Northfield boys basketball goes down at Farmington - Northfield MN: Sports

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Northfield boys basketball goes down at Farmington

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Tuesday, February 19, 2013 9:54 pm

Northfield's size hasn't been its strongest asset all season and on Tuesday Farmington took advantage.

The Tigers imposed their will on the Raiders, getting out front by 20-plus points and putting four scorers in double-digits on the way to a 68-52 win.

"They were extremely physical," coach Andy Jaynes said. "We were a little taken aback by the physicality to start. They're strong."

An athleticism advantage got flexed throughout as Farmington (12-11, 5-6 Missota) turned many of Northfield's (6-16, 1-10 Missota) misses into fast breaks and hard finishes on the other end. Senior Billy Seeberg had a game-high 20 points to keep the Raiders in it and help cut the lead to single digits in the second half.

"It's hard to hang your head when your guys play as hard as ours do," Jaynes said. "The best part about is this is that they're not going to stop playing hard. That's still what we preach: the two things we can control is our attitude and our effort."

By the time Northfield got used to Farmington's physicality the game was well out of hand, and things didn't change much down the stretch as the Tigers kept a comfortable lead throughout.

"That's the best we could do tonight," Jaynes said.

Northfield is scheduled to play at Academy of Holy Angels on Friday.

Scoring

Seeberg, 20; Harris, 11; Nelson, 6; Shepley, 5; Robideau, 4; Sannes, 2; Mathison, 2; Eckhoff, 2.

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content

Northfield News Forms

Contact Us

Northfield News

115 W. Fifth St., Northfield, MN 55057
Office Hours: Monday through Friday 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

MAIN NUMBER
507-645-5615
Publisher and Editor
Sam Gett, 507-645-1112 sgett@northfieldnews.com
ADVERTISING
Lauran Rott, Rice County ad manager, 507-645-1110 lrott@northfieldnews.com
Joan Koester, advertising consultant, 507-645-1103 jkoester@northfieldnews.com
Megan Zwolenski, advertising consultant, 507-645-1114, mzwolenski@northfieldnews.com
CIRCULATION
Kris Johnson, circulation manager, 507-333-3125 kjohnson@faribault.com
Chris Lee, customer service, 507-645-1107
Susan Palmer, district manager, 507-333-3106 spalmer@faribault.com
NEWSROOM
Jerry Smith, managing editor, 507-645-1136 jcsmith@northfieldnews.com
Nick Gerhardt, sports editor, 507-645-1111 ngerhardt@northfieldnews.com
, reporter, 507-645-1115 eoneill@northfieldnews.com
Rich Larson, Editorial Assistant 507-645-1134 rlarson@northfieldnews.com

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks