Scrapbooking 'angel' makes project possible for Northfield Young Moms Group - Northfield MN: News

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Scrapbooking 'angel' makes project possible for Northfield Young Moms Group

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, June 14, 2013 10:00 am | Updated: 12:23 pm, Fri Jun 14, 2013.

The young mothers involved in a Young Moms Support Group at CommonBond Communities Greenvale Apartments love to share stories of their children.

They chat about their delivery story, baby’s first word, when their child took their first step, and what their favorite foods are.

But when Advantage Service Coordinator Sara Kaiser asked if they were keeping a baby book to document these moments, the reply was a unanimous “no.”

So with a few conversations and brief emails, this group was blessed by a Scrapbooking Angel who made a generous donation to purchase all of the necessary items for each mother to make a scrapbook for their children. With the donation, Kaiser and group volunteer Jeanette Frahm, were able to order everything from scrapbooks for each mom, stickers, pens, lettering, scissors, paper cutters, extra pages, and embellishments.

On June 7, the group gathered and the scrapbooking projects began.

Ali Feldman and Annette Evavold, Northfield residents who have significant scrapbooking experience, joined the group and provided some helpful tips and ideas to get the young ladies started.

The moms enjoyed the project so much that they even asked to come to group early on the following Fridays to get back to work on them.

The scrapbooking project has importance for these young moms in other meaningful ways. One mom shared, “working on this book will keep me busy and take my mind off of other stuff going on, plus it will mean a lot to my daughter to look back at all her ‘firsts.’”

Another mother said that she does not have a baby book of her own and has seen very few baby pictures of herself, so she wants to give her daughter a book of memories so “when she gets older she will be able to see the different stages she went through.”

One mother who recently graduated from Northfield High School talks about her busy life with baby, school and work and says that now she is “able to have time and resources to put together all the memories,” which means a lot to her.

For questions about the group, please contact Liz at the Crisis Pregnancy Center at 507-645-7638 or Sara at 507-645-7710.

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content

Northfield News Forms

Contact Us

Northfield News

115 W. Fifth St., Northfield, MN 55057
Office Hours: Monday through Friday 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

MAIN NUMBER
507-645-5615
Publisher and Editor
Sam Gett, 507-645-1112 sgett@northfieldnews.com
ADVERTISING
Lauran Rott, Rice County ad manager, 507-645-1110 lrott@northfieldnews.com
Joan Koester, advertising consultant, 507-645-1103 jkoester@northfieldnews.com
Megan Zwolenski, advertising consultant, 507-645-1114, mzwolenski@northfieldnews.com
CIRCULATION
Kris Johnson, circulation manager, 507-333-3125 kjohnson@faribault.com
Chris Lee, customer service, 507-645-1107
Susan Palmer, district manager, 507-333-3106 spalmer@faribault.com
NEWSROOM
Jerry Smith, managing editor, 507-645-1136 jcsmith@northfieldnews.com
Nick Gerhardt, sports editor, 507-645-1111 ngerhardt@northfieldnews.com
, reporter, 507-645-1115 eoneill@northfieldnews.com
Rich Larson, Editorial Assistant 507-645-1134 rlarson@northfieldnews.com

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks