Medford man competing in state-wide weight loss challenge - Owatonna MN: Owatonna Peoples Press

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Medford man competing in state-wide weight loss challenge

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Saturday, February 16, 2013 5:00 pm | Updated: 6:33 pm, Sat Feb 16, 2013.

MEDFORD — John Anhorn admits both that he’s competitive and that it was time to make a change in his life.

Anhorn has now been given the chance to combine that competitive spirit with his desire for change, all as part of a competition to exercise, eat healthy and shed as many pounds as he possibly can.

Anhorn, who owns a gas and service station in Medford and is a training officer for the Medford Fire Department, is one of 10 contestants in a weight-loss contest sponsored by Seattle Sutton, a company which provides prepared healthy meals for people to eat at home, and KARE 11 TV in the Twin Cities.

“I entered the contest, and this is the third year that they’ve done it,” Anhorn said. “They had 1,000 applicants that wrote stories to get into the contest, and they picked me as one of the 10 to keep going in the competition.”

Anhorn said all his meals are delivered to him by Seattle Sutton, and those meals are all he will eat for the 14 weeks he is involved with the challenge. Anhorn’s diet allows him to consume 2,000 calories per day.

“The nice part of the program is you know what you’re going to eat. You don’t have to prepare it and take the time,” Anhorn said. “You just throw it in the microwave, warm it up and eat it. The nice part of that with the exercise program is you only have to think about how you’re going to exercise. Your nutrition part is taken care of.”

Anhorn participated at the weigh-in at KARE 11’s studios and came in at 318.4 pounds, the heaviest in the competition. He is currently two weeks into the competition, and will be weighed every month to track his progress in the competition.

Each of the 10 contestants is assigned a trainer to help them throughout the challenge, and the food is supplied to them free of charge. Aside from the help provided to him through the competition, Anhorn has reached out to fitness professionals in Steele County to help him lose weight. One of those was Tim Anderson of Anytime Fitness in Owatonna, who gave Anhorn a free membership for the 14 weeks of the competition.

“His wife (Cindy), is a past member had contacted me and told me he was chosen to participate (in the challenge),” Anderson said. “She asked me if I could help him out with a membership and some training and I said, ‘Absolutely.’”

Anderson said he wanted to try and help Anhorn accomplish his goal for winning the challenge. Anderson said he will help Anhorn with a weight training program, which is helpful along with eating right and doing cardio work.

“We’re keeping it pretty basic for the first couple of weeks, and then we’re going to add more pieces to the puzzle as we go and he gets comfortable with it,” Anderson said. “The muscle is active metabolically, so it’s burning calories. The more muscle you have, the faster your metabolism is going to be. We want to keep that muscle, especially when we’re losing weight, because we’re also losing muscle.”

Anhorn also received help from Jason Young of the Owatonna Fit Club, who helped him pick out a home workout regiment.

Anhorn said he bought some home exercise equipment, which he stored in his garage, about a year-and-a-half ago. In December, he decided to start using the equipment.

“In the middle of December I started exercising every night,” Anhorn said. “Both the machines are pointed at a TV, so I watch the news and work out. I figured it was a good way to start.”

Around the first of the year, Anhorn said he changed his eating habits and really started to keep track of the portions of his meals, which he said was one of his biggest challenges.

“I lost 15 pounds before I got the word that I was in this competition,” he said.

Motivated in part because he wants to be healthy for his 2-year-old daughter as she grows up, Anhorn said the people he’s competing against are nice. While that fact won’t stop him from trying to win, he said he feels like he has already won.

Anhorn said he is the first person outside of the metro area to compete in the weight-loss challenge during its three years. The winner of the competition receives $5,000, which Anhorn said would be nice, but that wasn’t his main reason for competing.

“It’s a nice little carrot to dangle, but I just wanted to get in better shape,” Anhorn said. “I’ve got a little 2-year-old daughter and I just new it was time to make healthier choices.”

When he puts his mind to something, Anhorn said he gets it done. And he’s put his mind to losing weight before. When he was in eighth grade, he lost 60 pounds over about three months. Having done it once he said he believed he could do it again.

Anhorn said he will weight until each official competition weigh-in to find out how much weight he’s lost. He said he hasn’t weighed himself since the competition started two weeks ago, but said his clothes are fitting better and he is already considering punching an extra hole in his belt.

While he may have lost 60 pounds when he was in middle school, Anhorn is setting his sights a little higher this time.

“Overall, I’d like to be down 100 pounds. I don’t think that’s going to happen in 14 weeks,” Anhorn said. “I’d like to see myself in that 220- to 225-pound range ... For a guy with my frame, I think that’s pretty fair.”

