Waseca's Brenden abandons candidacy; DFL hopes to announce replacement soon - Owatonna MN: Owatonna Peoples Press

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Waseca's Brenden abandons candidacy; DFL hopes to announce replacement soon

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Brenden

Posted: Friday, April 25, 2014 5:10 pm | Updated: 6:28 pm, Thu May 1, 2014.

WASECA — Waseca resident and erstwhile DFL candidate Craig Brenden quietly withdrew from the state Legislature race last week, leaving incumbent Rep. John Petersburg, R-Waseca, the lone candidate at least for now.

Brenden held his cards close when asked why he dropped out.

“It doesn’t feel like it’s the right time to be running,” he said Friday afternoon.

The position in question is in the Minnesota House of Representatives for District 24A, which includes Waseca and Owatonna.

The Republican representative Petersburg has already received his party’s endorsement to defend his seat, which is up for grabs this fall.

Brenden ran on the DFL ticket against Petersburg in the 2012 election and lost by a thin margin. Petersburg won with just over 52 percent of the votes. The dual-county district split its support, with a majority of Steele County voters backing Petersburg and Waseca County favoring Brenden.

At a Steele County DFL caucus meeting in February, he announced that he would try for a deja-vu campaign and challenge Petersburg again.

“I’m back,” he told members of the caucus.

Brenden said there was no doubt in his mind at the time of his announcement. He stammered when asked what spurred him to reconsider and eventually fell back on the idea that his viewpoint is different now.

According to Brenden, the only thing that happened over the past two months was a change of heart.

It’s still early in the year, however, and the current legislative session isn’t set to expire until May 19. Primaries sit further in the distance in August. In Steele County’s other state-level house district, 24B, the GOP caucus has yet to endorse a challenger to the incumbent, Rep. Patti Fritz, DFL-Faribault.

The local DFL groups didn’t endorse Brenden, or any other candidate, and now they are looking for somebody to take over the race.

“We’re currently in the process of looking at some other options,” said Alan O’Malley-Laursen, vice-chair of the Steele County DFL caucus.

O’Malley-Laursen said he didn’t know the specific circumstances of Brenden’s decision, and that Steele and Waseca County DFLers are working together to identify one or more new candidates.

No one has definitively stepped forward, he said, but local party leaders are testing the interest levels of various members. He hopes they can identify someone within a couple weeks.

State DFL members have their single-party control at state this fall, as the GOP has been vocal about winning the House.

But O’Malley-Laursen said it would be a mischaracterization to say that Petersburg is running unopposed.

“We certainly expect to have a candidate,” he said. “No question about that.”

It isn’t the first time that a local candidate for the Legislature has withdrawn his name early in election season and not even the first time in recent history, though the last time the parties were switched.

In May 2010, Brandon Pofahl, the Republican candidate for District 26A — the name of the district that included both Owatonna and Waseca before redistricting — bowed out of his campaign against then state Rep. Kory Kath, an Owatonna DFLer. Pofahl withdrew in early May of that year.

Pofahl’s withdrawal proved to be a major stumbling block for the GOP that year with Kath going on to win a decisive victory over the replacement candidate, Dave Thul of Owatonna.

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content

Owatonna Peoples Press Forms

Contact Us

PUBLISHER

Ron Ensley, Editor and Publisher, 507-444-2367, rensley@owatonna.com

ADVERTISING

Debbie Ensley, Advertising Director, 507-444-2386, densley@owatonna.com

Betty Frost, Advertising Assistant, 507-444-2389, bfrost@owatonna.com

Beth Barrett, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2383, bbarret@owatonna.com

Diane Gengler, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2385, dgengler@owatonna.com

Aaron Louks,  Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2388, rebbers@owatonna.com

David Weeks, Advertising Consultant, 507-444-2384, dweeks@owatonna.com

Bonnie Nguyen, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2397, bnguyen@owatonna.com

Danielle Schmitz, Classified Ad-Visor, 507-444-2396, dschmitz@owatonna.com

CIRCULATION

Carol Harvey, Circulation Manager, 507-444-1561, charvey@owatonna.com

Crystal Grovdahl, District Manager, 507-444-2362, cgrovdahl@owatonna.com

Melissa Johnston, District Manager, 507-444-2361, mjohnston@owatonna.com

NEWSROOM

Jeffrey Jackson, Managing Editor, 507-444-2371, jjackson@owatonna.com

Tony Borreson, Chief Copy Desk Editor, 507-444-2373, tborreson@owatonna.com

Kelli Lageson, Copy Desk/Paginator, 507-444-2377, klageson@owatonna.com

Ashley Stewart, Reporter, 507-444-2378, astewart@owatonna.com

Al Strain, Reporter, 507-444-2376, astrain@owatonna.com

Matt Hudson, Reporter, 507-44-2372, mhudson@owatonna.com

Stacie Rions, Editorial Assistant, 507-444-2379, srions@owatonna.com

Obituary Notices, 507-444-2370, news@owatonna.com or owatonnaobituaries@gmail.com

Kaleb Roedel, Sports Editor, 507-444-2374, kroedel@owatonna.com

Jon Weisbrod, Sports Reporter, 507-444-2374, jweisbrod@owatonna.com

CREATIVE SERVICES

Kelly Kubista, Creative Services Supervisor, 507-444-2391, kkubista@owatonna.com

Jenine Kubista, print/web ad design, 507-444-2390, jkubista@owatonna.com

Paul Ristau, print/web ad design, 507-444-1563, pristau@owatonna.com

Naomi Kissling, print/web ad designer, 507-837-5452, nkissling@owatonna.com

Nicole Gilmore, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1565, ngilmore@owatonna.com

Keeley Krebsbach, print/web ad designer, 507-444-1564  kkrebsbach@owatonna.com

BUSINESS OFFICE

Dianna Schmidt, Bookkepper, 507-444-2365, dschmidt@owatonna.com

Paula Engebretson, Bookkeeper, 507-444-2364, pengebretson@owatonna.com

The Owatonna People's Press is published daily Tuesday-Saturday.

Business hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Phone: (507) 451-2840

Fax: (507) 444-2382

Mail: 135 W. Pearl St.

Owatonna, MN 55060

NEWSPAPER DELIVERY

To start a subscription to the Owatonna People’s Press call 507-444-2360, 24 hours a day. Or email your name, address, and phone number to circulation@owatonna.com.

Ask for EZ Pay-a time saving way to pay for your subscription. Through monthly automatic withdrawals from your checking or savings account or have your monthly charge applied to your credit card you will save time and ensure no interruption of your newspaper delivery.

Current rates are 12 weeks $42.60; 24 weeks $85.20; 52 weeks $184.60. EZ Pay $15.38 per month.

If you do not receive your paper by 6:30 a.m. Tuesday through Friday and 7 a.m. on Saturday, call our Customer service department at 507-444-2361 between 7 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. on Saturday.

NEWS

If you have a news tip, call the Editorial department at 444-2370. Call 24 hours a

day. Our fax number for press releases is 451-6020.

Sports-available 4 p.m. to 9 p.m. at 444-2374.

You may also email photos and story ideas to news@owatonna.com.

ADVERTISING

AT YOUR SERVICE

Classified..............................444-2399

Call 24 hours a day

E-mail - classified@owatonna.com

Retail...... 444-2389 Fax....... 444-2382

Email - bfrost@owatonna.com

CUSTOMER SERVICE

The Customer Service Center is located inside the main entrance at 135 W. Pearl

Street. We are open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

INTERNET ADDRESS

http://www.owatonna.com

- USPS ISSN 416-200 -

Periodicals postage paid at Owatonna, Minnesota 55060.

Postmaster: Send address changes to Owatonna People's Press, 135 W.

Pearl St., Owatonna, MN 55060

©2013 Owatonna People's Press:

The Owatonna People's Press retains the publication rights to all content

produced or supplied by the Owatonna People's Press.

Use of said materials without the written consent of the Owatonna

People's Press is prohibited. Contents copyrighted: all rights reserved.

The Owatonna People's Press is a division of Huckle Media, LLC.

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks

Follow us on Facebook