Steele County, Minnesota farmers making progress in the fields - Owatonna MN: News

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Steele County, Minnesota farmers making progress in the fields

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Saturday, May 18, 2013 12:00 pm | Updated: 5:56 pm, Sat May 18, 2013.

OWATONNA — A couple of weeks can make all the difference.

A couple of weeks with some sunshine, that is.

Steele County farmers were finally able to get into the fields and start planting this week after having to endure extended winter weather that caused a much later start to the season than they wanted.

Mike Donnelly, educator at the University of Minnesota’s Steele and Rice Counties extension office, said the dry weather has been important in allowing farmers to get out into the fields.

“This week especially, there have been several good days that have been great for getting out into the field,” Donnelly said on Friday. “With that said, there are still some fields that, after that huge snow fall we had and the wet spring we’ve had, are still a little too wet. I think farmers made due with what they had with the land that was workable, went out there and made significant progress this week.”

On Friday, Steele County was hit with more rain. Donnelly said the moisture was welcome, but would likely cause “a little bit” of a delay in planting.

Friday’s rain furthered an advantage that southeast Minnesota farmers have over the rest of the state.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor weekly report released on Thursday, southeast Minnesota — including Steele, Waseca, Rice, Dodge and Mower counties — is the only region of the state that isn’t experiencing any type of drought conditions.

“Bringing us out of that drought category is definitely a plus,” Donnelly said. “We were waiting for all this time for the drought to be lifted. I think it’s advantageous for farmers at this point. They’re starting at a good point and hopefully the moisture continues.”

More rain is expected this weekend. According to forecasts from the National Weather Service in Chanhassen, showers and thunderstorms are likely on Saturday night and Sunday. There is at least a 20 percent chance of rain every day until Thursday next week, the furthest out the forecasts extends.

For the seed that did get planted this week, the moisture is certainly an advantage.

“For the crop that did make it in the ground this week and the rain that we got (Friday), I think they will hopefully partner well together and get things going on a nice track here,” Donnelly said.

According to the U.S. Department of Agriculture, only 18 percent of the corn in Minnesota had been planted through the week ending May 12, which falls before the warm, dry weather that the state saw this week. Last year, 86 percent of the corn had been planted and the five-year average for this time of year is 68 percent. The USDA reports only 2 percent of soybeans has been planted, well below the five-year average of 26 percent.

Donnelly said on Friday that good yields are expected for corn that is planted before Memorial Day weekend.

“We’re at a point where we need to get the crop in the ground. With that said, we’ve seen great yields come from late planting and we’ve seen great yields come from early planting,” Donnelly said. “It really depends upon the year, and it’s really going to depend on what the summer brings. It is a time that we should be working to get the crop in the ground, but there is still no reason to panic and I don’t think that the yields will be detrimental.”

Reach reporter Al Strain at 444-2376 or follow him on Twitter.com@OPPalstrain

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content

Owatonna Peoples Press Forms

Contact Us

PUBLISHER

Ron Ensley, Editor and Publisher, 507-444-2367, rensley@owatonna.com

ADVERTISING

Debbie Ensley, Advertising Director, 507-444-2386, densley@owatonna.com

Betty Frost, Advertising Assistant, 507-444-2389, bfrost@owatonna.com

Beth Barrett, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2383, bbarret@owatonna.com

Diane Gengler, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2385, dgengler@owatonna.com

Aaron Louks,  Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2388, rebbers@owatonna.com

David Weeks, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2384, dweeks@owatonna.com

Bonnie Nguyen, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2397, bnguyen@owatonna.com

Danielle Schmitz, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2396, dschmitz@owatonna.com

CIRCULATION

Carol Harvey, Circulation Manager, 507-444-1561, charvey@owatonna.com

Crystal Grovdahl, District Manager, 507-444-2362, cgrovdahl@owatonna.com

Melissa Johnston, District Manager, 507-444-2361, mjohnston@owatonna.com

NEWSROOM

Jeffrey Jackson, Managing Editor, 507-444-2371, jjackson@owatonna.com

Tony Borreson, Chief Copy Desk Editor, 507-444-2373, tborreson@owatonna.com

Kelli Lageson, Copy Desk/Paginator, 507-444-2377, klageson@owatonna.com

Ashley Stewart, Reporter, 507-444-2378, astewart@owatonna.com

Al Strain, Reporter, 507-444-2376, astrain@owatonna.com

Matt Hudson, Reporter, 507-44-2372, mhudson@owatonna.com

Stacie Rions, Editorial Assistant, 507-444-2379, srions@owatonna.com

Obituary Notices, 507-444-2370, news@owatonna.com or owatonnaobituaries@gmail.com

Kaleb Roedel, Sports Editor, 507-444-2374, kroedel@owatonna.com

Jon Weisbrod, Sports Reporter, 507-444-2374, jweisbrod@owatonna.com

CREATIVE SERVICES

Kelly Kubista, Creative Services Supervisor, 507-444-2391, kkubista@owatonna.com

Jenine Kubista, print/web ad design, 507-444-2390, jkubista@owatonna.com

Paul Ristau, print/web ad design, 507-444-1563, pristau@owatonna.com

Naomi Kissling, print/web ad designer, 507-837-5452, nkissling@owatonna.com

Nicole Gilmore, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1565, ngilmore@owatonna.com

Keeley Krebsbach, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1564  kkrebsbach@owatonna.com

BUSINESS OFFICE

Dianna Schmidt, Bookkepper, 507-444-2365, dschmidt@owatonna.com

Paula Engebretson, Bookkeeper, 507-444-2364, pengebretson@owatonna.com

The Owatonna People's Press is published daily Tuesday-Saturday.

Business hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Phone: (507) 451-2840

Fax: (507) 444-2382

Mail: 135 W. Pearl St.

Owatonna, MN 55060

NEWSPAPER DELIVERY

To start a subscription to the Owatonna People’s Press call 507-444-2360, 24 hours a day. Or email your name, address, and phone number to circulation@owatonna.com.

Ask for EZ Pay-a time saving way to pay for your subscription. Through monthly automatic withdrawals from your checking or savings account or have your monthly charge applied to your credit card you will save time and ensure no interruption of your newspaper delivery.

Current rates are 12 weeks $42.60; 24 weeks $85.20; 52 weeks $184.60. EZ Pay $15.38 per month.

If you do not receive your paper by 6:30 a.m. Tuesday through Friday and 7 a.m. on Saturday, call our Customer service department at 507-444-2361 between 7 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. on Saturday.

NEWS

If you have a news tip, call the Editorial department at 444-2370. Call 24 hours a

day. Our fax number for press releases is 451-6020.

Sports-available 4 p.m. to 9 p.m. at 444-2374.

You may also email photos and story ideas to news@owatonna.com.

ADVERTISING

AT YOUR SERVICE

Classified..............................444-2399

Call 24 hours a day

E-mail - classified@owatonna.com

Retail...... 444-2389 Fax....... 444-2382

Email - bfrost@owatonna.com

CUSTOMER SERVICE

The Customer Service Center is located inside the main entrance at 135 W. Pearl

Street. We are open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

INTERNET ADDRESS

http://www.owatonna.com

- USPS ISSN 416-200 -

Periodicals postage paid at Owatonna, Minnesota 55060.

Postmaster: Send address changes to Owatonna People's Press, 135 W.

Pearl St., Owatonna, MN 55060

©2013 Owatonna People's Press:

The Owatonna People's Press retains the publication rights to all content

produced or supplied by the Owatonna People's Press.

Use of said materials without the written consent of the Owatonna

People's Press is prohibited. Contents copyrighted: all rights reserved.

The Owatonna People's Press is a division of Huckle Media, LLC.

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks

Follow us on Facebook