Reach reporter Al Strain at 444-2376 or follow him on Twitter.com@OPPalstrain

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content

Owatonna Peoples Press Forms

Contact Us

PUBLISHER

Ron Ensley, Editor and Publisher, 507-444-2367, rensley@owatonna.com

ADVERTISING

Debbie Ensley, Advertising Director, 507-444-2386, densley@owatonna.com

Betty Frost, Advertising Assistant, 507-444-2389, bfrost@owatonna.com

Beth Barrett, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2383, bbarret@owatonna.com

Diane Gengler, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2385, dgengler@owatonna.com

Aaron Louks,  Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2388, rebbers@owatonna.com

David Weeks, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2384, dweeks@owatonna.com

Bonnie Nguyen, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2397, bnguyen@owatonna.com

Danielle Schmitz, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2396, dschmitz@owatonna.com

CIRCULATION

Carol Harvey, Circulation Manager, 507-444-1561, charvey@owatonna.com

Crystal Grovdahl, District Manager, 507-444-2362, cgrovdahl@owatonna.com

Melissa Johnston, District Manager, 507-444-2361, mjohnston@owatonna.com

NEWSROOM

Jeffrey Jackson, Managing Editor, 507-444-2371, jjackson@owatonna.com

Tony Borreson, Chief Copy Desk Editor, 507-444-2373, tborreson@owatonna.com

Kelli Lageson, Copy Desk/Paginator, 507-444-2377, klageson@owatonna.com

Ashley Stewart, Reporter, 507-444-2378, astewart@owatonna.com

Al Strain, Reporter, 507-444-2376, astrain@owatonna.com

Matt Hudson, Reporter, 507-44-2372, mhudson@owatonna.com

Stacie Rions, Editorial Assistant, 507-444-2379, srions@owatonna.com

Obituary Notices, 507-444-2370, news@owatonna.com or owatonnaobituaries@gmail.com

Kaleb Roedel, Sports Editor, 507-444-2374, kroedel@owatonna.com

Jon Weisbrod, Sports Reporter, 507-444-2374, jweisbrod@owatonna.com

CREATIVE SERVICES

Kelly Kubista, Creative Services Supervisor, 507-444-2391, kkubista@owatonna.com

Jenine Kubista, print/web ad design, 507-444-2390, jkubista@owatonna.com

Paul Ristau, print/web ad design, 507-444-1563, pristau@owatonna.com

Naomi Kissling, print/web ad designer, 507-837-5452, nkissling@owatonna.com

Nicole Gilmore, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1565, ngilmore@owatonna.com

Keeley Krebsbach, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1564  kkrebsbach@owatonna.com

BUSINESS OFFICE

Dianna Schmidt, Bookkepper, 507-444-2365, dschmidt@owatonna.com

Paula Engebretson, Bookkeeper, 507-444-2364, pengebretson@owatonna.com

The Owatonna People's Press is published daily Tuesday-Saturday.

Business hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Phone: (507) 451-2840

Fax: (507) 444-2382

Mail: 135 W. Pearl St.

Owatonna, MN 55060

NEWSPAPER DELIVERY

To start a subscription to the Owatonna People’s Press call 507-444-2360, 24 hours a day. Or email your name, address, and phone number to circulation@owatonna.com.

Ask for EZ Pay-a time saving way to pay for your subscription. Through monthly automatic withdrawals from your checking or savings account or have your monthly charge applied to your credit card you will save time and ensure no interruption of your newspaper delivery.

Current rates are 12 weeks $42.60; 24 weeks $85.20; 52 weeks $184.60. EZ Pay $15.38 per month.

If you do not receive your paper by 6:30 a.m. Tuesday through Friday and 7 a.m. on Saturday, call our Customer service department at 507-444-2361 between 7 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. on Saturday.

NEWS

If you have a news tip, call the Editorial department at 444-2370. Call 24 hours a

day. Our fax number for press releases is 451-6020.

Sports-available 4 p.m. to 9 p.m. at 444-2374.

You may also email photos and story ideas to news@owatonna.com.

ADVERTISING

AT YOUR SERVICE

Classified..............................444-2399

Call 24 hours a day

E-mail - classified@owatonna.com

Retail...... 444-2389 Fax....... 444-2382

Email - bfrost@owatonna.com

CUSTOMER SERVICE

The Customer Service Center is located inside the main entrance at 135 W. Pearl

Street. We are open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

INTERNET ADDRESS

http://www.owatonna.com

- USPS ISSN 416-200 -

Periodicals postage paid at Owatonna, Minnesota 55060.

Postmaster: Send address changes to Owatonna People's Press, 135 W.

Pearl St., Owatonna, MN 55060

©2013 Owatonna People's Press:

The Owatonna People's Press retains the publication rights to all content

produced or supplied by the Owatonna People's Press.

Use of said materials without the written consent of the Owatonna

People's Press is prohibited. Contents copyrighted: all rights reserved.

The Owatonna People's Press is a division of Huckle Media, LLC.

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks

Follow us on Facebook