New restaurants set to open in Owatonna - Owatonna MN: News

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

New restaurants set to open in Owatonna

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, August 23, 2013 3:00 pm | Updated: 7:33 pm, Fri Aug 23, 2013.

Food lovers in Owatonna will have a pair of new eating establishments to try soon as two new restaurants are set to open, one of which is bringing a new type of cuisine to the city.

Andiamo Italian Ristorante is moving into the space formerly occupied by the Big 10 Restaurant, which closed its doors permanently last October.

Additionally, the south side of town will see another Mexican restaurant come into the space which used to house Plaza Morena’s south location. The name of the new restaurant is Agave Azul and it will be located on 18th Street Southeast. Plaza Morena moved all its operations to its location on 26th Street Northeast earlier this year. Attempts to contact officials with Agave Azul were not successful.

Enrique Ruiz, general manager for Andiamo, said a hiring drive was held in Owatonna earlier this week. He said Andiamo, which also has a location in Eagan, will employ about 30 people, mostly part-time.

“Over the next couple weeks, we’re looking to hire all of our positions pretty much,” Ruiz said. “We have our managers and a little bit of kitchen staff that we are bringing with us from our Eagan location, but we need a lot of people. We’re kind of doing cattle calls this week and we’re hoping to bring in as many people as we can and then we’ll narrow down our applicants from there.”

Ruiz said the restaurant does a lot of scratch cooking focusing on pasta dishes. He also said that pizza is part of the menu. Ruiz described the restaurant as a casual atmosphere.

“We want it to feel upscale without it being as stuffy as an upscale place,” Ruiz said. “We try to cultivate kind of a laid-back family atmosphere. Our restaurant in Eagan is very family-oriented, and that’s kind of the idea that we’re going for in Owatonna.”

Ownership for Andiamo have been looking to expand its brand for a while, including in places like Woodbury, which is closer to their operation in Eagan. In the end, Ruiz said, the property owner for the space in Owatonna was eager to work with Andiamo management to bring the restaurant to Owatonna.

Because Andiamo is moving into an already built-out space, Ruiz said it wasn’t as large of an investment as it usually is to bring a new restaurant to the area. Ruiz said starting the restaurant in Owatonna took an investment between $35,000 and $50,000. He said because Owatonna doesn’t really have an Italian restaurant, it was a good opportunity to come into the city.

“We felt like we could make a name for ourselves down there,” Ruiz said, adding that Andiamo is a family-owned business. “We’re really confident in the location and we’re obviously excited to expand our brand. We don’t want to have 1,000 restaurants, but any time we expand the business a little bit, it is exciting.”

Currently, the plan is for Andiamo to open on Sept. 23, Ruiz said. He said there are plans to have a couple of events, such as a VIP dinner and an open house, before the official opening. The only thing that would delay the opening, Ruiz said, is if the restaurant is unable to find enough staff.

Big 10 closed its doors last October and has sat vacant ever since.

In addition to Andiamo, another new restaurant is coming to the northwest side of the city. Klecker said that the building permits are ready for a Panda Express to go in next to McDonald’s on West Frontage Road. Klecker said construction on the Panda Express could begin in the next few weeks.

Community Development Director Troy Klecker said the city wasn’t involved in the Agave Azul deal.

“This was more privately done. It came down to working out a deal with the property owner,” Klecker said. “A high priority for us is to fill vacant buildings. Whenever we can fill it with a need in the community, that’s just a big plus for the entire community.”

Reach reporter Al Strain at 444-2376 or follow him on Twitter.com@OPPalstrain

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content

Owatonna Peoples Press Forms

Contact Us

PUBLISHER

Ron Ensley, Editor and Publisher, 507-444-2367, rensley@owatonna.com

ADVERTISING

Debbie Ensley, Advertising Director, 507-444-2386, densley@owatonna.com

Betty Frost, Advertising Assistant, 507-444-2389, bfrost@owatonna.com

Beth Barrett, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2383, bbarret@owatonna.com

Diane Gengler, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2385, dgengler@owatonna.com

Aaron Louks,  Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2388, rebbers@owatonna.com

David Weeks, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2384, dweeks@owatonna.com

Bonnie Nguyen, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2397, bnguyen@owatonna.com

