After strong seasons, Faribault High School and Waterville-Elysian-Morristown were rewarded with multiple all-state selections.

The Minnesota Fastpitch Softball Coaches Association released their all-state rankings Thursday. Six of the 10 on the Class AAA first team hail from the Big 9 Conference and eight are from Section 1A.

The Faribault Falcons finished 19-3, third in the state’s toughest section (Section 1) and runner up in the Big 9 Conference. They knocked off eventual Class AA champion Rochester Lourdes and AAA champion Northfield.

Making the first team from FHS were senior pitcher McKayla Armbruster and senior catcher Abby Van Ryn. Junior shortstop Abby Lake made honorable mention.

Armbruster was honorable mention in 2017 and first team in 2018. In her senior season, Armbruster finished at 19-3, 164 innings, .55 ERA, a state-high 335 strikeouts and 11 walks. At the plate, she hit .365 with 14 RBIs and a .435 on-base percentage. She also fielded her position well with just one error and a .970 fielding percentage.

Van Ryn was first team in 2018. In her senior season, Van Ryn finished with team highs of three home runs and 19 RBIs. She was second with a .375 average and .483 on-base percentage. Van Ryn was also responsible for calling pitches and acting as field general. She had a .994 fielding percentage and had 347 put outs with just two errors.

Lake led the team hitting .393, collecting a .526 on-base percentage and 16 walks. She was effective in different slots at the top and middle of the lineup.

Lake had a .902 fielding percentage in her first year.

The WEM Buccaneers finished 23-2, won the Gopher Conference and Section 1 and finished sixth in state. They had two make their all-state debuts.

Junior pitcher Trista Hering was named to the Class A second team. She was also on the all-section team. Her stats finished at 20-2, 140⅔ innings, .65 ERA, 201 strikeouts and 24 walks. She also hit .380 with 17 RBIs.

Junior center fielder Delaney Donahue was honorable mention. She was also on the all-section team. Donahue was second on the Bucs with a .430 average, seven doubles and a team high 24 RBIs. On defense, she had a .913 fielding percentage with three assists and just two errors.

All all-state teams are available at


First base — Holly Weinberger, Waconia

Third base — Kenzie Grunst, Mankato West

Catcher — Abby Van Ryn, Faribault

Catcher — Bri Stoltzman, Mankato West

Center field — Joey Batt, New Ulm

Pitcher — McKayla Armbruster, Faribault

Pitcher — Ashlyn Donner, New Ulm

Pitcher — Brynn Hostettler, Northfield

Shortstop — Lauryn Hamernik, Winona

Shortstop — Alexandra Clark, Hill-Murray

Second team

Second base — Staci Meyer, Sauk Rapids-Rice

Catcher — Hailey Ehlers, Red Wing

Catcher — Jenna Hoops, Visitation

Catcher — Kaitlyn Istvanovich, Chisago Lakes

Pitcher — Annika Anderson, Winona

Pitcher — Corrie Weise, Becker

Right field — Haley Stockman, Mankato East

Right field — Madi Mueller, Mankato West

Shortstop — Hannah Mihalik, Hermantown

Shortstop — Sydney Decubellis, Orono

Honorable mention

Third base — Sophie Smith, North Branch

Catcher — Josie Donaldson, St. Anthony

Catcher — Lindsey Rajala, Grand Rapids

Center field — Anikka Takkunen, Bemidji

Center field — Claire Bentfield, Minneapolis South

Pitcher — Trinity Junker, Chisago Lakes

Shortstop — Sarah Houlihan, Benilde-St. Margaret’s

Shortstop — Evette Morgan, Bemidji

Shortstop — Jillian Noel, Northfield

Shortstop — Jalissa Stoltzman, Mankato West

Shortstop — Gabby Herlofsky, St. Anthony

Shortstop — Abby Lake, Faribault


First team

Second base — Alivia Mortenson, Norman County East/Ulen-Hitterdal

Second base — Karli Kawleski, New York Mills

Catcher — Megan Erickson, Randolph

Catcher — Haley Murray, Blackduck

Center field — Makenna Burlisle, Badger/Greenbush-Middle River

Left field — Mallory Rudningen, Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg

Pitcher — Sierra Van Dyke, Edgerton/Southwest Minnesota Christian

Pitcher — Ryah Opsahl, Norman County East/Ulen-Hitterdal

Pitcher — Tiffany Thompson, New York Mills

Pitcher — Josie Pautzke, New Ulm Cathedral

Pitcher — Haley Wollschlager, Lac qui Parle Valley

Shortstop — Abby Mickle, Carlton

Shortstop — Jazzy Prins, Edgerton/Southwest Minnesota Christian

Shortstop — Jaiden Conroy, Ortonville

Second team

Second base — Olivia Passe, Wabasha-Kellogg

Third base — Gabby Buckridge, Edgerton/Southwest Minnesota Christian

Third base — Haley Simonson, Red Rock Central/Westbrook-Walnut Grove

Third base — Cassie Henrichs, Sleepy Eye St. Mary’s

Third base — Jenna Frank, Wabasso

Catcher — Megan Rothmeier, Wabasso

Catcher — Jessie Ketola, Silver Bay

Center field — Annika Frost, New York Mills

Center field — McKenna Strong, Sleepy Eye

Left field — Riley Gilge, Kelliher/Northome

Pitcher — Morgyn Otte, Randolph

Pitcher — Trista Hering, Waterville-Elysian-Morristown

Shortstop — Katie Krieger, Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg

Shortstop — Kenna Salo, New York Mills

Honorable mention

First base — Kia Heide, Nevis

First base — Nicole Hall, Nicollet

Catcher — Brianna Nelson, Nevis

Catcher — Bailey Schaefer, Brandon-Evansville

Catcher — Makena Spaeth, Mahnomen-Waubun

Catcher — Shelby Breiland, Red Lake Falls

Center field — Laney Brown, Murray County Central

Center field — Madison Starry, Frazee

Center field — Lauryn Franta, New Ulm Cathedral

Center field — Delaney Donahue, Waterville-Elysian-Morristown

Pitcher — Molly Carnell, Mountain Lake-Comfrey

Pitcher — Leah Weiss, Sleepy Eye St. Mary’s

Right field — Madaline Gustafson, Kimball

Shortstop — Cassandra Tensen, Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa

Shortstop — Mackenna Otte, Randolph

Shortstop — Rylie Tollefson, Mountain Lake-Comfrey

Reach Sports Editor Mike Randleman at 507-333-3119 or on Twitter @fdnmike.

© Copyright 2019 APG Media of Southern Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.

Sports reporter for the Faribault Daily News. Graduated from Iowa State University in 2016. Originally from Eden Prairie, Minnesota.

Load comments