Owatonna's own Jostens helps Super Bowl champions tell their story with rings - Owatonna MN: News

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Owatonna's own Jostens helps Super Bowl champions tell their story with rings

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, January 31, 2014 6:15 pm | Updated: 9:30 pm, Fri Jan 31, 2014.

On Sunday night, more than 100 million Americans will tune in to the Super Bowl matchup between the Denver Broncos and the Seattle Seahawks at MetLife Stadium in New Jersey.

But after the clock runs out, the winning team celebrates its victory, and the teams’ fans file out of the stadium, there’s still a story to tell — a story told in championship rings.

And Jostens, a company founded in Owatonna in 1897 as a small watch-repair business, has designed 30 of the 46 rings for the Super Bowl champions — starting with the first-ever Super Bowl victory by Vince Lombardi and the Green Bay Packers in 1967 to the most recent Baltimore Ravens Super Bowl victory last year.

“It’s a tremendous honor to have designed 30 of the 46 Super Bowl rings,” said Chris Poitras, director of Sports Marketing and Development at Jostens. “It’s become a rich part of our history.”

And Jostens work with championship rings has found its place in the history of the National Football League as well as the National Basketball Association, National Hockey League, Major League Baseball, NASCAR and the National Collegiate Athletics Association.

“We’re the leading provider in professional rings but also college and high school rings, as well,” Poitras said.

He said the Super Bowl championship ring process starts during the NFL playoffs.

“We go through a process for the teams to tell their unique story and celebrate their achievements on a one-of-a-kind ring and that starts during the playoffs,” Poitras said. “We want to engage our future partners with our best foot forward.”

After the Super Bowl, Jostens, as well as other companies, pitch ring designs to the winning team, and the team determines its manufacturer.

“It starts with the ring and the craftsmanship and who can provide the best world-class ring,” Poitras said.

Poitras said a team from Jostens, which is now based in Minneapolis, works with the team from design to delivery, and that includes the employees who work in the Owatonna offices.

“The rings are not designed in Owatonna, but the employees there play an integral part in the design process from the initial planning to delivery to customer service,” he said.

The Baltimore Ravens received their championship rings last June — four months after the Super Bowl game.

“At Jostens, our goal is to collaborate with the team from start to finish, and the thing that takes the most time when it comes to creating the rings, is designing a piece that tells the story of the team, their great win, and the special season,” said Jill Teut, a Jostens spokesperson. “We work hard with each team to identify their desires, and depending on their design it can take anywhere from months to weeks to properly manufacture the rings from start to finish.”

Each ring goes through a lost-wax process, casting, finishing and polishing, then stone setting where diamonds and other stones are “meticulously” hand set, Teut said.

Poitras said portions of the rings are worked on in Owatonna, Montreal and Dallas.

Last year, Jostens also created a custom selection of personalized jewelry and collectibles inspired by the Ravens’ rings for friends, family and fans, and has done so for other teams’ fans, too.

“We allow other entities to celebrate the achievements with the players on the field,” Poitras said.

And Jostens hopes to tell the story of this year’s Super Bowl champion.

“We hope to help the Broncos or the Seahawks celebrate their season this year,” Poitras said.

To view the championship rings Jostens has designed, visit http://www.jostens.com/sports/championship-rings-jewelry.html.

Reach reporter Ashley Stewart at 444-2378 or follow her on Twitter.com @OPPashley

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content

Owatonna Peoples Press Forms

Contact Us

PUBLISHER

Ron Ensley, Editor and Publisher, 507-444-2367, rensley@owatonna.com

ADVERTISING

Debbie Ensley, Advertising Director, 507-444-2386, densley@owatonna.com

Betty Frost, Advertising Assistant, 507-444-2389, bfrost@owatonna.com

Beth Barrett, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2383, bbarret@owatonna.com

Diane Gengler, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2385, dgengler@owatonna.com

Aaron Louks,  Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2388, rebbers@owatonna.com

David Weeks, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2384, dweeks@owatonna.com

Bonnie Nguyen, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2397, bnguyen@owatonna.com

Danielle Schmitz, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2396, dschmitz@owatonna.com

