Bridgewater Township receives $50,000 to study, improve Spring Creek - Faribault MN: Local

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Bridgewater Township receives $50,000 to study, improve Spring Creek

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Thursday, January 23, 2014 5:26 pm | Updated: 11:07 pm, Tue Feb 4, 2014.

Bridgewater Township, in partnership with the city of Northfield and Carleton College, recently received a $50,000 grant from the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources to address the notorious flooding issues of Spring Creek.

“The money will be used in part to study the watershed area, and the rest will be used to implement the study’s findings,” said Glen Castore, chair of Bridgewater’s Board of Supervisors and co-author of the grant proposal. The study will look at flooding, erosion, water quality and more.

Subscription Required

An online service is needed to view this article in its entirety. You need an online service to view this article in its entirety.

Have an online subscription?

Login Now

Login

You must login to view the full content on this page.

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Thank you for reading 15 free articles on our site. You can come back at the end of your 30-day period for another 15 free articles, or you can purchase a subscription and continue to enjoy valuable local news and information. If you need help, please contact our office at 507-333-3111. You need an online service to view this article in its entirety.

Have an online subscription?

Login Now

Login

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

2 comments:

  • Ofsilence posted at 10:21 am on Mon, Jan 27, 2014.

    Ofsilence Posts: 560

    Steakholder - this grant largely comes from Bridgewater Township, city of Northfield, Dundas, and some other surrounding townships coming to terms with all the recent flooding that's been happening and how to address the concerns. The townships dont have the money to fund expensive "studies" and engineering projects and up until recently - the city of Northfield refused to work with their surrounding community partners (dundas and the townships) on a way to try and fix all the flooding issues. Because of that July 2013 extreme rain event - it seems as if Northfield has taken a turn for the better. I know that Bridgewater Township was heavily involved with the grant and maybe Zweifel piggybacked on at the tail end - that part I dont know about.

    There's one major flooding problem in the Fox Avenue area that involves the City of Northfield, Dundas, and Bridgewater Township. Essentially, there's a group of houses that are located in Bridgewater Township that are getting dumped on with godloads of stormwater runoff from a variety of areas that are located in Northfield (a school that does not have proper drainage), Dundas (a stormwater overflow pond that was not developed correctly), some drainage ditches that were poorly designed by Rice County, and some abandoned corn fields with steep downflows.

    If it means anything - this grant is going to be able to help a lot of regular people trying to save their houses and property from what I think is negligence on the building codes and designs of some Dundas and Northfield properties.

    Plus, a lot of the "flood issues" with Spring Creek revolve around the fact that so many agricultural fields drain into it at a high velocity during heavy water events which produces erosion and lots of sediment displacement which ends up in the creek and furthers pollutes it. So many fields right now are being used to produce corn because of how the government has meddled in this market to produce highly profitable bumper crops.

    I hope this provides some background for you. I dont know much about Zwiefel's involvement in this but I do know that this study is being used to help real people who are essentially getting their houses and properties destroyed by irresponsible agricultural practices and by local inactive governments dragging their feet (including Northfield) and not doing what's right to fix this very fixable problem.

    The storm in July 2013 really opened up some eyes in Northfield because a lot of residents in Northfield received property damage that could have been avoided if Northfield would have realized they were part of the problem.

     
  • steakholder posted at 10:47 am on Sat, Jan 25, 2014.

    steakholder Posts: 1370

    Just a crazy thought. I hadn't noticed initially that Erica Zweifel wrote this grant. I see she wrote it in cooperation with Glen Castore, essentially the head executive of Bridgewater Township.

    On the one hand, I think it's good for us to cooperate with other entitities.

    Just wondering....was this ever brought up or discussed at a city council meeting?

    Is there any issue with one of our elected and paid representatives going off and doing work for another government entity? What happens if it turns out the city of Northfield and Bridgewater township have some conflict of interest, over this study, or some other issue, related or not?

    Where do Ms Zweifel's loyalties lie? With the city of Northfield, or with Bridgewater Township?

    Just wondering

     

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content






Faribault Daily News Forms

Contact Us

MAIN NUMBER

507-333-3100

Publisher and Editor

Sam Gett, Publisher and Editor, 507-333-3105  sgett@faribault.com

ADVERTISING

Ross Barrett, advertising manager, 507-333-3109 rbarrett@faribault.com

Lisa Dwyer, advertising consultant, 507-333-3116 ldwyer@faribault.com

Tim Goetz, inside sales specialist, 507-333-3115 tgoetz@faribault.com

Mark Nelson, advertising consultant, 507-333-3122 mnelson@faribault.com

Catherine Olson, advertising consultant, 507-333-3117  colson@faribault.com

CIRCULATION

Kris Johnson, circulation manager, 507-333-3125 kjohnson@faribault.com

Colleen Rolling, Distribution Assistant, 507-333-3306 crolling@faribault.com

Susan Palmer, district manager, 507-333-3108 spalmer@faribault.com

Jamie Rischmiller, customer service, 507-333-3111 jrischmiller@faribault.com

NEWSROOM

Jaci Smith, managing editor, 507-333-3134 jsmith@faribault.com

Chris Houck, editorial assistant, 507-333-3130 chouck@faribault.com

Molly, Larsen, reporter, 507-333-3132 mlarsen@faribault.com

Camey Thibodeau, reporter, 507-333-3128 cthibodeau@faribault.com

Cristeta Boarini, reporter, 507-333-3135 cboarini@faribault.com

Joshua Berhow, sports editor, 507-333-3129 jberhow@faribault.com

Miles Trump, sports reporter, 507-333-3119 mtrump@faribault.com

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Pro Picks