Northfield MN: Northfield News

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Northfield News

Opinion

On the road: SMIF stakeholders head west

The Southern Minnesota Initiative Foundation (SMIF) serves 20 counties. While this is just a fraction of the state, it’s a large area: It takes over three and a half hours to drive from Springfield to Spring Grove — and that’s without road construction or snow drifts. In the course of our work, many SMIF staff members travel thousands of miles every year, crisscrossing the region in support of early childhood, entrepreneurial, and community activities. Though SMIF’s governing Board members come from 15 of our 20 counties, we recognize the need for them — along with SMIF staff — to become more familiar with our entire region. So, going forward, every year we will schedule a bus tour of three or four counties exploring challenges, changing demographics, as well as causes for celebration. Comments (0)

Recent Comments

Posted 2 hours ago by 7outof10.

article: MCA scores fluctuate state-wide, decrea…

The problem is the % of non E…

More...

Posted 3 hours ago by obicera.

article: MCA scores fluctuate state-wide, decrea…

Indeed, what is Faribault's p…

More...

Community Blogs

Celebrations

Births Weddings Engagements

Special Sections

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content

Northfield News Forms

Contact Us

Northfield News

115 W. Fifth St., Northfield, MN 55057
Office Hours: Monday through Friday 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

MAIN NUMBER
507-645-5615
Publisher and Editor
Sam Gett, 507-645-1112 sgett@northfieldnews.com
ADVERTISING
Lauran Rott, Rice County ad manager, 507-645-1110 lrott@northfieldnews.com
Joan Koester, advertising consultant, 507-645-1103 jkoester@northfieldnews.com
Megan Zwolenski, advertising consultant, 507-645-1114, mzwolenski@northfieldnews.com
CIRCULATION
Kris Johnson, circulation manager, 507-333-3125 kjohnson@faribault.com
Chris Lee, customer service, 507-645-1107
Susan Palmer, district manager, 507-333-3106 spalmer@faribault.com
NEWSROOM
Jerry Smith, managing editor, 507-645-1136 jcsmith@northfieldnews.com
Nick Gerhardt, sports editor, 507-645-1111 ngerhardt@northfieldnews.com
, reporter, 507-645-1115 eoneill@northfieldnews.com
Rich Larson, Editorial Assistant 507-645-1134 rlarson@northfieldnews.com

Online poll

Pro Picks