Owatonna's Roosevelt Community Education getting ready for GED testing changes - Owatonna MN: News

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Owatonna's Roosevelt Community Education getting ready for GED testing changes

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, November 15, 2013 5:00 pm | Updated: 5:47 pm, Fri Nov 29, 2013.

OWATONNA — Owatonnans hoping to finish their General Educational Development tests will have to hurry to sign up for the final testing date at the Roosevelt Community Education building before the slate is wiped clean in January of 2014.

Starting on Jan. 1, the test — commonly known as the GED — will be changing in order to align closer to the federal high school graduation standards, known as the Common Core.

The local GED testing site at Roosevelt Community Education is a satellite office of the Faribault testing center. The site currently offers classes, practice testing, and GED testing at its adult education center. But things will be shifting soon with the changes coming to the GED.

“Currently, we offer three afternoons of preparation classes for the GED,” said Cathy Quam, an adult basic education teacher at Roosevelt. “But because the GED is being changed to online only, we may have to take one of those afternoons for digital literacy.”

As of now, GED testing at Roosevelt is done on pencil and paper, with calculators and scratch paper allowed for certain tests. But after the first of the year all of those things will have to go online. This brings up problems for older students who are not as familiar with computers and typing.

“We have a wide variety of students who come here to get their GED,” said Deb McDermott-Johnson, director of community education. “We’ve had seniors in their 80s come in to test as well as teenagers who just didn’t work well in the public-school culture and needed another option.”

Teenagers wishing to take the GED must be more than 16 years of age and not currently enrolled in school to be eligible for the GED services.

“We always encourage students stay in school,” said McDermott-Johnson. “But it just isn’t an option for some of them. Here we’re used to the challenges that come with students who are dealing with life — family, jobs or personal issues.”

The changes coming in January will affect any of the students currently preparing for or taking the five tests that make up the GED. The scores and progress are wiped clear at the beginning of the 2014 in order to transition to the new system.

Some of the changes to the test itself include a shift from a multiple choice-heavy test to one more focused on short essay answers and critical thinking.

“It will require a bigger commitment from the students,” said Quam. “We always aim at helping the students going for a degree become ready for college. We want them to go straight into credit-earning classes in college.”

Another way the overall GED system is changing is a higher price in the smaller towns like Owatonna. Currently, the test is $60, but as of Jan. 1 it will cost students $120 to take the test — money they won’t see if they miss the test.

“Right now if students miss the testing date they signed up for, the money is kept for them in case they come to sign up for a new day,” said Kim Reyant, adult learning center supervisor. “After the new system starts the money will be gone once they miss their testing date.”

A similar financial change is the practice test system. Currently, the tests are paid for by the adult education center and are free for the students. But once the new system is in place, each practice test will cost $5 to $15.

All of these changes have made for a busy few months at Roosevelt. Instead of having one testing day per month, as is usual, the site has had two testing days each month of fall in order to accommodate the students trying to finish their GED before the changes take place.

“We’re been really working on reaching out,” said McDermott-Johnson. “Our last testing date is Dec. 18, but it has limited space and needs to be signed up for ahead of time.”

For Minnesota, these changes mean a re-evaluation of the GED system. On Dec. 6 there is an adult secondary credential statewide meeting that will look at not only the GED, but at similar tests such as the Test Assessing Secondary Completion and the High School Equivalency Test.

The state may choose to stick with the GED or move on to another program, but either way Roosevelt is ready to accommodate anyone in Owatonna looking to further his or her education.

“We’re hoping to register as an independent testing site if the state stays with the GED,” said McDermott-Johnson. “But we have to wait until after the meeting in December to see what’s going to happen.”

Reach reporter Peter Byrne at 444-2372 or follow him on Twitter.com @OPPpbyrne

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content

Owatonna Peoples Press Forms

Contact Us

PUBLISHER

Ron Ensley, Editor and Publisher, 507-444-2367, rensley@owatonna.com

ADVERTISING

Debbie Ensley, Advertising Director, 507-444-2386, densley@owatonna.com

Betty Frost, Advertising Assistant, 507-444-2389, bfrost@owatonna.com

Beth Barrett, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2383, bbarret@owatonna.com

Diane Gengler, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2385, dgengler@owatonna.com

Aaron Louks,  Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2388, rebbers@owatonna.com

David Weeks, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2384, dweeks@owatonna.com

Bonnie Nguyen, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2397, bnguyen@owatonna.com

Danielle Schmitz, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2396, dschmitz@owatonna.com

CIRCULATION

Carol Harvey, Circulation Manager, 507-444-1561, charvey@owatonna.com

Crystal Grovdahl, District Manager, 507-444-2362, cgrovdahl@owatonna.com

Melissa Johnston, District Manager, 507-444-2361, mjohnston@owatonna.com

NEWSROOM

Jeffrey Jackson, Managing Editor, 507-444-2371, jjackson@owatonna.com

Tony Borreson, Chief Copy Desk Editor, 507-444-2373, tborreson@owatonna.com

Kelli Lageson, Copy Desk/Paginator, 507-444-2377, klageson@owatonna.com

Ashley Stewart, Reporter, 507-444-2378, astewart@owatonna.com

Al Strain, Reporter, 507-444-2376, astrain@owatonna.com

Matt Hudson, Reporter, 507-44-2372, mhudson@owatonna.com

Stacie Rions, Editorial Assistant, 507-444-2379, srions@owatonna.com

Obituary Notices, 507-444-2370, news@owatonna.com or owatonnaobituaries@gmail.com

Kaleb Roedel, Sports Editor, 507-444-2374, kroedel@owatonna.com

Jon Weisbrod, Sports Reporter, 507-444-2374, jweisbrod@owatonna.com

CREATIVE SERVICES

Kelly Kubista, Creative Services Supervisor, 507-444-2391, kkubista@owatonna.com

Jenine Kubista, print/web ad design, 507-444-2390, jkubista@owatonna.com

Paul Ristau, print/web ad design, 507-444-1563, pristau@owatonna.com

Naomi Kissling, print/web ad designer, 507-837-5452, nkissling@owatonna.com

Nicole Gilmore, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1565, ngilmore@owatonna.com

Keeley Krebsbach, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1564  kkrebsbach@owatonna.com

BUSINESS OFFICE

Dianna Schmidt, Bookkepper, 507-444-2365, dschmidt@owatonna.com

Paula Engebretson, Bookkeeper, 507-444-2364, pengebretson@owatonna.com

The Owatonna People's Press is published daily Tuesday-Saturday.

Business hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Phone: (507) 451-2840

Fax: (507) 444-2382

Mail: 135 W. Pearl St.

Owatonna, MN 55060

NEWSPAPER DELIVERY

To start a subscription to the Owatonna People’s Press call 507-444-2360, 24 hours a day. Or email your name, address, and phone number to circulation@owatonna.com.

Ask for EZ Pay-a time saving way to pay for your subscription. Through monthly automatic withdrawals from your checking or savings account or have your monthly charge applied to your credit card you will save time and ensure no interruption of your newspaper delivery.

Current rates are 12 weeks $42.60; 24 weeks $85.20; 52 weeks $184.60. EZ Pay $15.38 per month.

If you do not receive your paper by 6:30 a.m. Tuesday through Friday and 7 a.m. on Saturday, call our Customer service department at 507-444-2361 between 7 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. on Saturday.

NEWS

If you have a news tip, call the Editorial department at 444-2370. Call 24 hours a

day. Our fax number for press releases is 451-6020.

Sports-available 4 p.m. to 9 p.m. at 444-2374.

You may also email photos and story ideas to news@owatonna.com.

ADVERTISING

AT YOUR SERVICE

Classified..............................444-2399

Call 24 hours a day

E-mail - classified@owatonna.com

Retail...... 444-2389 Fax....... 444-2382

Email - bfrost@owatonna.com

CUSTOMER SERVICE

The Customer Service Center is located inside the main entrance at 135 W. Pearl

Street. We are open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

INTERNET ADDRESS

http://www.owatonna.com

- USPS ISSN 416-200 -

Periodicals postage paid at Owatonna, Minnesota 55060.

Postmaster: Send address changes to Owatonna People's Press, 135 W.

Pearl St., Owatonna, MN 55060

©2013 Owatonna People's Press:

The Owatonna People's Press retains the publication rights to all content

produced or supplied by the Owatonna People's Press.

Use of said materials without the written consent of the Owatonna

People's Press is prohibited. Contents copyrighted: all rights reserved.

The Owatonna People's Press is a division of Huckle Media, LLC.

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks

Follow us on Facebook