More than 50 people become Kansas City Barbeque Society certified judges - Owatonna MN: Owatonna Peoples Press

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

More than 50 people become Kansas City Barbeque Society certified judges

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Saturday, March 16, 2013 6:07 pm | Updated: 4:30 pm, Mon Mar 18, 2013.

OWATONNA — When you think of good barbecue, what does it include?

If you asked Kansas City Barbeque Society certified judges, they would say it based on appearance, taste and tenderness.

On Saturday, more than 50 people with varying levels of barbecue expertise became certified judges —among more than 20,000 others in the nation — after learning the society’s standards and regulations and tasting eight different styles of barbecued meat.

With this certification, individuals are eligible to judge barbecue contests sanctioned by the Kansas City Barbeque Society across the country.

Lyle Coleman, one of the organizers of Smokin’ in Steele — a barbecue contest each June in Owatonna — welcomed everyone at the door.

“You’re at the doorstep of culinary delights,” she told the eager participants.

Barbecue, a worldwide cuisine, can be cooked, seasoned, and decorated in many ways, but attendees learned in a two-hour course Saturday morning how to judge barbecued chicken, pork ribs, and brisket according to the society’s standards.

And yes, that included some taste-testing.

But finger licking wasn’t allowed, as it is against the judging rules and regulations.

“Score what is presented to you,” said Dave Londeen, a representative for the Kansas City Barbeque Society.

People traveled from within Minnesota, and also came from Iowa and Wisconsin to attend the class, which was offered for the first time in Owatonna.

“It’s because we have a nice facility and we’re centrally located,” Coleman said.

Dave Fandel from Owatonna and Del Point from Waterville are familiar to with this area. The two have competed in barbecue contests at Smokin’ in Steele for several years.

Point, a member of the Grumpy Old Men barbecue team, decided to take the class to find out what judges are looking for in good barbecue in an effort to improve his own product.

He particularly enjoyed taste-testing the barbecued chicken and brisket.

And after this class, he can’t wait to get outside with his new smoker.

“I’m ready to try new things and get back to competing once the weather gets good,” Point said.

Fandel, a member of the Brandy Buddies barbecue team, came out looking for the criteria the Kansas City Barbeque Society judges look for.

He also enjoyed sampling the chicken and ribs.

Fandel said he hopes to judge at some point, but for now, he has another agenda.

“Competing and hopefully beating Del,” he laughed.

Jessie and Scott Crane traveled from Rochester for the class.

“I have an acquaintance that is a judge and thought it would be a good thing for me and my husband to do together,” Jessie said.

And she thought the concept of garnish in the cooker’s entry was interesting.

“I thought it was interesting because you’re just judging the meat itself,” Jessie said.

Now that she and her husband are certified judges, she is looking forward to judging an event with the different tastes of barbecue and enjoying the atmosphere cook-offs provide.

Brett Rodriguez traveled from Milwaukee, Wis., to learn more about judging criteria.

“I like cooking in my backyard and I thought about entering competitions, but wanted to know what the judges were looking for,” Rodriguez said.

He thought it was interesting how the criteria are determined.

“It isn’t just what you do or don’t like. There’s reason and rationale to it. It is based on the standards defined by the KCBS,” Londeen said.

According to the society, judging is based on a nine to two scale based on three criteria: appearance, taste and tenderness. A nine means the product was excellent and a two means the product was inedible.

Attendees taste-tested each piece of meat with the three criteria in mind. After the judging, Londeen led discussion about the pros and cons of each piece.

After the taste testing, individuals stood and took the judging oath.

They will receive their certification in the mail after a couple weeks.

An upcoming Kansas City Barbeque Society sanctioned event is Smokin’ in Steele at the Steele County Fairgrounds on May 1 as well as June 1 and 2.

Reach reporter Ashley Stewart at 444-2378 or follow her on Twitter.com @OPPashley

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

1 comment:

  • itsmeuc posted at 2:43 pm on Mon, Mar 18, 2013.

    itsmeuc Posts: 630

    Gee thanks, now I am hungry, and my mouth is watering for barbeque! Sweet and Tangy Style, please :)

     

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content

Owatonna Peoples Press Forms

Contact Us

PUBLISHER

Ron Ensley, Editor and Publisher, 507-444-2367, rensley@owatonna.com

ADVERTISING

Debbie Ensley, Advertising Director, 507-444-2386, densley@owatonna.com

Betty Frost, Advertising Assistant, 507-444-2389, bfrost@owatonna.com

Beth Barrett, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2383, bbarret@owatonna.com

Diane Gengler, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2385, dgengler@owatonna.com

Aaron Louks,  Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2388, rebbers@owatonna.com

David Weeks, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2384, dweeks@owatonna.com

Bonnie Nguyen, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2397, bnguyen@owatonna.com

Danielle Schmitz, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2396, dschmitz@owatonna.com

CIRCULATION

Carol Harvey, Circulation Manager, 507-444-1561, charvey@owatonna.com

Crystal Grovdahl, District Manager, 507-444-2362, cgrovdahl@owatonna.com

Melissa Johnston, District Manager, 507-444-2361, mjohnston@owatonna.com

NEWSROOM

Jeffrey Jackson, Managing Editor, 507-444-2371, jjackson@owatonna.com

Tony Borreson, Chief Copy Desk Editor, 507-444-2373, tborreson@owatonna.com

Kelli Lageson, Copy Desk/Paginator, 507-444-2377, klageson@owatonna.com

Ashley Stewart, Reporter, 507-444-2378, astewart@owatonna.com

Al Strain, Reporter, 507-444-2376, astrain@owatonna.com

Matt Hudson, Reporter, 507-44-2372, mhudson@owatonna.com

Stacie Rions, Editorial Assistant, 507-444-2379, srions@owatonna.com

Obituary Notices, 507-444-2370, news@owatonna.com or owatonnaobituaries@gmail.com

Kaleb Roedel, Sports Editor, 507-444-2374, kroedel@owatonna.com

Jon Weisbrod, Sports Reporter, 507-444-2374, jweisbrod@owatonna.com

CREATIVE SERVICES

Kelly Kubista, Creative Services Supervisor, 507-444-2391, kkubista@owatonna.com

Jenine Kubista, print/web ad design, 507-444-2390, jkubista@owatonna.com

Paul Ristau, print/web ad design, 507-444-1563, pristau@owatonna.com

Naomi Kissling, print/web ad designer, 507-837-5452, nkissling@owatonna.com

Nicole Gilmore, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1565, ngilmore@owatonna.com

Keeley Krebsbach, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1564  kkrebsbach@owatonna.com

BUSINESS OFFICE

Dianna Schmidt, Bookkepper, 507-444-2365, dschmidt@owatonna.com

Paula Engebretson, Bookkeeper, 507-444-2364, pengebretson@owatonna.com

The Owatonna People's Press is published daily Tuesday-Saturday.

Business hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Phone: (507) 451-2840

Fax: (507) 444-2382

Mail: 135 W. Pearl St.

Owatonna, MN 55060

NEWSPAPER DELIVERY

To start a subscription to the Owatonna People’s Press call 507-444-2360, 24 hours a day. Or email your name, address, and phone number to circulation@owatonna.com.

Ask for EZ Pay-a time saving way to pay for your subscription. Through monthly automatic withdrawals from your checking or savings account or have your monthly charge applied to your credit card you will save time and ensure no interruption of your newspaper delivery.

Current rates are 12 weeks $42.60; 24 weeks $85.20; 52 weeks $184.60. EZ Pay $15.38 per month.

If you do not receive your paper by 6:30 a.m. Tuesday through Friday and 7 a.m. on Saturday, call our Customer service department at 507-444-2361 between 7 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. on Saturday.

NEWS

If you have a news tip, call the Editorial department at 444-2370. Call 24 hours a

day. Our fax number for press releases is 451-6020.

Sports-available 4 p.m. to 9 p.m. at 444-2374.

You may also email photos and story ideas to news@owatonna.com.

ADVERTISING

AT YOUR SERVICE

Classified..............................444-2399

Call 24 hours a day

E-mail - classified@owatonna.com

Retail...... 444-2389 Fax....... 444-2382

Email - bfrost@owatonna.com

CUSTOMER SERVICE

The Customer Service Center is located inside the main entrance at 135 W. Pearl

Street. We are open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

INTERNET ADDRESS

http://www.owatonna.com

- USPS ISSN 416-200 -

Periodicals postage paid at Owatonna, Minnesota 55060.

Postmaster: Send address changes to Owatonna People's Press, 135 W.

Pearl St., Owatonna, MN 55060

©2013 Owatonna People's Press:

The Owatonna People's Press retains the publication rights to all content

produced or supplied by the Owatonna People's Press.

Use of said materials without the written consent of the Owatonna

People's Press is prohibited. Contents copyrighted: all rights reserved.

The Owatonna People's Press is a division of Huckle Media, LLC.

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks

Follow us on Facebook