GALLERY: Carleton College Reunion - Northfield MN: Local

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

GALLERY: Carleton College Reunion

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Saturday, June 21, 2014 1:49 pm | Updated: 10:31 pm, Tue Jun 24, 2014.

Well over 2,000 Carleton College alums convened over the weekend for the school’s annual reunion weekend.

Though heavy rains and flooding earlier in the week put a damper a several of the weekend’s planned activities, nary a cloud was in sight for a full day of events of Saturday.

Classes celebrating reunions anywhere from five to 75 years took part in a bird walk, family yoga, convocation, lawn games, a field day challenge, discussions, countless tours and more. Of course, breakfasts, luncheons and dinners were hosted by nearly every class between activities, too.

Carleton sophomores Ebeth Glickson and Alice Mae were stationed inside working at an information booth.

Glickson reported that 2,207 alumni had pre-registered to attend the weekend festivities.

“I think that number broke the record for pre-registration,” Mae said.

Walk-in registration was welcome though, likely making that attendance number higher.

The pair also said alums traveled into Northfield from all over the globe.

“They’ve come from Vietnam, Japan,” Glickson said, “there is a monk from New Zealand here too,”

Class of 1964 graduate Golby Uhlir didn’t travel from anywhere quite as exotic.

Uhlir and his wife drove up from Sioux City, Iowa for the weekend to celebrate his 50th reunion. A retired lawyer, Uhlir said he has attended many of the reunion weekends and still gathers with a group of his classmates two or three times a year.

“It’s fun to get here,” he said, “I enjoy seeing the changes and improvements on campus.”

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content

Northfield News Forms

Contact Us

Northfield News

115 W. Fifth St., Northfield, MN 55057
Office Hours: Monday through Friday 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

MAIN NUMBER
507-645-5615
Publisher and Editor
Sam Gett, 507-645-1112 sgett@northfieldnews.com
ADVERTISING
Lauran Rott, Rice County ad manager, 507-645-1110 lrott@northfieldnews.com
Joan Koester, advertising consultant, 507-645-1103 jkoester@northfieldnews.com
Megan Zwolenski, advertising consultant, 507-645-1114, mzwolenski@northfieldnews.com
CIRCULATION
Kris Johnson, circulation manager, 507-333-3125 kjohnson@faribault.com
Chris Lee, customer service, 507-645-1107
Susan Palmer, district manager, 507-333-3106 spalmer@faribault.com
NEWSROOM
Jerry Smith, managing editor, 507-645-1136 jcsmith@northfieldnews.com
Nick Gerhardt, sports editor, 507-645-1111 ngerhardt@northfieldnews.com
, reporter, 507-645-1115 eoneill@northfieldnews.com
Rich Larson, Editorial Assistant 507-645-1134 rlarson@northfieldnews.com

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks