Motorcycle crash occurs south of Medford - Owatonna MN: News

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Motorcycle crash occurs south of Medford

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, September 11, 2013 11:35 am | Updated: 7:19 pm, Wed Sep 11, 2013.

MEDFORD — A tire sitting in the middle of the southbound lanes of I-35 in Steele County was the cause of a multi-vehicle accident on Wednesday morning that sent an Iowa man to the hospital.

Nicholas J. Frohling, 53, of Springbrook, Iowa, was driving his 1977 Harley Davidson motorcycle southbound on Interstate 35 when he struck the tire in the roadway, according to a report from the Minnesota State Patrol.

After striking the tire, Frohling’s motorcycle slid and rear-ended a 2008 Hyundai Elantra, which was parked on the shoulder of the road. There were multiple vehicles parked on the shoulder with people inspecting their vehicles for damage after hitting the same tire that Frohling struck.

Frohling was taken to St. Marys Hospital in Rochester with non-life threatening injuries, according to the state patrol’s report. Susan B. Kephart, 81, of St. Paul was identified as a passenger in the Hyundai Elantra. She suffered no apparent injuries. The Hyundai received minor damage, according to the report.

Traffic was stopped in the southbound lanes of the interstate while emergency crews worked at the scene. The accident occurred at about 11 a.m. and a lane of traffic opened by 11:30 a.m. While stopped, traffic extended well past the bridge for the Medford exit and people could be seen outside of their cars and standing in the roadway.

Assisting the state patrol at the scene were units from the Owatonna Fire Department, the Medford Fire Department, Gold Cross Ambulance and the Steele County Sheriff’s Office.

Wednesday’s crash was the second injury accident to occur on the Steele Country stretch of I-35 in less than 24 hours. On Tuesday, two people from Little Falls were sent to St. Marys Hospital with serious injuries after a rollover crash occurred in northbound traffic around the intersection of I-35 and Highway 14.

Reach reporter Al Strain at 444-2376 or follow him on Twitter.com@OPPalstrain

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

3 comments:

  • Special Ed posted at 11:05 am on Sat, Sep 14, 2013.

    Special Ed Posts: 917

    Wish Nick a speedy recovery. As you said, some thing are not so easily avoidable, especially on a motorcycle. Not that it would have made any difference in this case but I always double my following distance for motorcycles so they have more room/time to react and never blow past them at high speeds when passing. Actually, I almost never pass them either. I didn't see the jabs you mentioned and guess they've been removed. Good for the OPP. I'm wondering if it was a trailer tire, passenger car tire or semi trailer tire? I've noticed a lot of semi trailer tires on the interstate lately. I don't get down that way (Medford/Owatonna) terribly often but it seems like there's more debris on the road during and after construction and, for some reason, particularly in the fall.
    Hope he's up and riding again real soon.

     
  • ShanzShack Rescue posted at 7:54 pm on Thu, Sep 12, 2013.

    ShanzShack Rescue Posts: 2

    Excuse me, "two" of you have made jabs. Please be more considerate.

     
  • ShanzShack Rescue posted at 7:47 pm on Thu, Sep 12, 2013.

    ShanzShack Rescue Posts: 2

    Nick is a dear friend of my husbands. They've been riding together for many years. When vehicles are pulling over quickly to avoid a tire on the road and the bike is behind them, it doesn't give a person much time to avoid it.

    Nick is a seasoned rider with no previous accidents. I see that a few of you have actually ridiculed him. Not cool. Keep your rude remarks to yourself please. We have a loved one who needs our support while he is in great pain and recovering. ~Brian & Shan~

     

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content

Owatonna Peoples Press Forms

Contact Us

PUBLISHER

Ron Ensley, Editor and Publisher, 507-444-2367, rensley@owatonna.com

ADVERTISING

Debbie Ensley, Advertising Director, 507-444-2386, densley@owatonna.com

Betty Frost, Advertising Assistant, 507-444-2389, bfrost@owatonna.com

Beth Barrett, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2383, bbarret@owatonna.com

Diane Gengler, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2385, dgengler@owatonna.com

Aaron Louks,  Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2388, rebbers@owatonna.com

David Weeks, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2384, dweeks@owatonna.com

Bonnie Nguyen, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2397, bnguyen@owatonna.com

