Cardinal Stritch arrives in Owatonna, plans to stay - Owatonna MN: News

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Cardinal Stritch arrives in Owatonna, plans to stay

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, March 20, 2013 4:20 pm | Updated: 9:31 pm, Wed Mar 20, 2013.

OWATONNA — On Wednesday, Cardinal Stritch University officials met with community leaders to discuss a new program and to reinforce its commitment to Owatonna.

Cardinal Stritch, located in Milwaukee, Wis., recently announced plans to partner with Riverland Community College to offer a 2+2 program in Owatonna — a program that allows a student to earn a business management degree without leaving the area. Riverland students would be able to, after acquiring an associate’s degree, transfer into the Cardinal Stritch business management program and take all of their classes in Owatonna.

On Wednesday, Riverland and Cardinal Stritch officials were discussing the new Business Management program with community leaders. From 4 to 6 p.m. on April 10, there will be an information session for prospective students.

Officials from Riverland and Cardinal Stritch emphasized a long-term partnership. Cardinal Stritch signed a long-term lease and has made a commitment to the program in Owatonna. In previous years, Riverland students could take classes in Owatonna from four-year schools — Minnesota State University, Mankato, Crown College, Concordia-St. Paul — but many of those partnerships were dissolved.

“We used to have a lot of four-year colleges on our sign out there, and little by little, thanks to online and other ways, they have departed us,” said David Hietala, dean of academic affairs for Riverland.

“The partnership with Cardinal Stitch is big. It really is. We are going to see some real stability and staying power,” he continued. “From the former colleges, we weren’t seeing that kind of commitment.”

While many area universities, which previously held classes in Owatonna, decided online courses could keep their Owatonna-area students enrolled, James Chitwood, regional vice-president for Cardinal Stritch, said the university believes strongly in classroom instruction.

“Online is an option, but we are focused on face-to-face education in this (Owatonna) building for this community and Riverland students,” Chitwood said.

Hietala said Cardinal Stritch’s mission to place professors in front of students was a big selling point to the partnership.

“Online was the reason others left. It’s not to say (Cardinal Stritch) wouldn’t use online because that is the technology of our day, but I think they have that classroom emphasis, the one-on-one with the students is what they emphasize.”

The goal is to register 16 to 20 students for the business management program by June 20. Classes begin a week later. Chitwood said students who study business management learn how to “manage people.”

A main objective of the new partnership is enhance and sustain the economic development and viability of the Owatonna community and southern Minnesota region. On Wednesday, Riverland and Cardinal Stritch hope to talk to local businesses about setting up tuition reimbursement for employees.

“Riverland Community College is dedicated to serving their community and wanted to offer potential students a way to start and finish an affordable four-year business degree without needing to leave their community,” Hietala said. “This equal partnership will benefit not only the potential students, but also the community as a whole, offering companies the opportunity to advance their employees with no interruption to work flow while simultaneously building a sustainable community.”

After selling the program to Owatonna community leaders, the university next turns its eyes to prospective students. Riverland alumni get a 15 percent discount on tuition. Cardinal Stritch charges $455 a credit hour. The two-year business management program requires about 60 to 64 credits to graduate. The number fluctuates because students may get college credit for previously completed courses.

If interest is high enough in the business management program, additional instructors would be brought in from one of the other four Cardinal Stritch learning locations in Minnesota.

Peter Holbrook, dean of the College of Business and Management, said he hopes to also bring a Cardinal Stritch nursing program and master’s program in business management to Owatonna. He added the nursing program could be up and running as early as fall 2013.

Cardinal Stritch students go to class once a week for four hours and most classes last five to six weeks. Mike Peterson previously attended Riverland before transferring to Cardinal Stritch in Rochester 18 months ago. He said the once-a-week classes work well for adult students. The average age of students in the Cardinal Stritch weekly program is 28.

“You do the five-week course and when it finishes you get ready for the next one,” Peterson said. “The only real breaks you get are spring break and Christmas. Once you get in the groove of it, it’s not that bad. It’s time management. You develop it. It’s your daily routine. It’s like exercise. When you start doing it, you keep doing it.”

Riverland and Cardinal Stritch are both accredited by the Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs.

Reach reporter Derek Sullivan at 444-2372, or follow him on Twitter @OPPSullivan

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content

Owatonna Peoples Press Forms

Contact Us

PUBLISHER

Ron Ensley, Editor and Publisher, 507-444-2367, rensley@owatonna.com

ADVERTISING

Debbie Ensley, Advertising Director, 507-444-2386, densley@owatonna.com

Betty Frost, Advertising Assistant, 507-444-2389, bfrost@owatonna.com

Beth Barrett, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2383, bbarret@owatonna.com

Diane Gengler, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2385, dgengler@owatonna.com

Aaron Louks,  Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2388, rebbers@owatonna.com

David Weeks, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2384, dweeks@owatonna.com

Bonnie Nguyen, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2397, bnguyen@owatonna.com

Danielle Schmitz, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2396, dschmitz@owatonna.com

CIRCULATION

Carol Harvey, Circulation Manager, 507-444-1561, charvey@owatonna.com

Crystal Grovdahl, District Manager, 507-444-2362, cgrovdahl@owatonna.com

Melissa Johnston, District Manager, 507-444-2361, mjohnston@owatonna.com

NEWSROOM

Jeffrey Jackson, Managing Editor, 507-444-2371, jjackson@owatonna.com

Tony Borreson, Chief Copy Desk Editor, 507-444-2373, tborreson@owatonna.com

Kelli Lageson, Copy Desk/Paginator, 507-444-2377, klageson@owatonna.com

Ashley Stewart, Reporter, 507-444-2378, astewart@owatonna.com

Al Strain, Reporter, 507-444-2376, astrain@owatonna.com

Matt Hudson, Reporter, 507-44-2372, mhudson@owatonna.com

Stacie Rions, Editorial Assistant, 507-444-2379, srions@owatonna.com

Obituary Notices, 507-444-2370, news@owatonna.com or owatonnaobituaries@gmail.com

Kaleb Roedel, Sports Editor, 507-444-2374, kroedel@owatonna.com

Jon Weisbrod, Sports Reporter, 507-444-2374, jweisbrod@owatonna.com

CREATIVE SERVICES

Kelly Kubista, Creative Services Supervisor, 507-444-2391, kkubista@owatonna.com

Jenine Kubista, print/web ad design, 507-444-2390, jkubista@owatonna.com

Paul Ristau, print/web ad design, 507-444-1563, pristau@owatonna.com

Naomi Kissling, print/web ad designer, 507-837-5452, nkissling@owatonna.com

Nicole Gilmore, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1565, ngilmore@owatonna.com

Keeley Krebsbach, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1564  kkrebsbach@owatonna.com

BUSINESS OFFICE

Dianna Schmidt, Bookkepper, 507-444-2365, dschmidt@owatonna.com

Paula Engebretson, Bookkeeper, 507-444-2364, pengebretson@owatonna.com

The Owatonna People's Press is published daily Tuesday-Saturday.

Business hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Phone: (507) 451-2840

Fax: (507) 444-2382

Mail: 135 W. Pearl St.

Owatonna, MN 55060

NEWSPAPER DELIVERY

To start a subscription to the Owatonna People’s Press call 507-444-2360, 24 hours a day. Or email your name, address, and phone number to circulation@owatonna.com.

Ask for EZ Pay-a time saving way to pay for your subscription. Through monthly automatic withdrawals from your checking or savings account or have your monthly charge applied to your credit card you will save time and ensure no interruption of your newspaper delivery.

Current rates are 12 weeks $42.60; 24 weeks $85.20; 52 weeks $184.60. EZ Pay $15.38 per month.

If you do not receive your paper by 6:30 a.m. Tuesday through Friday and 7 a.m. on Saturday, call our Customer service department at 507-444-2361 between 7 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. on Saturday.

NEWS

If you have a news tip, call the Editorial department at 444-2370. Call 24 hours a

day. Our fax number for press releases is 451-6020.

Sports-available 4 p.m. to 9 p.m. at 444-2374.

You may also email photos and story ideas to news@owatonna.com.

ADVERTISING

AT YOUR SERVICE

Classified..............................444-2399

Call 24 hours a day

E-mail - classified@owatonna.com

Retail...... 444-2389 Fax....... 444-2382

Email - bfrost@owatonna.com

CUSTOMER SERVICE

The Customer Service Center is located inside the main entrance at 135 W. Pearl

Street. We are open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

INTERNET ADDRESS

http://www.owatonna.com

- USPS ISSN 416-200 -

Periodicals postage paid at Owatonna, Minnesota 55060.

Postmaster: Send address changes to Owatonna People's Press, 135 W.

Pearl St., Owatonna, MN 55060

©2013 Owatonna People's Press:

The Owatonna People's Press retains the publication rights to all content

produced or supplied by the Owatonna People's Press.

Use of said materials without the written consent of the Owatonna

People's Press is prohibited. Contents copyrighted: all rights reserved.

The Owatonna People's Press is a division of Huckle Media, LLC.

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks

Follow us on Facebook