Court rules with prosecutor in Moreland case, defense requests jury trial - Faribault MN: Local

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Court rules with prosecutor in Moreland case, defense requests jury trial

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Moreland

Related Documents

Posted: Wednesday, June 4, 2014 11:34 am | Updated: 10:57 pm, Fri Jun 6, 2014.

On May 23, 2014, Rice County District Court Judge Thomas Neuville issued an order denying two key motions — one for dismissal and one to suppress evidence — and denying a request for a Frye-Mack hearing in the 2012 case of a man accused of criminal negligence in the death of a Webster Township pedestrian.

Michael Moreland, 56, also of Webster Township, was indicted by a grand jury in January 2013 on criminal vehicular homicide/gross negligence charges in the death of Kimberly Motzko, a neighbor who was out walking her dogs the morning of July 26, 2012, on a rural Northfield road. Moreland told investigators on the scene that the sun was in his eyes and that he didn’t see Motzko until it was too late.

Subscription Required

An online service is needed to view this article in its entirety. You need an online service to view this article in its entirety.

Have an online subscription?

Login Now

Login

You must login to view the full content on this page.

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Thank you for reading 15 free articles on our site. You can come back at the end of your 30-day period for another 15 free articles, or you can purchase a subscription and continue to enjoy valuable local news and information. If you need help, please contact our office at 507-333-3111. You need an online service to view this article in its entirety.

Have an online subscription?

Login Now

Login

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

10 comments:

  • Thehuntison posted at 8:58 pm on Tue, Jun 10, 2014.

    Thehuntison Posts: 406

    Oh c'mon Steak. Quit pouting and learn how to have a good argument and be a good sport at the same time.

    I still consider you my best new little buddy.

    [beam]

     
  • steakholder posted at 2:03 pm on Thu, Jun 5, 2014.

    steakholder Posts: 1365

    It's just too funny....

    When a judge rules the way you think he/she should, it's masterful..

    When they disagree with you, they're called idiots and cowards

    Sour grapes.

     
  • DavidGross posted at 11:24 am on Thu, Jun 5, 2014.

    DavidGross Posts: 304

    We'll have to see what the judge's opinion reads like in view of State v. Florence, and the factors he considered, the presumptions and burdens he allocated, and the weight he assigned to each. It's one of those "judgment" calls that judge's are hired to make in their sound discretion; and whether he arguably "abused" his discretion, the standard of review and, frankly, deference and respect to the court.
    How/why the matter was removed from Judge Larry Collins in Waseca is an interesting question, to me. Judge Collins did a masterful job in seeing the issues in the case as it came to him from the Grand Jury, IMHO. He was also entitled to that same respect for his judgment call in that matter. Until I see Judge Neuville's opinion, I can't tell what factors/considerations that Judge Collins raised were addressed, or not addressed.
    Notice the difference between the way that the County Attorney handled the situation with Judge Collins (his abortive appeal which was dismissed) and the way that Moreland's attorneys handled both the Judge Collins situation and this one.

     
  • MrsFields posted at 10:27 am on Thu, Jun 5, 2014.

    MrsFields Posts: 236

    I've always had respect for Judge Neuville, but I'd have to agree. This was a cowardly decision on his part.

     
  • Plowgirl posted at 8:23 am on Thu, Jun 5, 2014.

    Plowgirl Posts: 38

    Get rid of the Judge

     
  • MrsFields posted at 8:17 am on Thu, Jun 5, 2014.

    MrsFields Posts: 236

    One really has to wonder...

     
  • MrsFields posted at 8:15 am on Thu, Jun 5, 2014.

    MrsFields Posts: 236

    Another very costly trial for the citizens of Rice County. Why? The case has been thrown out twice, once by the Minnesota Court of Appeals! Any other county, I guarantee it would have been settled a long time ago. 2 years now. The evidence has all been brought out and hashed over. Moreland wasn't speeding. A text received on his phone had not been opened or read. The, ahem, "victim," was illegally walking on the wrong side of the road into a bright morning sun, likely wearing headphones. Evidence suggests she was off into the long grass with her dogs before she stepped suddenly into the roadway. We're going to the time and great expense of a trial for what?? A Careless Driving misdemeanor charge?? Moreland doesn't deserve this. Rice County doesn't deserve this. "Justice," in Rice County, seems to be whatever the whim of the county attorney is.

     
  • Thehuntison posted at 7:22 am on Thu, Jun 5, 2014.

    Thehuntison Posts: 406

    What goes on in your head 3 out of 10?

     
  • 7outof10 posted at 10:56 pm on Wed, Jun 4, 2014.

    7outof10 Posts: 275

    How about instead of going any further Moreland needs to wear a sandwich board sign for a week and every day on the anniversary of the death he caused that says " I killed a person".

     
  • Thehuntison posted at 10:04 pm on Wed, Jun 4, 2014.

    Thehuntison Posts: 406

    STEAK!!!!

    Well, there you go. The process is working the way it is supposed to, not the way we would like it to. Now let's watch and see what the jury thinks.

    T-Hunt

     

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content






Faribault Daily News Forms

Contact Us

MAIN NUMBER

507-333-3100

Publisher and Editor

Sam Gett, Publisher and Editor, 507-333-3105  sgett@faribault.com

ADVERTISING

Ross Barrett, advertising manager, 507-333-3109 rbarrett@faribault.com

Lisa Dwyer, advertising consultant, 507-333-3116 ldwyer@faribault.com

Tim Goetz, inside sales specialist, 507-333-3115 tgoetz@faribault.com

Mark Nelson, advertising consultant, 507-333-3122 mnelson@faribault.com

Catherine Olson, advertising consultant, 507-333-3117  colson@faribault.com

CIRCULATION

Kris Johnson, circulation manager, 507-333-3125 kjohnson@faribault.com

Colleen Rolling, Distribution Assistant, 507-333-3306 crolling@faribault.com

Susan Palmer, district manager, 507-333-3108 spalmer@faribault.com

Jamie Rischmiller, customer service, 507-333-3111 jrischmiller@faribault.com

NEWSROOM

Jaci Smith, managing editor, 507-333-3134 jsmith@faribault.com

Chris Houck, editorial assistant, 507-333-3130 chouck@faribault.com

Molly, Larsen, reporter, 507-333-3132 mlarsen@faribault.com

Camey Thibodeau, reporter, 507-333-3128 cthibodeau@faribault.com

Cristeta Boarini, reporter, 507-333-3135 cboarini@faribault.com

Joshua Berhow, sports editor, 507-333-3129 jberhow@faribault.com

Miles Trump, sports reporter, 507-333-3119 mtrump@faribault.com

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks