Owatonna man charged with domestic assault - Owatonna MN: News

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Owatonna man charged with domestic assault

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Owen

Posted: Wednesday, August 1, 2012 3:00 am | Updated: 8:09 pm, Wed Aug 1, 2012.

OWATONNA — An Owatonna man was arrested and charged with three counts of domestic assault after he allegedly spanked and choked a woman on Tuesday evening.

Todd Caryl Owen, 40, is charged with one count of felony domestic assault by strangulation and two misdemeanors of domestic assault to cause harm to another person.

If convicted on the felony charge, Owen faces up to three years in prison and a $5,000 fine. Each of the misdemeanors is punishable by up to a year in jail with the possibility of a $1,000 fine.

The Owatonna Police Department responded to a home on Mineral Springs Road  just after 5 p.m. Tuesday after they received a call about a domestic assault in progress.

When police arrived at the residence, Owen was sitting in a parked truck in the driveway. Owen stated that he had gotten into a fight with a woman inside and had spanked her, according to the criminal complaint.

Police went inside the home, where they found a woman with a red neck, swollen arms and red slap marks on her buttocks. The woman was complaining of neck pain, according to the complaint.

In the police report, the woman said Owen became upset about a blender that hadn’t been cleaned and the argument began to escalate. The victim stated that she asked Owen to leave the house.

The complaint went on to say that Owen placed his hand over the victim’s mouth to stop her from talking and he pushed her so hard that her feet came off the ground.

The victim stated her breathing was affected and that she bit Owen on the hand to get him off of her. The criminal complaint said Owen then ordered the victim into the bedroom, where he began to spank her. The report stated that children were present in the home while the alleged assault took place.

Owen then grabbed the victim and pushed her onto the bed where he continued to spank her, according to the police report. The victim also said she heard a pop in her neck as Owen pushed her head into the bed.

The officer on scene also interviewed a child in the home who witnessed the alleged offenses. The child said in the criminal complaint that she yelled for Owen to stop what he was doing and saw him push the victim onto the bed.

Police interviewed Owen as well. He said he grabbed the victim around the midsection, threw her into the bedroom and spanked her. The police report said Owen estimated he spanked her with a force of seven on a scale of one to 10.

Owen appeared in Steele County District Court on Wednesday for his initial hearing. He was released on his own recognizance under the conditions that he cooperate with his attorney, not use drugs or alcohol and refrain from contact with the alleged victim. He is scheduled to appear in court again on Aug. 27.

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

11 comments:

  • Kfshelly posted at 5:12 pm on Fri, Aug 3, 2012.

    Kfshelly Posts: 4

    I did notice you didn't necessarily mean me, and thank you for your thoughts and prayers.

     
  • Thundar posted at 3:40 pm on Fri, Aug 3, 2012.

    Thundar Posts: 727

    Note Kfshelly, my comment didn't mention you specifically. If you look at this website, every time something like this happens and a story is written about something smiilar, new bloggers come on and it's almost always "He's such a good boy", "You don't know him, he's not like that"....etc...

    So, overall, I do find it funny, or perhaps a better word is sad, that people tend to comment on behalf of the accused, not the victim.

    I'm sure it's a sad situation. These are never good, and I'm sure are painful for those involved on an emotional as well as physical level (and I refer to extended family also).

    Given he admitted he did these things according to the polic report..., hopefully he gets whatever helps he needs.

     
  • Kfshelly posted at 3:16 pm on Fri, Aug 3, 2012.

    Kfshelly Posts: 4

    I did read the article, and I know the whole story. I just believe that this is a family matter and should have been left at that. Let's say for instance this was not a one time incident but an on going abusive situation...is putting a photo and police report in the paper going to make the abuser more or less angry? In this situation, its neither but i think you can see my point. I just don't see how that is helping anyone.

     
  • Kfshelly posted at 3:12 pm on Fri, Aug 3, 2012.

    Kfshelly Posts: 4

    Funny, you don't know me at all...I spent 4 hours at the hospital with the victim.

