Nurse training program wraps up before Koda opening - Owatonna MN: Owatonna Peoples Press

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Nurse training program wraps up before Koda opening

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Tuesday, December 18, 2012 3:20 pm | Updated: 8:30 pm, Tue Dec 18, 2012.

OWATONNA — About 20 registered nurses have finished a post-acute care refresher course to prepare them for the opening of the new Koda Living Community facility in February.

In July, the Minnesota Job Skills Partnership awarded Riverland Community College a $100,000 grant from the Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development for a post-acute care nursing competency training project in Owatonna.

Amy Wangen, who deals with training and development at Riverland Community College, said the program was designed to make nurses more confident in their abilities.

The 20 nurses were split into two groups of 10. Each nurse was required to take 40 hours of training, eight hours a day over a five-day period. The first group started at the end of November and finished on Dec. 3, and the second group started shortly after that and finished on Dec. 18.

Kim Grinnen, a registered nurse at Cedarview Care Center going to Koda in February, said the training is helping refresh her skills.

“It’s a nice review,” Grinnen said. “It’ll help our transition go smoothly.”

The project partners Riverland, the Benedictine Health System and the Koda Living Community, with a significant link to the Owatonna Hospital and Allina hospitals and clinics.

Benedictine Health System provides long-term skilled nursing, post-acute, assisted living and memory care through its participating organizations in 35 communities across seven states, according to a Riverland press release. Koda, which is an entity of Benedictine in Owatonna, will provide long-term skilled nursing and post-acute care.

Deb Jeranek, a registered nurse from Benedictine, said the purpose of the training centralizes around health care reform.

“Hospitals are releasing patients sooner, so they need someplace they can stay,” Jeranek said. “That means we’re going to see a lot more serious things.”

The training — which was developed by Riverland in consultation with the Owatonna Hospital and Allina — was customized to the needs, standards and procedures of the local hospital, and included classroom training, online learning components, simulation and job shadowing.

“The simulation and training helps us recognize diagnoses and be able to handle them before the patient needs to be hospitalized,” said Kim Hinchley, a registered nurse at Cedarview.

Roschelle Manigold, Riverland nursing faculty member, said the training also allows the Koda nurses to become familiar with hospital policy and procedure.

“It will show patients that they are getting the same care they would be getting if they were still in the hospital,” she said.

In July, Wangen said the four goals of the project are to support patient safety and recovery, increase career advancement opportunities for workers, decrease re-hospitalizations and increase the capacity to have post-acute care training in the region.

Terry Schneider, Koda Living Community’s administrator and CEO, said Koda will have about 20 registered nurses working in the new facility, all of which will be post-acute care trained. She also said the licensed practical nurses will be trained as they go.

“We didn’t want to do it too far in advance,” Schneider said. “For the RN’s we are doing the last minute up-to-date training, so they can see how it is done at the hospital to provide continuity of care.”

Schneider said those who are hired to work in Koda between now and February won’t have the post-acute care training when it opens but will participate in other classes.

Wangen said there will be a week-long training in March for some Benedictine Health System nurses, Koda nurses as well as other staff working at the facility.

Koda was originally slated to open early January, but because of some setbacks won’t be opening until mid-February. Although the registered nurses from Cedarview transferring over to the new building were trained now to prepare for the January opening, Schneider said the delay makes no difference.

“It’s just a nice refresher course,” she said.

Reach reporter Ashley Stewart at 444-2378 or follow her on Twitter.com @OPPashley

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content

Owatonna Peoples Press Forms

Contact Us

PUBLISHER

Ron Ensley, Editor and Publisher, 507-444-2367, rensley@owatonna.com

ADVERTISING

Debbie Ensley, Advertising Director, 507-444-2386, densley@owatonna.com

Betty Frost, Advertising Assistant, 507-444-2389, bfrost@owatonna.com

Beth Barrett, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2383, bbarret@owatonna.com

Diane Gengler, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2385, dgengler@owatonna.com

Aaron Louks,  Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2388, rebbers@owatonna.com

David Weeks, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2384, dweeks@owatonna.com

Bonnie Nguyen, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2397, bnguyen@owatonna.com

Danielle Schmitz, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2396, dschmitz@owatonna.com

