Briefs: 3/8/08 - Faribault MN: Archives

  • Welcome!
    Logout|My Dashboard

Briefs: 3/8/08

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Saturday, March 8, 2008 12:00 am

Stadler accepted

Sarah Stadler, daughter of Bill and Fran Stadler of Faribault, has been accepted for enrollment at Carleton College for the fall of 2008.

Lenox earns degree

Thomas Lenox of Faribault has earned a Bachelor of Science Degree from the University of Wisconsin-Superior. Degrees were conferred in December 2007 following the end of the fall semester.

Students completing their degrees after first semester were honored at the university's Winter Commencement Ceremony.

MSU Mankato honors

The Academic High Honor and Honor's List (dean's list) for the past fall semester at Minnesota State University, Mankato, have been announced by Dr. Scott R. Olson, provost and vice president of academic affairs.

Among the more than 14,000 students, a total of 1,153 students qualified for the High Honor List by achieving a 4.0 straight "A" average, while 2,134 students earned a 3.5 to 3.99 average to qualify for the Honor List. To qualify for academic honors, undergraduate students must be enrolled for at least 12 credit hours for a grade.

Local students are listed below with their class year and honor:

Dundas: Wang Hu, junior, Honor.

Faribault: Jacob Anderson, junior, Honor; Jilliann Bauer, sophomore, Honor; Zachary Bauernfeind, junior, Honor; Bethany Boelter, senior, High Honor; Blair Boran, junior, High Honor; Ally Burkhartzmeyer, sophomore, Honor; Jessica Cochran, senior, Honor; Garrett Dupont, senior, Honor; Jonathan Elwood, senior, High Honor; Anna Gillen, sophomore, Honor; Krista Gillen, senior, Honor; Eric Hanson, senior, High Honor; Sara Hart, senior, Honor; Michael Hein, senior, Honor; Elizabeth Hofmaster, senior, Honor; Martha Hougan, senior, High Honor; Dante Hummel, senior, Honor; Kari Kalow, junior, High Honor; Patrick Koch, junior, Honor; Kyle Krenske, junior, High Honor; Sheryl Larsen, sophomore, High Honor; Andrew Lohrmann, sophomore, Honor; Michael MacKay, sophomore, High Honor; Cassandra Magaldino, senior, Honor; Tina McCusker, senior, Honor; Quinn McNelis, sophomore, Honor; Mary Milbert, sophomore, High Honor; Phillip Olson, senior, Honor; Nathan Paukert, junior, Honor; Samantha Simon, junior, Honor; Lori Skarupa, sophomore, Honor; Elizabeth Sprengeler, sophomore, Honor; Sarah Stocker, sophomore, Honor; Eric Stroup, senior, High Honor; Dale Suesse, junior, Honor; Krista Swanson, senior, High Honor; Jill Underdahl, senior, Honor; Bruce Voelker, sophomore, Honor; and Amber Warnemunde, senior, High Honor.

Kilkenny: Samantha Barnett, sophomore, Honor; Stefanie Gibbs, senior, Honor; and Samuel Haws, senior, Honor.

Medford: Jennifer Brady, senior, Honor; Mitchell Elzen, junior, Honor; and Cassandra Neumann, senior, High Honor.

Montgomery: Eric Braun, senior, Honor; Alyssa Edel, sophomore, Honor; Tiffany Frase, SP, High Honor; Denise Gilbertson, PD, Honor; Barbara Goettl, senior, Honor; Clarissa Goettl, SP, High Honor; Emily Knish, junior, Honor; Cassandra Loftus, freshman, