Steele County sees increase in STD rate in 2013, local health officials encourage testing - Owatonna MN: News

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Steele County sees increase in STD rate in 2013, local health officials encourage testing

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, April 25, 2014 6:00 pm | Updated: 9:18 pm, Fri Apr 25, 2014.

OWATONNA — Steele County is following a statewide trend of increased rates of sexually transmitted diseases, according to a recent report from the Minnesota Department of health.

In fact, the percent increase in Steele County was higher than the state.

Minnesota saw the rate of STDs climb by about 10 percent from 2012 to 2013, the report said, with reportable STDs in the state including chlamydia, gonorrhea and syphilis.

But Amber Aaseth, Steele County Public Health director of nursing, said chlamydia and gonorrhea are the diseases primarily reported in the county.

In 2013, 94 chlamydia cases were reported in Steele County — about a 12 percent increase — compared to 84 in 2012.

Minnesota saw a 4 percent increase in chlamydia, which is the No. 1 reported infectious disease in the state, and the majority of the cases occurred in teens and young adults in the age group of 15 to 24.

The number of gonorrhea cases increased from 2012 to 2013 in Steele County, as well. In 2013, seven gonorrhea cases were reported, compared to three in 2012 — an increase of 133 percent.

Between those two STDs, Steele County saw about a 16 percent increase in reported cases.

And those statistics are troublesome for local health officials.

“That definitely is concerning,” said Stan Groff, interim Steele County Public Health director. “More than a 10 percent increase is undoubtedly significant and follows a trend that we’re seeing in the state. Prevention is the only way we’ll keep these diseases from spreading.”

Statewide, there were 23,133 STD cases, including chlamydia, gonorrhea and syphilis, in 2013, compared to 21,465 in 2012 and 19,547 in 2011, said the Minnesota Department of Health report. The number of gonorrhea cases increased 26 percent and syphilis cases increased 64 percent in the state in 2013.

Aaseth believes the a decrease in condom use, the increase in longer-lasting birth control and the reduced hype in the media contributed to the increase in STDs in Steele County from 2012 to 2013.

In 2011, Planned Parenthood, a sexual and reproductive health care provider, in Steele County closed, and Aaseth said that also may have impacted the STD rate in the county.

“Outside of the hospital and clinic, we don’t have anything like that right here locally,” Aaseth said. “We have to refer people out of the county.”

Steele County Public Health provides educational STD information, condoms and pregnancy tests to its clients, but refers people to the Mankato Open Door Clinic, Planned Parenthood in Rochester and Mankato, Migrant Health in Rochester and the Center Clinic in Dodge Center, for STD testing and exams, Aaseth said.

“If they have a primary doctor here, we’re going to say you need to see your primary doctor, but if they tell us they don’t and don’t have funding or they are afraid to go in to see someone here locally, then that’s when we would make these referrals outside,” she said.

Minnesota Commissioner of Health Dr. Ed Ehlinger said the increased STD rates documented in the report underscore the importance of prevention, testing and awareness.

“Untreated STDs can have serious health consequences,” Ehlinger said. “Testing, diagnosing and treating these diseases in their early stages will prevent long-term health problems and slow their spread. Since most STDs don’t show symptoms, it’s important for sexually active people to get tested each year or when involved with a new partner.”

According to the Department of Health, chlamydia and gonorrhea can lead to infertility in women and men and can be passed from an infected woman to her newborn children, causing premature delivery, infant pneumonia and blindness. Untreated gonorrhea can spread to organs and joints leading to life-threatening conditions. Untreated syphilis can cause blindness, mental illness, dementia and death.

STDs can be prevented by abstaining from sexual contact, delaying the start of sexual activity, limiting the number of sexual partners, using latex condoms during sex, and by not sharing needles for drug use, piercing or tattooing, the Department of Health said.

“These diseases are susceptible to treatment and can be knocked out if diagnosed,” Groff said.

Groff and Aaseth ask parents to speak to their children about STDs, and they encourage residents to see their physicians annually.

“A lot of people don’t even know they have it, and that’s why it’s widely transmitted,” Aaseth said. “That’s why it’s important for everyone to get in every year. If you’re sexually active, get in and have a physical by your doctor.”

For the complete Minnesota Department of Health report, visit http://www.health.state.mn.us/std.

Action steps and resources provided by the Department of Health for STD control, monitoring, prevention, testing and treatment can be found at http://www.health.state.mn.us/std.

For confidential information about the prevention, testing locations and treatment of STDs, call the Minnesota Family Planning and STD Hotline, toll free, at 1-800-78-FACTS, Text ASKMN to 66746 or visit http://sexualhealthmn.org/.