CIRCULATION

Carol Harvey, Circulation Manager, 507-444-1561, charvey@owatonna.com

Crystal Grovdahl, District Manager, 507-444-2362, cgrovdahl@owatonna.com

Melissa Johnston, District Manager, 507-444-2361, mjohnston@owatonna.com

NEWSROOM

Jeffrey Jackson, Managing Editor, 507-444-2371, jjackson@owatonna.com

Tony Borreson, Chief Copy Desk Editor, 507-444-2373, tborreson@owatonna.com

Kelli Lageson, Copy Desk/Paginator, 507-444-2377, klageson@owatonna.com

Ashley Stewart, Reporter, 507-444-2378, astewart@owatonna.com

Al Strain, Reporter, 507-444-2376, astrain@owatonna.com

Matt Hudson, Reporter, 507-44-2372, mhudson@owatonna.com

Stacie Rions, Editorial Assistant, 507-444-2379, srions@owatonna.com

Obituary Notices, 507-444-2370, news@owatonna.com or owatonnaobituaries@gmail.com

Kaleb Roedel, Sports Editor, 507-444-2374, kroedel@owatonna.com

Jon Weisbrod, Sports Reporter, 507-444-2374, jweisbrod@owatonna.com

CREATIVE SERVICES

Kelly Kubista, Creative Services Supervisor, 507-444-2391, kkubista@owatonna.com

Jenine Kubista, print/web ad design, 507-444-2390, jkubista@owatonna.com

Paul Ristau, print/web ad design, 507-444-1563, pristau@owatonna.com

Naomi Kissling, print/web ad designer, 507-837-5452, nkissling@owatonna.com

Nicole Gilmore, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1565, ngilmore@owatonna.com

Keeley Krebsbach, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1564  kkrebsbach@owatonna.com

BUSINESS OFFICE

Dianna Schmidt, Bookkepper, 507-444-2365, dschmidt@owatonna.com

Paula Engebretson, Bookkeeper, 507-444-2364, pengebretson@owatonna.com

The Owatonna People's Press is published daily Tuesday-Saturday.

Business hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Phone: (507) 451-2840

Fax: (507) 444-2382

Mail: 135 W. Pearl St.

Owatonna, MN 55060

NEWSPAPER DELIVERY

To start a subscription to the Owatonna People’s Press call 507-444-2360, 24 hours a day. Or email your name, address, and phone number to circulation@owatonna.com.

Ask for EZ Pay-a time saving way to pay for your subscription. Through monthly automatic withdrawals from your checking or savings account or have your monthly charge applied to your credit card you will save time and ensure no interruption of your newspaper delivery.

Current rates are 12 weeks $42.60; 24 weeks $85.20; 52 weeks $184.60. EZ Pay $15.38 per month.

If you do not receive your paper by 6:30 a.m. Tuesday through Friday and 7 a.m. on Saturday, call our Customer service department at 507-444-2361 between 7 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. on Saturday.

NEWS

If you have a news tip, call the Editorial department at 444-2370. Call 24 hours a

day. Our fax number for press releases is 451-6020.

Sports-available 4 p.m. to 9 p.m. at 444-2374.

You may also email photos and story ideas to news@owatonna.com.

ADVERTISING

AT YOUR SERVICE

Classified..............................444-2399

Call 24 hours a day

E-mail - classified@owatonna.com

Retail...... 444-2389 Fax....... 444-2382

Email - bfrost@owatonna.com

CUSTOMER SERVICE

The Customer Service Center is located inside the main entrance at 135 W. Pearl

Street. We are open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

INTERNET ADDRESS

http://www.owatonna.com

- USPS ISSN 416-200 -

Periodicals postage paid at Owatonna, Minnesota 55060.

Postmaster: Send address changes to Owatonna People's Press, 135 W.

Pearl St., Owatonna, MN 55060

©2013 Owatonna People's Press:

The Owatonna People's Press retains the publication rights to all content

produced or supplied by the Owatonna People's Press.

Use of said materials without the written consent of the Owatonna

People's Press is prohibited. Contents copyrighted: all rights reserved.

The Owatonna People's Press is a division of Huckle Media, LLC.

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks

Follow us on Facebook