Bridgewater Township and City of Dundas starting to show cooperation - Faribault MN: Faribault Daily News

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Bridgewater Township and City of Dundas starting to show cooperation

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Doran-Norton

Posted: Tuesday, July 22, 2014 8:52 pm | Updated: 12:02 am, Wed Jul 23, 2014.

The joint meeting held between Bridgewater Township and the City of Dundas showed signs of improvement as the two parties made efforts to settle disagreements.

To begin the meeting, Bridgewater supervisor Gary Ebling read an email that was sent to the Bridgewater supervisors. According to the letter, the City of Dundas approved a payment of $43,475.04 for the 2013 tax rebate at their July 14 council meeting. The payment was approved following a closed session where the council discussed a letter they received from the township’s attorney.

The City of Dundas withheld $249.01 from their payment to the township because of the cost of staff time to perform an audit on an incorrect invoice.

In February, Dundas received an invoice from Bridgewater of $48,840.82, which according to Dundas City Administrator John McCarthy was an incorrect amount. After Bridgewater was made aware of the error, they re-sent to Dundas a correct invoice.

Following the discussion of the tax rebate payment, Kathleen Doran-Norton, chair of the Bridgewater Township supervisors, introduced the issues the township has which highlighted the maintenance of roads.

“We feel we have done normal road maintenance to township roads,” she said.

Per the annexation agreement, the township maintains the roads adjacent or within the annexation agreement and Dundas uses the difference in property tax to help with the cost. However, Grant Modory, a Dundas City Council member, said there is a big issue with the definition of “normal maintenance.”

Both parties acknowledged that not everything can be settled in a single meeting, and so to make the meeting as beneficial as possible they decided to begin highlighting specific disagreements that could be further discussed in future joint meetings.

Glenn Switzer, mayor of Dundas, said they need to start growing together in a smart way.

“We need to plan for the future so we don’t waste our resources and tax dollars,” he said.

Doran-Norton agreed, saying the future Dundas Planning Commission meetings could include township representatives to continue discussing issues related to the annexation agreement.

“If we can do this at the next joint planning commission meeting, that is terrific,” she said.

According to Doran-Norton, there are three relatively broad issues that will need to be discussed:

— Dundas’ declaration of 115th Street as a minimum maintenance road;

— questions in regards to the joint planning commission;

— and road policy, which includes 115th Street, Decker Avenue and 100th Street.

The next planning commission meeting for the City of Dundas is scheduled for Aug. 21.

© 2015 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content






Faribault Daily News Forms

Contact Us

MAIN NUMBER

MAIN NUMBER

507-333-3100

Publisher and Editor

Sam Gett, Publisher and Editor, 507-333-3105  sgett@faribault.com

ADVERTISING

Mark Nelson, advertising manager, 507-333-3109  mnelson@faribault.com

Lisa Dwyer, advertising consultant, 507-333-3116 ldwyer@faribault.com

Stacy Murphy, inside sales specialist, 507-333-3115 smurphy@faribault.com

Catherine Olson, advertising consultant, 507-333-3117  colson@faribault.com

Elizabeth Sammons, advertising coordinator, 507-333-3120  esammons@faribault.com

CIRCULATION

Kris Johnson, circulation manager, 507-333-3125 kjohnson@faribault.com

Susan Palmer, district manager, 507-333-3108 spalmer@faribault.com

Jamie Rischmiller, customer service, 507-333-3111 jrischmiller@faribault.com

NEWSROOM

Jaci Smith, managing editor, 507-333-3134 jsmith@faribault.com

Brittney, editorial assistant, 507-333-3130 bneset@faribault.com

Camey Thibodeau, reporter, 507-333-3128 cthibodeau@faribault.com

Brad Phenow, reporter, 507-333-3135 bphenow@faribault.com

Eric Dolski, page designer/copy editor, 507-333-3131, edolski@faribault.com

Joshua Berhow, sports editor, 507-333-3129 jberhow@faribault.com

Miles Trump, sports reporter, 507-333-3119 mtrump@faribault.com

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…