Rescue dog gets second chance at life in Owatonna - Owatonna MN: Owatonna Peoples Press

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Rescue dog gets second chance at life in Owatonna

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Saturday, September 29, 2012 2:04 pm | Updated: 5:50 pm, Sat Sep 29, 2012.

OWATONNA — Sometimes all you need is a second chance and someone who cares.

Willis got all of that, and then some more.

Willis, an adult Australian cattle dog rescued from being euthanized in Georgia, came to Owatonna on Saturday to move into his new foster home.

He was found wandering the streets in Rome Ga., where he was taken in by Floyd County Animal Control (FCAC) on Aug. 28 with no name, just an I.D. number of 1960. Due to the amount of animals they take in, FCAC was only able to hold Willis for a week before he was set to be put down.

“Down there, when they’re in animal control, they just have a really limited amount of time before they are put down,” said Jenny Pavlovic, a Minnesota author who helped organize Willis’ trip to Minnesota.

“He had until Sept. 4. What they told me was he was a stray and a bunch of dogs attacked him and a lady intervened.”

The encounter with the other dogs left Willis with injuries on his face and around his eyes. Pavlovic said the dog was lucky not to have lost an eye in the fight.

The woman who saved Willis tried to hold onto him until an owner could be found, but eventually she sent him to animal control. Once at animal control, Willis’ luck seemed to have run out — almost.

He was originally set to be put down on Sept. 3, but due to the Labor Day holiday, he was given an extra day. That day made all the difference.

“I found out about it the day before through Facebook, when someone posted that he had 90 minutes left,” Pavlovic said. “With 90 minutes, there’s no time to do anything. There are people down there who do rescue work and can help get him out of the place and then you coordinate (how to find a home).”

“I was like ‘I don’t know how I can do anything in 90 minutes.’ It turned out because of Labor Day he actually had an extra day because they were closed. So he had 24 hours and 90 minutes.”

With the extra day, the power of social media took over. A man from Atlanta volunteered $350 to pay for Willis’ vet care and other people made submissions to help pay for his boarding at the vet. All of this was done through a Facebook thread.

The cattle dog’s luck continued at the vet, where he tested negative for heart worm and made a recovery from his facial injuries sustained during fights with other dogs.

A foster home was found in Owatonna for Willis, where he will stay until he becomes acclimated and is able to be placed in a permanent home. But before Willis got to Owatonna, he had to do some traveling.

Pavlovic reached out to Pilots-N-Paws, an organization that connects those seeking to give animals a good home with pilots who are willing to fly the animals to their intended destination, which could potentially be anywhere in the country. Most of the flying is done on a volunteer basis and the pilots pay for their own expenses.

Before he left Georgia however, Willis was given his name. Pavlovic said she had been calling him Aslan, after the character from the “Chronicles of Narnia” book series. However, a woman in Georgia felt that Aslan was not a good name and elected to name him Willis.

“Ever since then it’s been ‘where there’s a Willis, there’s a way,’” Pavlovic said.

Two pilots from Tennessee, one an instructor and the other his student, flew Willis from Georgia to Indiana. Pavlovic said she wanted Willis to travel alone rather than en masse with many other dogs that could potentially make him sick.

On Saturday, Willis left Indiana on his second plane ride. This time, his destination was Owatonna, where he would meet up with Pavlovic and the person who would foster him, Candace Smith. Smith runs Critter Comforts in Owatonna and has 35 years of experience handling dogs.

“It is really one of the best things I do. I think about this poor dog,” Smith said. “He was a street dog and now he’s ridden on two planes and he’s medically taken care of. He has food, water, playmates and he’s met people and dogs.”

“What I’m really excited about is that my pack can teach him all the things he needs to know about how to be a good dog, and then I’ll teach him how to be a good dog with people.”

Willis wouldn’t have made it the more than 1,000 miles to Minnesota without the help of the pilots. Cary Mariash took Willis on the last leg of his journey through strong winds. Mariash has flown more than 25 trips for Pilots-N-Paws over the last two years.

“It’s fun. It gives me a chance to go up in the plane and do something worthwhile,” Mariash said. “I can even tell the dogs appreciate it. I’ve not had any problems with the dogs, they love to go up.”

Willis met Smith and Pavlovic on the runway at Owatonna’s Degner Regional Airport at around 3:30 p.m. on Saturday. After some initial excitement to be out of the plane, he wandered from person to person letting them pet him while all the paperwork was handled. In the end, Pavlovic knows that Willis’ happy ending is rare, but still special.

“This whole thing has been like magic. There’s all these little things along the way that kind of fell into place,” Pavlovic said. “All these people somehow came together over this dog. A lot of dogs don’t make it out of there and we’re all aware of that.”

“It gives me goosebumps actually.”

Reach reporter Al Strain at 444-2376 or follow him on Twitter.com@OPPalstrain

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content

Owatonna Peoples Press Forms

Contact Us

PUBLISHER

Ron Ensley, Editor and Publisher, 507-444-2367, rensley@owatonna.com

ADVERTISING

Debbie Ensley, Advertising Director, 507-444-2386, densley@owatonna.com

Betty Frost, Advertising Assistant, 507-444-2389, bfrost@owatonna.com

Beth Barrett, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2383, bbarret@owatonna.com

Diane Gengler, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2385, dgengler@owatonna.com

Aaron Louks,  Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2388, rebbers@owatonna.com

David Weeks, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2384, dweeks@owatonna.com

Bonnie Nguyen, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2397, bnguyen@owatonna.com

Danielle Schmitz, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2396, dschmitz@owatonna.com

CIRCULATION

Carol Harvey, Circulation Manager, 507-444-1561, charvey@owatonna.com

Crystal Grovdahl, District Manager, 507-444-2362, cgrovdahl@owatonna.com

Melissa Johnston, District Manager, 507-444-2361, mjohnston@owatonna.com

NEWSROOM

Jeffrey Jackson, Managing Editor, 507-444-2371, jjackson@owatonna.com

Tony Borreson, Chief Copy Desk Editor, 507-444-2373, tborreson@owatonna.com

Kelli Lageson, Copy Desk/Paginator, 507-444-2377, klageson@owatonna.com

Ashley Stewart, Reporter, 507-444-2378, astewart@owatonna.com

Al Strain, Reporter, 507-444-2376, astrain@owatonna.com

Matt Hudson, Reporter, 507-44-2372, mhudson@owatonna.com

Stacie Rions, Editorial Assistant, 507-444-2379, srions@owatonna.com

Obituary Notices, 507-444-2370, news@owatonna.com or owatonnaobituaries@gmail.com

Kaleb Roedel, Sports Editor, 507-444-2374, kroedel@owatonna.com

Jon Weisbrod, Sports Reporter, 507-444-2374, jweisbrod@owatonna.com

CREATIVE SERVICES

Kelly Kubista, Creative Services Supervisor, 507-444-2391, kkubista@owatonna.com

Jenine Kubista, print/web ad design, 507-444-2390, jkubista@owatonna.com

Paul Ristau, print/web ad design, 507-444-1563, pristau@owatonna.com

Naomi Kissling, print/web ad designer, 507-837-5452, nkissling@owatonna.com

Nicole Gilmore, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1565, ngilmore@owatonna.com

Keeley Krebsbach, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1564  kkrebsbach@owatonna.com

BUSINESS OFFICE

Dianna Schmidt, Bookkepper, 507-444-2365, dschmidt@owatonna.com

Paula Engebretson, Bookkeeper, 507-444-2364, pengebretson@owatonna.com

The Owatonna People's Press is published daily Tuesday-Saturday.

Business hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Phone: (507) 451-2840

Fax: (507) 444-2382

Mail: 135 W. Pearl St.

Owatonna, MN 55060

NEWSPAPER DELIVERY

To start a subscription to the Owatonna People’s Press call 507-444-2360, 24 hours a day. Or email your name, address, and phone number to circulation@owatonna.com.

Ask for EZ Pay-a time saving way to pay for your subscription. Through monthly automatic withdrawals from your checking or savings account or have your monthly charge applied to your credit card you will save time and ensure no interruption of your newspaper delivery.

Current rates are 12 weeks $42.60; 24 weeks $85.20; 52 weeks $184.60. EZ Pay $15.38 per month.

If you do not receive your paper by 6:30 a.m. Tuesday through Friday and 7 a.m. on Saturday, call our Customer service department at 507-444-2361 between 7 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. on Saturday.

NEWS

If you have a news tip, call the Editorial department at 444-2370. Call 24 hours a

day. Our fax number for press releases is 451-6020.

Sports-available 4 p.m. to 9 p.m. at 444-2374.

You may also email photos and story ideas to news@owatonna.com.

ADVERTISING

AT YOUR SERVICE

Classified..............................444-2399

Call 24 hours a day

E-mail - classified@owatonna.com

Retail...... 444-2389 Fax....... 444-2382

Email - bfrost@owatonna.com

CUSTOMER SERVICE

The Customer Service Center is located inside the main entrance at 135 W. Pearl

Street. We are open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

INTERNET ADDRESS

http://www.owatonna.com

- USPS ISSN 416-200 -

Periodicals postage paid at Owatonna, Minnesota 55060.

Postmaster: Send address changes to Owatonna People's Press, 135 W.

Pearl St., Owatonna, MN 55060

©2013 Owatonna People's Press:

The Owatonna People's Press retains the publication rights to all content

produced or supplied by the Owatonna People's Press.

Use of said materials without the written consent of the Owatonna

People's Press is prohibited. Contents copyrighted: all rights reserved.

The Owatonna People's Press is a division of Huckle Media, LLC.

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks

Follow us on Facebook