Equal Pay Act Anniversary - Faribault MN: Guest Columns

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Equal Pay Act Anniversary

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, June 7, 2013 11:26 am | Updated: 4:09 pm, Sat Jun 8, 2013.

At our recent state convention, several members of the American Association of University Women of Minnesota had a discussion about Lilly Ledbetter’s book, "Grace and Grit: My Fight for Equal Pay and Fairness at Goodyear and Beyond." Ledbetter worked for Goodyear Tire and Rubber Company in Gadsen, Ala. She had grown up in Possum Trot, Ala., and had worked in the cotton fields as soon as she was old enough. She knew that a good day’s work resulted in a good day’s pay and knew that boys and girls in the fields received the same pay. She assumed that was how the job market worked.

When she was ready to enter the job market, she landed a dream job with Goodyear. After several years of hard work, she was the first woman to be promoted to supervisor at her workplace. She was proud that her advanced training and hard work had resulted in her promotion to be one of four supervisors. One day, however, she discovered that all three of the male supervisors, her peers, received significantly more pay than she. Her pay was $3,727 per month. The lowest paid male supervisor received $4,286 per month.

Subscription Required

An online service is needed to view this article in its entirety. You need an online service to view this article in its entirety.

Have an online subscription?

Login Now

Need an online subscription?

Subscribe

Login

You must login to view the full content on this page.

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Thank you for reading 15 free articles on our site. You can come back at the end of your 30-day period for another 15 free articles, or you can purchase a subscription and continue to enjoy valuable local news and information. If you need help, please contact our office at 507-333-3111. You need an online service to view this article in its entirety.

Have an online subscription?

Login Now

Need an online subscription?

Subscribe

Login

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content






Faribault Daily News Forms

Contact Us

MAIN NUMBER

507-333-3100

Publisher and Editor

Sam Gett, Publisher and Editor, 507-333-3105  sgett@faribault.com

ADVERTISING

Ross Barrett, advertising manager, 507-333-3109 rbarrett@faribault.com

Lisa Dwyer, advertising consultant, 507-333-3116 ldwyer@faribault.com

Tim Goetz, inside sales specialist, 507-333-3115 tgoetz@faribault.com

Mark Nelson, advertising consultant, 507-333-3122 mnelson@faribault.com

Catherine Olson, advertising consultant, 507-333-3117  colson@faribault.com

CIRCULATION

Kris Johnson, circulation manager, 507-333-3125 kjohnson@faribault.com

Colleen Rolling, Distribution Assistant, 507-333-3306 crolling@faribault.com

Susan Palmer, district manager, 507-333-3108 spalmer@faribault.com

Jamie Rischmiller, customer service, 507-333-3111 jrischmiller@faribault.com

NEWSROOM

Jaci Smith, managing editor, 507-333-3134 jsmith@faribault.com

Chris Houck, editorial assistant, 507-333-3130 chouck@faribault.com

Molly, Larsen, reporter, 507-333-3132 mlarsen@faribault.com

Camey Thibodeau, reporter, 507-333-3128 cthibodeau@faribault.com

Cristeta Boarini, reporter, 507-333-3135 cboarini@faribault.com

Joshua Berhow, sports editor, 507-333-3129 jberhow@faribault.com

Miles Trump, sports reporter, 507-333-3119 mtrump@faribault.com

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks