Faribault stabbing suspect in custody -- UPDATE - Faribault MN: News

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Faribault stabbing suspect in custody -- UPDATE

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Sunday, April 21, 2013 2:01 pm | Updated: 1:20 pm, Thu Apr 25, 2013.

UPDATED AT 4 P.M.

Less than 24 hours after a Faribault woman was found in a car with multiple stab wounds, the man suspected of stabbing her was found in rural Steele County.

Authorities say Shane Alan Wilson, 27, was taken into custody around 1 p.m. Sunday.

A press conference regarding Wilson's capture was held at the Steele County Law Enforcement Center on Sunday afternoon. Authorities say they took the suspect into custody after the Steele County Sheriff's Office was tipped off by neighbor who saw Wilson in a yard. He was taken into custody without incident.

Wilson was found near the site of a Saturday night car fire involving a vehicle he is believed to have stolen. Authorities conducted a roughly-three hour search for Wilson following the fire, but were unable to find him and suspended the search for the night.

Faribault Police Chief Andy Bohlen said he believed the victim, who was found unresponsive in a car with two young children on Saturday afternoon, underwent surgery sometime during the night and is doing well.

Check back for more updates.

UPDATED AT 1:30 P.M.

Law enforcement officials say that they have found Shane Alan Wilson and he is in custody. Wilson is a suspect in a stabbing that took place in Faribault on Saturday afternoon.

UPDATED AT 12:50 P.M.

Faribault police are reportedly on their way to Owatonna to conduct a search of an area in Steele County using bloodhounds. Authorities from Steele County and a Sheriff's Posse are assisting in the search. They are working to locate Shane Alan Wilson, 27, who is a suspect in a stabbing that took place in Faribault on Saturday afternoon.

Wilson is described as 5'10" and 160 pounds with blue eyes, short brown hair and a physical disability that causes him to use a cane or walker. Police say that people should refrain from approaching Wilson and he should be considered armed and dangerous.

Police request that anyone with information about Wilson's whereabouts should call 911.

--------------------------

UPDATED AT 12:40 A.M.

A man wanted in connection to a life-threatening stabbing in Faribault was still on the run late Saturday night after a vehicle he is believed to have stolen was found fully engulfed in flames in rural Steele County.

Faribault Police Chief Andy Bohlen said authorities suspended “an exhaustive search” for Shane Alan Wilson, 27, that included the use of thermal imaging, helicopters, police canine teams and the assistance of multiple local law enforcement agencies. As of 9:30 p.m. Saturday, they had not found him and had suspended the search.

“We’re confident he’s not in the immediate area,” Bohlen said following the three-hour search.

The alleged stabbing occurred around 4:30 p.m. Saturday. According to a Faribault Police Department press release, authorities found the victim, a 26-year-old female, in a stalled vehicle near Faribault's law enforcement center. She reportedly had multiple stab wounds, was initially unresponsive and was transported to District One Hospital and later airlifted to another area hospital. The condition of the victim, whose name is being withheld, is unknown.

Two children also found in the vehicle appeared uninjured and were taken into police custody.

Authorities say the victim and a witness indicated the victim was stabbed in the 300 block of 3rd Street NW by her boyfriend, identified as Wilson. Wilson reportedly fled the Faribault area in his vehicle. But at about 6 p.m., a vehicle believed to have been stolen by Wilson near Owatonna was found on the border of Steele and Freeborn counties fully engulfed in flames, Bohlen said. That vehicle is a total loss and the cause of the fire is unknown.

Police say they suspect that Wilson fled on foot or was given a ride by a citizen passing through the area. He is described as 5'10" and 160 pounds with blue eyes, short brown hair and a physical disability that causes him to use a cane or walker. Police say that people should refrain from approaching Wilson and he should be considered armed and dangerous.

Police request that anyone with information about Wilson's whereabouts should call 911.

“Our thoughts and prayers are with the female victim and her family," Bohlen said Saturday night.

Bohlen also noted his department is grateful for the assistance from numerous neighboring agencies. The FPD was aided in its search by the Owatonna Police Department, Minnesota State Patrol, Minnesota DNR, and deputies from Rice, Steele and Waseca counties.

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

8 comments:

  • KMJ posted at 6:56 am on Tue, Apr 23, 2013.

    KMJ Posts: 4

    Help the victim and her family!!! They need supporters!
    https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Lalonnie-Moorman-Benefit/406604852780727

     
  • WMantooth posted at 8:27 am on Mon, Apr 22, 2013.

    WMantooth Posts: 82

    Maybe we can all say a quick prayer for the poor little children who were in the car when the stabbling occurred and had to witness such an atrocious thing.

     
  • Special Ed posted at 8:33 pm on Sun, Apr 21, 2013.

    Special Ed Posts: 917

    GOOD JOB TO ALL INVOLVED!

     
  • Rebecca Rodenborg posted at 8:22 am on Sun, Apr 21, 2013.

    Rebecca Rodenborg Posts: 17 Staff

    All,

    The original article did state that the assault occurred right next to Faribault's law enforcement center, but that was our mistake. After talking with Chief Bohlen further we learned that the stabbing victim had driven herself to the police station after the assault occurred, so we updated the story to reflect more accurate information. I apologize for the confusion.

     
  • 7outof10 posted at 8:13 am on Sun, Apr 21, 2013.

    7outof10 Posts: 275

    Family man- must be easy to make uneducated comments with out first reading the whole story. Even the original article said it was next to the FPD.

     
  • 2young2die posted at 6:39 am on Sun, Apr 21, 2013.

    2young2die Posts: 398

    "The alleged stabbing occurred around 4:30 p.m. Saturday. According to a Faribault Police Department press release, authorities found the victim, a 26-year-old female, in a stalled vehicle near Faribault's law enforcement center."

    "Authorities say the victim and a witness indicated the victim was stabbed in the 300 block of 3rd Street NW by her boyfriend, identified as Wilson."

    Rice Co. Gov't Services is @ 320 NW 3rd Street / Sheriff is @ 118 NW 3rd St.

    Doh!

     
  • familyman posted at 1:33 am on Sun, Apr 21, 2013.

    familyman Posts: 6

    Sure is easy to judge the police while you're sitting at home behind your computer not knowing anything other than what you assumed from a short initial story. I must have missed the part where it says he was still there? Or that it even happened there?

     
  • 7outof10 posted at 10:33 pm on Sat, Apr 20, 2013.

    7outof10 Posts: 275

    Wow, this happened next to the PD and they didn't even chase the perp?

     

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content






Faribault Daily News Forms

Contact Us

MAIN NUMBER

507-333-3100

Publisher and Editor

Sam Gett, Publisher and Editor, 507-333-3105  sgett@faribault.com

ADVERTISING

Ross Barrett, advertising manager, 507-333-3109 rbarrett@faribault.com

Lisa Dwyer, advertising consultant, 507-333-3116 ldwyer@faribault.com

Tim Goetz, inside sales specialist, 507-333-3115 tgoetz@faribault.com

Mark Nelson, advertising consultant, 507-333-3122 mnelson@faribault.com

Catherine Olson, advertising consultant, 507-333-3117  colson@faribault.com

CIRCULATION

Kris Johnson, circulation manager, 507-333-3125 kjohnson@faribault.com

Colleen Rolling, Distribution Assistant, 507-333-3306 crolling@faribault.com

Susan Palmer, district manager, 507-333-3108 spalmer@faribault.com

Jamie Rischmiller, customer service, 507-333-3111 jrischmiller@faribault.com

NEWSROOM

Jaci Smith, managing editor, 507-333-3134 jsmith@faribault.com

Chris Houck, editorial assistant, 507-333-3130 chouck@faribault.com

Molly, Larsen, reporter, 507-333-3132 mlarsen@faribault.com

Camey Thibodeau, reporter, 507-333-3128 cthibodeau@faribault.com

Cristeta Boarini, reporter, 507-333-3135 cboarini@faribault.com

Joshua Berhow, sports editor, 507-333-3129 jberhow@faribault.com

Miles Trump, sports reporter, 507-333-3119 mtrump@faribault.com

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Pro Picks