     
  • Thundar posted at 2:25 pm on Fri, Aug 3, 2012.

    Thundar Posts: 727

    I find it funny people tend to rush to the defense of the charged, and not the victim.

     
  • Thundar posted at 2:23 pm on Fri, Aug 3, 2012.

    Thundar Posts: 727

    It's fascinating how people love when they get in the paper for something good, but for an alleged heinous act, it's "WHOA, the family should be able to decide when to let the information out."

    Sorry, news doesn't work that way.

    Let me guess, with your logic, the Aurora shooter we wouldn't know about right now, probably not Amy Sensor, certainly not Mitch Bongers, etc....point being no one likes their dirty laundry aired. But that doesn't negate it being newsworthy. You see these stories on television and in newspapers all over the world. Got another newsflash for folks, the world doesn't change because your loved one is charged with a crime.

    If you put yourself in a position to be charged with a crime be it selling drugs, murder, embezzlement, domestic abuse, be ready to deal with it.

    Easy answer, don't put yourself in the position to be charged.

    You are correct in one aspect, being charged doesn't mean one is guilty, and sometimes (see OJ) you can be guilty and not have enough proof. Yet, there was evidently enough information for him to be charged and frankly the information that is typically culled from a police report is detailed, and detailed in areas where he ADMITTED he did things like strike a women. So, maybe he's not guilty, looks like he shouldn't admit stuff he didn't do, don't you think?

    Sorry, no tolerance in my eyes for domestic abuse of women.

     
  • 7outof10 posted at 2:17 pm on Fri, Aug 3, 2012.

    7outof10 Posts: 275

    Kfshelly- did you read the article???? He admitted to it, they are just reporting the facts from a police report. A police report is public record so the family has no input on who reads it. So what is the "whole story"?? Wouldn't the whole story come from the police report that interviewed all involved which is located in the above article?

     
  • Kfshelly posted at 1:31 pm on Fri, Aug 3, 2012.

    Kfshelly Posts: 4

    It's not about "doing time" Thunder, it's about the fact that the family should have been able to choose when and how to share this information...it's no one else's business and certainly not for the public to become judge and jury, especially without knowing the whole story. I think it is unacceptable to put a picture and a name alongside an overly detailed article because then we get people saying things like "do the time" before he's even convicted.

     
  • cajm_mom posted at 1:27 pm on Fri, Aug 3, 2012.

    cajm_mom Posts: 11

    Funny that no one complained about the picture a month ago when it was a Mexican man accused of beating his pregnant girlfriend.

     
  • Thundar posted at 11:01 am on Fri, Aug 3, 2012.

    Thundar Posts: 727

    "Don't do the crime if you can't do the time" --- Baretta

     
  • Owatonna Web posted at 10:22 am on Fri, Aug 3, 2012.

    Owatonna Web Posts: 3

    I have to be honest. It is a little unnerving that you would post a picture and article about domestic assault in the paper. Isn't this a family matter not a public matter and I feel you just marked this guy and no one knows the entire story.

    Don't get me wrong, I am completely against domestic violence and find it unacceptable. But I do not think is merits having your picture splashed in the newspaper and online.

    Just a thought.

     

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content

Owatonna Peoples Press Forms

Contact Us

PUBLISHER

Ron Ensley, Editor and Publisher, 507-444-2367, rensley@owatonna.com

ADVERTISING

Debbie Ensley, Advertising Director, 507-444-2386, densley@owatonna.com

Betty Frost, Advertising Assistant, 507-444-2389, bfrost@owatonna.com

Beth Barrett, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2383, bbarret@owatonna.com

Diane Gengler, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2385, dgengler@owatonna.com

Aaron Louks,  Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2388, rebbers@owatonna.com

David Weeks, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2384, dweeks@owatonna.com

Bonnie Nguyen, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2397, bnguyen@owatonna.com

Danielle Schmitz, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2396, dschmitz@owatonna.com

CIRCULATION

Carol Harvey, Circulation Manager, 507-444-1561, charvey@owatonna.com

Crystal Grovdahl, District Manager, 507-444-2362, cgrovdahl@owatonna.com

Melissa Johnston, District Manager, 507-444-2361, mjohnston@owatonna.com

NEWSROOM

Jeffrey Jackson, Managing Editor, 507-444-2371, jjackson@owatonna.com

Tony Borreson, Chief Copy Desk Editor, 507-444-2373, tborreson@owatonna.com

Kelli Lageson, Copy Desk/Paginator, 507-444-2377, klageson@owatonna.com

Ashley Stewart, Reporter, 507-444-2378, astewart@owatonna.com

Al Strain, Reporter, 507-444-2376, astrain@owatonna.com

Matt Hudson, Reporter, 507-44-2372, mhudson@owatonna.com

Stacie Rions, Editorial Assistant, 507-444-2379, srions@owatonna.com

Obituary Notices, 507-444-2370, news@owatonna.com or owatonnaobituaries@gmail.com

Kaleb Roedel, Sports Editor, 507-444-2374, kroedel@owatonna.com

Jon Weisbrod, Sports Reporter, 507-444-2374, jweisbrod@owatonna.com

CREATIVE SERVICES

Kelly Kubista, Creative Services Supervisor, 507-444-2391, kkubista@owatonna.com

Jenine Kubista, print/web ad design, 507-444-2390, jkubista@owatonna.com

Paul Ristau, print/web ad design, 507-444-1563, pristau@owatonna.com

Naomi Kissling, print/web ad designer, 507-837-5452, nkissling@owatonna.com

Nicole Gilmore, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1565, ngilmore@owatonna.com

Keeley Krebsbach, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1564  kkrebsbach@owatonna.com

BUSINESS OFFICE

Dianna Schmidt, Bookkepper, 507-444-2365, dschmidt@owatonna.com

Paula Engebretson, Bookkeeper, 507-444-2364, pengebretson@owatonna.com

The Owatonna People's Press is published daily Tuesday-Saturday.

Business hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Phone: (507) 451-2840

Fax: (507) 444-2382

Mail: 135 W. Pearl St.

Owatonna, MN 55060

NEWSPAPER DELIVERY

To start a subscription to the Owatonna People’s Press call 507-444-2360, 24 hours a day. Or email your name, address, and phone number to circulation@owatonna.com.

Ask for EZ Pay-a time saving way to pay for your subscription. Through monthly automatic withdrawals from your checking or savings account or have your monthly charge applied to your credit card you will save time and ensure no interruption of your newspaper delivery.

Current rates are 12 weeks $42.60; 24 weeks $85.20; 52 weeks $184.60. EZ Pay $15.38 per month.

If you do not receive your paper by 6:30 a.m. Tuesday through Friday and 7 a.m. on Saturday, call our Customer service department at 507-444-2361 between 7 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. on Saturday.

NEWS

If you have a news tip, call the Editorial department at 444-2370. Call 24 hours a

day. Our fax number for press releases is 451-6020.

Sports-available 4 p.m. to 9 p.m. at 444-2374.

You may also email photos and story ideas to news@owatonna.com.

ADVERTISING

AT YOUR SERVICE

Classified..............................444-2399

Call 24 hours a day

E-mail - classified@owatonna.com

Retail...... 444-2389 Fax....... 444-2382

Email - bfrost@owatonna.com

CUSTOMER SERVICE

The Customer Service Center is located inside the main entrance at 135 W. Pearl

Street. We are open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

INTERNET ADDRESS

http://www.owatonna.com

- USPS ISSN 416-200 -

Periodicals postage paid at Owatonna, Minnesota 55060.

Postmaster: Send address changes to Owatonna People's Press, 135 W.

Pearl St., Owatonna, MN 55060

©2013 Owatonna People's Press:

The Owatonna People's Press retains the publication rights to all content

produced or supplied by the Owatonna People's Press.

Use of said materials without the written consent of the Owatonna

People's Press is prohibited. Contents copyrighted: all rights reserved.

The Owatonna People's Press is a division of Huckle Media, LLC.

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks

Follow us on Facebook