CIRCULATION

Carol Harvey, Circulation Manager, 507-444-1561, charvey@owatonna.com

Crystal Grovdahl, District Manager, 507-444-2362, cgrovdahl@owatonna.com

Melissa Johnston, District Manager, 507-444-2361, mjohnston@owatonna.com

NEWSROOM

Jeffrey Jackson, Managing Editor, 507-444-2371, jjackson@owatonna.com

Tony Borreson, Chief Copy Desk Editor, 507-444-2373, tborreson@owatonna.com

Kelli Lageson, Copy Desk/Paginator, 507-444-2377, klageson@owatonna.com

Ashley Stewart, Reporter, 507-444-2378, astewart@owatonna.com

Al Strain, Reporter, 507-444-2376, astrain@owatonna.com

Matt Hudson, Reporter, 507-44-2372, mhudson@owatonna.com

Stacie Rions, Editorial Assistant, 507-444-2379, srions@owatonna.com

Obituary Notices, 507-444-2370, news@owatonna.com or owatonnaobituaries@gmail.com

Kaleb Roedel, Sports Editor, 507-444-2374, kroedel@owatonna.com

Jon Weisbrod, Sports Reporter, 507-444-2374, jweisbrod@owatonna.com

CREATIVE SERVICES

Kelly Kubista, Creative Services Supervisor, 507-444-2391, kkubista@owatonna.com

Jenine Kubista, print/web ad design, 507-444-2390, jkubista@owatonna.com

Paul Ristau, print/web ad design, 507-444-1563, pristau@owatonna.com

Naomi Kissling, print/web ad designer, 507-837-5452, nkissling@owatonna.com

Nicole Gilmore, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1565, ngilmore@owatonna.com

Keeley Krebsbach, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1564  kkrebsbach@owatonna.com

BUSINESS OFFICE

Dianna Schmidt, Bookkepper, 507-444-2365, dschmidt@owatonna.com

Paula Engebretson, Bookkeeper, 507-444-2364, pengebretson@owatonna.com

The Owatonna People's Press is published daily Tuesday-Saturday.

Business hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Phone: (507) 451-2840

Fax: (507) 444-2382

Mail: 135 W. Pearl St.

Owatonna, MN 55060

NEWSPAPER DELIVERY

To start a subscription to the Owatonna People’s Press call 507-444-2360, 24 hours a day. Or email your name, address, and phone number to circulation@owatonna.com.

Ask for EZ Pay-a time saving way to pay for your subscription. Through monthly automatic withdrawals from your checking or savings account or have your monthly charge applied to your credit card you will save time and ensure no interruption of your newspaper delivery.

Current rates are 12 weeks $42.60; 24 weeks $85.20; 52 weeks $184.60. EZ Pay $15.38 per month.

If you do not receive your paper by 6:30 a.m. Tuesday through Friday and 7 a.m. on Saturday, call our Customer service department at 507-444-2361 between 7 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. on Saturday.

NEWS

If you have a news tip, call the Editorial department at 444-2370. Call 24 hours a

day. Our fax number for press releases is 451-6020.

Sports-available 4 p.m. to 9 p.m. at 444-2374.

You may also email photos and story ideas to news@owatonna.com.

ADVERTISING

AT YOUR SERVICE

Classified..............................444-2399

Call 24 hours a day

E-mail - classified@owatonna.com

Retail...... 444-2389 Fax....... 444-2382

Email - bfrost@owatonna.com

CUSTOMER SERVICE

The Customer Service Center is located inside the main entrance at 135 W. Pearl

Street. We are open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

INTERNET ADDRESS

http://www.owatonna.com

- USPS ISSN 416-200 -

Periodicals postage paid at Owatonna, Minnesota 55060.

Postmaster: Send address changes to Owatonna People's Press, 135 W.

Pearl St., Owatonna, MN 55060

©2013 Owatonna People's Press:

The Owatonna People's Press retains the publication rights to all content

produced or supplied by the Owatonna People's Press.

Use of said materials without the written consent of the Owatonna

People's Press is prohibited. Contents copyrighted: all rights reserved.

The Owatonna People's Press is a division of Huckle Media, LLC.

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks

Follow us on Facebook