain and spinal cord that control voluntary muscle movement. ALS is also known as Lou Gehrig’s disease.

Going into Saturday’s show, the Elks Lodge had already raised almost $30,000 for ALS research from the past 11 years’ events.

And Roger Soukup of Owatonna has been at most of the fundraisers, showing his 1940 Plymouth pickup.

“I restored it and painted it myself,” he said.

Soukup said he has owned his pickup for 40 years.

“Forty years ago, a friend had the truck but didn’t want it, so I decided I’d restore it,” he said. “Seven years ago, I replaced the flat bed it had with a box I found, so it would look more like a pickup.”

Soukup also had his 1966 Dodge Coronet 440 on display.

“Cars were always a hobby for me as a kid,” he said.

The event also included awards to the top 30 cars and top three motorcycles, games, food vendors, door prizes and a silent auction with more than 40 items.

Soukup received the Mayor’s Choice award for his pickup. Joe Rosales of Owatonna received People’s Choice for his 1969 Ford Mustang. Denny Hild of Mankato received Best of Show for his 1932 Ford three-window coupe and Larry Larson of Claremont received the ALS Award for his 1969 Dodge Charger.

The top three motorcycles were awarded to Humberto Perez of Medford, Josh Karaus of Owatonna and Ben Grebe of Owatonna.

Reach reporter Ashley Stewart at 444-2378 or follow her on Twitter.com @OPPashley

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content

Owatonna Peoples Press Forms

Contact Us

PUBLISHER

Ron Ensley, Editor and Publisher, 507-444-2367, rensley@owatonna.com

ADVERTISING

Debbie Ensley, Advertising Director, 507-444-2386, densley@owatonna.com

Betty Frost, Advertising Assistant, 507-444-2389, bfrost@owatonna.com

Beth Barrett, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2383, bbarret@owatonna.com

Diane Gengler, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2385, dgengler@owatonna.com

Aaron Louks,  Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2388, rebbers@owatonna.com

David Weeks, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2384, dweeks@owatonna.com

Bonnie Nguyen, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2397, bnguyen@owatonna.com

Danielle Schmitz, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2396, dschmitz@owatonna.com

CIRCULATION

Carol Harvey, Circulation Manager, 507-444-1561, charvey@owatonna.com

Crystal Grovdahl, District Manager, 507-444-2362, cgrovdahl@owatonna.com

Melissa Johnston, District Manager, 507-444-2361, mjohnston@owatonna.com

NEWSROOM

Jeffrey Jackson, Managing Editor, 507-444-2371, jjackson@owatonna.com

Tony Borreson, Chief Copy Desk Editor, 507-444-2373, tborreson@owatonna.com

Kelli Lageson, Copy Desk/Paginator, 507-444-2377, klageson@owatonna.com

Ashley Stewart, Reporter, 507-444-2378, astewart@owatonna.com

Al Strain, Reporter, 507-444-2376, astrain@owatonna.com

Matt Hudson, Reporter, 507-44-2372, mhudson@owatonna.com

Stacie Rions, Editorial Assistant, 507-444-2379, srions@owatonna.com

Obituary Notices, 507-444-2370, news@owatonna.com or owatonnaobituaries@gmail.com

Kaleb Roedel, Sports Editor, 507-444-2374, kroedel@owatonna.com

Jon Weisbrod, Sports Reporter, 507-444-2374, jweisbrod@owatonna.com

CREATIVE SERVICES

Kelly Kubista, Creative Services Supervisor, 507-444-2391, kkubista@owatonna.com

Jenine Kubista, print/web ad design, 507-444-2390, jkubista@owatonna.com

Paul Ristau, print/web ad design, 507-444-1563, pristau@owatonna.com

Naomi Kissling, print/web ad designer, 507-837-5452, nkissling@owatonna.com

Nicole Gilmore, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1565, ngilmore@owatonna.com

Keeley Krebsbach, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1564  kkrebsbach@owatonna.com

BUSINESS OFFICE

Dianna Schmidt, Bookkepper, 507-444-2365, dschmidt@owatonna.com

Paula Engebretson, Bookkeeper, 507-444-2364, pengebretson@owatonna.com

The Owatonna People's Press is published daily Tuesday-Saturday.

Business hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Phone: (507) 451-2840

Fax: (507) 444-2382

Mail: 135 W. Pearl St.

Owatonna, MN 55060

NEWSPAPER DELIVERY

To start a subscription to the Owatonna People’s Press call 507-444-2360, 24 hours a day. Or email your name, address, and phone number to circulation@owatonna.com.

Ask for EZ Pay-a time saving way to pay for your subscription. Through monthly automatic withdrawals from your checking or savings account or have your monthly charge applied to your credit card you will save time and ensure no interruption of your newspaper delivery.

Current rates are 12 weeks $42.60; 24 weeks $85.20; 52 weeks $184.60. EZ Pay $15.38 per month.

If you do not receive your paper by 6:30 a.m. Tuesday through Friday and 7 a.m. on Saturday, call our Customer service department at 507-444-2361 between 7 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. on Saturday.

NEWS

If you have a news tip, call the Editorial department at 444-2370. Call 24 hours a

day. Our fax number for press releases is 451-6020.

Sports-available 4 p.m. to 9 p.m. at 444-2374.

You may also email photos and story ideas to news@owatonna.com.

ADVERTISING

AT YOUR SERVICE

Classified..............................444-2399

Call 24 hours a day

E-mail - classified@owatonna.com

Retail...... 444-2389 Fax....... 444-2382

Email - bfrost@owatonna.com

CUSTOMER SERVICE

The Customer Service Center is located inside the main entrance at 135 W. Pearl

Street. We are open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

INTERNET ADDRESS

http://www.owatonna.com

- USPS ISSN 416-200 -

Periodicals postage paid at Owatonna, Minnesota 55060.

Postmaster: Send address changes to Owatonna People's Press, 135 W.

Pearl St., Owatonna, MN 55060

©2013 Owatonna People's Press:

The Owatonna People's Press retains the publication rights to all content

produced or supplied by the Owatonna People's Press.

Use of said materials without the written consent of the Owatonna

People's Press is prohibited. Contents copyrighted: all rights reserved.

The Owatonna People's Press is a division of Huckle Media, LLC.

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks

Follow us on Facebook