Danielle Schmitz, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2396, dschmitz@owatonna.com

CIRCULATION

Carol Harvey, Circulation Manager, 507-444-1561, charvey@owatonna.com

Crystal Grovdahl, District Manager, 507-444-2362, cgrovdahl@owatonna.com

Melissa Johnston, District Manager, 507-444-2361, mjohnston@owatonna.com

NEWSROOM

Jeffrey Jackson, Managing Editor, 507-444-2371, jjackson@owatonna.com

Tony Borreson, Chief Copy Desk Editor, 507-444-2373, tborreson@owatonna.com

Kelli Lageson, Copy Desk/Paginator, 507-444-2377, klageson@owatonna.com

Ashley Stewart, Reporter, 507-444-2378, astewart@owatonna.com

Al Strain, Reporter, 507-444-2376, astrain@owatonna.com

Matt Hudson, Reporter, 507-44-2372, mhudson@owatonna.com

Stacie Rions, Editorial Assistant, 507-444-2379, srions@owatonna.com

Obituary Notices, 507-444-2370, news@owatonna.com or owatonnaobituaries@gmail.com

Kaleb Roedel, Sports Editor, 507-444-2374, kroedel@owatonna.com

Jon Weisbrod, Sports Reporter, 507-444-2374, jweisbrod@owatonna.com

CREATIVE SERVICES

Kelly Kubista, Creative Services Supervisor, 507-444-2391, kkubista@owatonna.com

Jenine Kubista, print/web ad design, 507-444-2390, jkubista@owatonna.com

Paul Ristau, print/web ad design, 507-444-1563, pristau@owatonna.com

Naomi Kissling, print/web ad designer, 507-837-5452, nkissling@owatonna.com

Nicole Gilmore, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1565, ngilmore@owatonna.com

Keeley Krebsbach, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1564  kkrebsbach@owatonna.com

BUSINESS OFFICE

Dianna Schmidt, Bookkepper, 507-444-2365, dschmidt@owatonna.com

Paula Engebretson, Bookkeeper, 507-444-2364, pengebretson@owatonna.com

The Owatonna People's Press is published daily Tuesday-Saturday.

Business hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Phone: (507) 451-2840

Fax: (507) 444-2382

Mail: 135 W. Pearl St.

Owatonna, MN 55060

NEWSPAPER DELIVERY

To start a subscription to the Owatonna People’s Press call 507-444-2360, 24 hours a day. Or email your name, address, and phone number to circulation@owatonna.com.

Ask for EZ Pay-a time saving way to pay for your subscription. Through monthly automatic withdrawals from your checking or savings account or have your monthly charge applied to your credit card you will save time and ensure no interruption of your newspaper delivery.

Current rates are 12 weeks $42.60; 24 weeks $85.20; 52 weeks $184.60. EZ Pay $15.38 per month.

If you do not receive your paper by 6:30 a.m. Tuesday through Friday and 7 a.m. on Saturday, call our Customer service department at 507-444-2361 between 7 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. on Saturday.

NEWS

If you have a news tip, call the Editorial department at 444-2370. Call 24 hours a

day. Our fax number for press releases is 451-6020.

Sports-available 4 p.m. to 9 p.m. at 444-2374.

You may also email photos and story ideas to news@owatonna.com.

ADVERTISING

AT YOUR SERVICE

Classified..............................444-2399

Call 24 hours a day

E-mail - classified@owatonna.com

Retail...... 444-2389 Fax....... 444-2382

Email - bfrost@owatonna.com

CUSTOMER SERVICE

The Customer Service Center is located inside the main entrance at 135 W. Pearl

Street. We are open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

INTERNET ADDRESS

http://www.owatonna.com

- USPS ISSN 416-200 -

Periodicals postage paid at Owatonna, Minnesota 55060.

Postmaster: Send address changes to Owatonna People's Press, 135 W.

Pearl St., Owatonna, MN 55060

©2013 Owatonna People's Press:

The Owatonna People's Press retains the publication rights to all content

produced or supplied by the Owatonna People's Press.

Use of said materials without the written consent of the Owatonna

People's Press is prohibited. Contents copyrighted: all rights reserved.

The Owatonna People's Press is a division of Huckle Media, LLC.

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks

Follow us on Facebook