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content

Owatonna Peoples Press Forms

Contact Us

PUBLISHER

Ron Ensley, Editor and Publisher, 507-444-2367, rensley@owatonna.com

ADVERTISING

Debbie Ensley, Advertising Director, 507-444-2386, densley@owatonna.com

Betty Frost, Advertising Assistant, 507-444-2389, bfrost@owatonna.com

Beth Barrett, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2383, bbarret@owatonna.com

Diane Gengler, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2385, dgengler@owatonna.com

Aaron Louks,  Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2388, rebbers@owatonna.com

David Weeks, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2384, dweeks@owatonna.com

Bonnie Nguyen, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2397, bnguyen@owatonna.com

Danielle Schmitz, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2396, dschmitz@owatonna.com

CIRCULATION

Carol Harvey, Circulation Manager, 507-444-1561, charvey@owatonna.com

Crystal Grovdahl, District Manager, 507-444-2362, cgrovdahl@owatonna.com

Melissa Johnston, District Manager, 507-444-2361, mjohnston@owatonna.com

NEWSROOM

Jeffrey Jackson, Managing Editor, 507-444-2371, jjackson@owatonna.com

Tony Borreson, Chief Copy Desk Editor, 507-444-2373, tborreson@owatonna.com

Kelli Lageson, Copy Desk/Paginator, 507-444-2377, klageson@owatonna.com

Ashley Stewart, Reporter, 507-444-2378, astewart@owatonna.com

Al Strain, Reporter, 507-444-2376, astrain@owatonna.com

Matt Hudson, Reporter, 507-44-2372, mhudson@owatonna.com

Stacie Rions, Editorial Assistant, 507-444-2379, srions@owatonna.com

Obituary Notices, 507-444-2370, news@owatonna.com or owatonnaobituaries@gmail.com

Kaleb Roedel, Sports Editor, 507-444-2374, kroedel@owatonna.com

Jon Weisbrod, Sports Reporter, 507-444-2374, jweisbrod@owatonna.com

CREATIVE SERVICES

Kelly Kubista, Creative Services Supervisor, 507-444-2391, kkubista@owatonna.com

Jenine Kubista, print/web ad design, 507-444-2390, jkubista@owatonna.com

Paul Ristau, print/web ad design, 507-444-1563, pristau@owatonna.com

Naomi Kissling, print/web ad designer, 507-837-5452, nkissling@owatonna.com

Nicole Gilmore, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1565, ngilmore@owatonna.com

Keeley Krebsbach, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1564  kkrebsbach@owatonna.com

BUSINESS OFFICE

Dianna Schmidt, Bookkepper, 507-444-2365, dschmidt@owatonna.com

Paula Engebretson, Bookkeeper, 507-444-2364, pengebretson@owatonna.com

The Owatonna People's Press is published daily Tuesday-Saturday.

Business hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Phone: (507) 451-2840

Fax: (507) 444-2382

Mail: 135 W. Pearl St.

Owatonna, MN 55060

NEWSPAPER DELIVERY

To start a subscription to the Owatonna People’s Press call 507-444-2360, 24 hours a day. Or email your name, address, and phone number to circulation@owatonna.com.

Ask for EZ Pay-a time saving way to pay for your subscription. Through monthly automatic withdrawals from your checking or savings account or have your monthly charge applied to your credit card you will save time and ensure no interruption of your newspaper delivery.

Current rates are 12 weeks $42.60; 24 weeks $85.20; 52 weeks $184.60. EZ Pay $15.38 per month.

If you do not receive your paper by 6:30 a.m. Tuesday through Friday and 7 a.m. on Saturday, call our Customer service department at 507-444-2361 between 7 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. on Saturday.

NEWS

If you have a news tip, call the Editorial department at 444-2370. Call 24 hours a

day. Our fax number for press releases is 451-6020.

Sports-available 4 p.m. to 9 p.m. at 444-2374.

You may also email photos and story ideas to news@owatonna.com.

ADVERTISING

AT YOUR SERVICE

Classified..............................444-2399

Call 24 hours a day

E-mail - classified@owatonna.com

Retail...... 444-2389 Fax....... 444-2382

Email - bfrost@owatonna.com

CUSTOMER SERVICE

The Customer Service Center is located inside the main entrance at 135 W. Pearl

Street. We are open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

INTERNET ADDRESS

http://www.owatonna.com

- USPS ISSN 416-200 -

Periodicals postage paid at Owatonna, Minnesota 55060.

Postmaster: Send address changes to Owatonna People's Press, 135 W.

Pearl St., Owatonna, MN 55060

©2013 Owatonna People's Press:

The Owatonna People's Press retains the publication rights to all content

produced or supplied by the Owatonna People's Press.

Use of said materials without the written consent of the Owatonna

People's Press is prohibited. Contents copyrighted: all rights reserved.

The Owatonna People's Press is a division of Huckle Media, LLC.

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks

Follow us on Facebook