Waseca artist brings work to Owatonna Arts Center - Owatonna MN: News

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Waseca artist brings work to Owatonna Arts Center

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, October 3, 2012 1:58 pm | Updated: 8:30 am, Thu Oct 25, 2012.

OWATONNA — Deanna Bendix packed up 32 newly-created paintings and headed east on Highway 14.

Bendix will be showing a series of acrylic art work titled “River Reverie” from Oct. 7 to 28. There will be an opening reception from 1 to 4 p.m. on Sunday.

The exhibition contains dozens of paintings of Minnesota rivers and waterfalls. Bendix said she loves photography and always carries a camera with her. When she and her husband traveled across Minnesota she took hundreds of nature photos, which were a guide for her exhibit.

“Taking pictures of waterfalls got me to think about the more than 700 rivers in Minnesota,” Bendix said. “I picked the river because of what that can signify for life, the ongoing quality of life, the ever-changing quality of life.”

Along with being a painter and photographer, Bendix is also a former reporter at the Waseca County News, a museum lover and a student of art history.

“The paintings have a hard-age painting style popularized in the 1960s,” said Owatonna Arts Center director Silvan Durben.

Bendix also exhibited paintings at the arts center in the 1970s. Some of the artwork displayed more than 30 years ago returns, along with a lot of new paintings.

“It’s all new stuff,” she said. “I think there is an expectation that artists can just whip these things off, and sometimes you do. In reality, it takes a lot of creative energy.”

Bendix has a bachelor of arts degree from Hamline University and a master’s of studio arts, painting and drawing from Minnesota State University, Mankato. She has given lectures at The University of Minnesota, the Minneapolis College of Art and Design, and the Minnesota Museum of Art. Exhibitions include the Women’s Art Registry of Minnesota, the Minnesota State Fair, Hamline University and MSU-Mankato.

Before “Dixie Swim Club,” get together

The Little Theatre of Owatonna and the Owatonna Arts Center have teamed up to offer Owatonna residents, “An Evening Out.” The arts center will offer an European treat before the Oct. 11 showing of “The Dixie Swim Club,” which starts that Thursday at 7:30 p.m. During the arts center get together, hors d’oeuvres, and wine will be served.

Tickets for the arts center event and “The Dixie Swim Club” play is $32 and can be purchased by phoning the arts center at 451-0533. To attend just the before play party, a ticket is $20. Tickets need to be purchased by Oct. 9.

Reach reporter Derek Sullivan at 444-2372, or follow him on Twitter @OPPSullivan

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content

Owatonna Peoples Press Forms

Contact Us

PUBLISHER

Ron Ensley, Editor and Publisher, 507-444-2367, rensley@owatonna.com

ADVERTISING

Debbie Ensley, Advertising Director, 507-444-2386, densley@owatonna.com

Betty Frost, Advertising Assistant, 507-444-2389, bfrost@owatonna.com

Beth Barrett, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2383, bbarret@owatonna.com

Diane Gengler, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2385, dgengler@owatonna.com

Aaron Louks,  Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2388, rebbers@owatonna.com

David Weeks, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2384, dweeks@owatonna.com

Bonnie Nguyen, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2397, bnguyen@owatonna.com

Danielle Schmitz, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2396, dschmitz@owatonna.com

CIRCULATION

Carol Harvey, Circulation Manager, 507-444-1561, charvey@owatonna.com

Crystal Grovdahl, District Manager, 507-444-2362, cgrovdahl@owatonna.com

Melissa Johnston, District Manager, 507-444-2361, mjohnston@owatonna.com

NEWSROOM

Jeffrey Jackson, Managing Editor, 507-444-2371, jjackson@owatonna.com

Tony Borreson, Chief Copy Desk Editor, 507-444-2373, tborreson@owatonna.com

Kelli Lageson, Copy Desk/Paginator, 507-444-2377, klageson@owatonna.com

Ashley Stewart, Reporter, 507-444-2378, astewart@owatonna.com

Al Strain, Reporter, 507-444-2376, astrain@owatonna.com

Matt Hudson, Reporter, 507-44-2372, mhudson@owatonna.com

Stacie Rions, Editorial Assistant, 507-444-2379, srions@owatonna.com

Obituary Notices, 507-444-2370, news@owatonna.com or owatonnaobituaries@gmail.com

Kaleb Roedel, Sports Editor, 507-444-2374, kroedel@owatonna.com

Jon Weisbrod, Sports Reporter, 507-444-2374, jweisbrod@owatonna.com

CREATIVE SERVICES

Kelly Kubista, Creative Services Supervisor, 507-444-2391, kkubista@owatonna.com

Jenine Kubista, print/web ad design, 507-444-2390, jkubista@owatonna.com

Paul Ristau, print/web ad design, 507-444-1563, pristau@owatonna.com

Naomi Kissling, print/web ad designer, 507-837-5452, nkissling@owatonna.com

Nicole Gilmore, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1565, ngilmore@owatonna.com

Keeley Krebsbach, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1564  kkrebsbach@owatonna.com

BUSINESS OFFICE

Dianna Schmidt, Bookkepper, 507-444-2365, dschmidt@owatonna.com

Paula Engebretson, Bookkeeper, 507-444-2364, pengebretson@owatonna.com

The Owatonna People's Press is published daily Tuesday-Saturday.

Business hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Phone: (507) 451-2840

Fax: (507) 444-2382

Mail: 135 W. Pearl St.

Owatonna, MN 55060

NEWSPAPER DELIVERY

To start a subscription to the Owatonna People’s Press call 507-444-2360, 24 hours a day. Or email your name, address, and phone number to circulation@owatonna.com.

Ask for EZ Pay-a time saving way to pay for your subscription. Through monthly automatic withdrawals from your checking or savings account or have your monthly charge applied to your credit card you will save time and ensure no interruption of your newspaper delivery.

Current rates are 12 weeks $42.60; 24 weeks $85.20; 52 weeks $184.60. EZ Pay $15.38 per month.

If you do not receive your paper by 6:30 a.m. Tuesday through Friday and 7 a.m. on Saturday, call our Customer service department at 507-444-2361 between 7 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. on Saturday.

NEWS

If you have a news tip, call the Editorial department at 444-2370. Call 24 hours a

day. Our fax number for press releases is 451-6020.

Sports-available 4 p.m. to 9 p.m. at 444-2374.

You may also email photos and story ideas to news@owatonna.com.

ADVERTISING

AT YOUR SERVICE

Classified..............................444-2399

Call 24 hours a day

E-mail - classified@owatonna.com

Retail...... 444-2389 Fax....... 444-2382

Email - bfrost@owatonna.com

CUSTOMER SERVICE

The Customer Service Center is located inside the main entrance at 135 W. Pearl

Street. We are open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

INTERNET ADDRESS

http://www.owatonna.com

- USPS ISSN 416-200 -

Periodicals postage paid at Owatonna, Minnesota 55060.

Postmaster: Send address changes to Owatonna People's Press, 135 W.

Pearl St., Owatonna, MN 55060

©2013 Owatonna People's Press:

The Owatonna People's Press retains the publication rights to all content

produced or supplied by the Owatonna People's Press.

Use of said materials without the written consent of the Owatonna

People's Press is prohibited. Contents copyrighted: all rights reserved.

The Owatonna People's Press is a division of Huckle Media, LLC.

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks

Follow us on Facebook