Danielle Schmitz, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2396, dschmitz@owatonna.com

CIRCULATION

Carol Harvey, Circulation Manager, 507-444-1561, charvey@owatonna.com

Crystal Grovdahl, District Manager, 507-444-2362, cgrovdahl@owatonna.com

Melissa Johnston, District Manager, 507-444-2361, mjohnston@owatonna.com

NEWSROOM

Jeffrey Jackson, Managing Editor, 507-444-2371, jjackson@owatonna.com

Tony Borreson, Chief Copy Desk Editor, 507-444-2373, tborreson@owatonna.com

Kelli Lageson, Copy Desk/Paginator, 507-444-2377, klageson@owatonna.com

Ashley Stewart, Reporter, 507-444-2378, astewart@owatonna.com

Al Strain, Reporter, 507-444-2376, astrain@owatonna.com

Matt Hudson, Reporter, 507-44-2372, mhudson@owatonna.com

Stacie Rions, Editorial Assistant, 507-444-2379, srions@owatonna.com

Obituary Notices, 507-444-2370, news@owatonna.com or owatonnaobituaries@gmail.com

Kaleb Roedel, Sports Editor, 507-444-2374, kroedel@owatonna.com

Jon Weisbrod, Sports Reporter, 507-444-2374, jweisbrod@owatonna.com

CREATIVE SERVICES

Kelly Kubista, Creative Services Supervisor, 507-444-2391, kkubista@owatonna.com

Jenine Kubista, print/web ad design, 507-444-2390, jkubista@owatonna.com

Paul Ristau, print/web ad design, 507-444-1563, pristau@owatonna.com

Naomi Kissling, print/web ad designer, 507-837-5452, nkissling@owatonna.com

Nicole Gilmore, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1565, ngilmore@owatonna.com

Keeley Krebsbach, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1564  kkrebsbach@owatonna.com

BUSINESS OFFICE

Dianna Schmidt, Bookkepper, 507-444-2365, dschmidt@owatonna.com

Paula Engebretson, Bookkeeper, 507-444-2364, pengebretson@owatonna.com

The Owatonna People's Press is published daily Tuesday-Saturday.

Business hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Phone: (507) 451-2840

Fax: (507) 444-2382

Mail: 135 W. Pearl St.

Owatonna, MN 55060

NEWSPAPER DELIVERY

To start a subscription to the Owatonna People’s Press call 507-444-2360, 24 hours a day. Or email your name, address, and phone number to circulation@owatonna.com.

Ask for EZ Pay-a time saving way to pay for your subscription. Through monthly automatic withdrawals from your checking or savings account or have your monthly charge applied to your credit card you will save time and ensure no interruption of your newspaper delivery.

Current rates are 12 weeks $42.60; 24 weeks $85.20; 52 weeks $184.60. EZ Pay $15.38 per month.

If you do not receive your paper by 6:30 a.m. Tuesday through Friday and 7 a.m. on Saturday, call our Customer service department at 507-444-2361 between 7 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. on Saturday.

NEWS

If you have a news tip, call the Editorial department at 444-2370. Call 24 hours a

day. Our fax number for press releases is 451-6020.

Sports-available 4 p.m. to 9 p.m. at 444-2374.

You may also email photos and story ideas to news@owatonna.com.

ADVERTISING

AT YOUR SERVICE

Classified..............................444-2399

Call 24 hours a day

E-mail - classified@owatonna.com

Retail...... 444-2389 Fax....... 444-2382

Email - bfrost@owatonna.com

CUSTOMER SERVICE

The Customer Service Center is located inside the main entrance at 135 W. Pearl

Street. We are open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

INTERNET ADDRESS

http://www.owatonna.com

- USPS ISSN 416-200 -

Periodicals postage paid at Owatonna, Minnesota 55060.

Postmaster: Send address changes to Owatonna People's Press, 135 W.

Pearl St., Owatonna, MN 55060

©2013 Owatonna People's Press:

The Owatonna People's Press retains the publication rights to all content

produced or supplied by the Owatonna People's Press.

Use of said materials without the written consent of the Owatonna

People's Press is prohibited. Contents copyrighted: all rights reserved.

The Owatonna People's Press is a division of Huckle Media, LLC.

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks

Follow us on Facebook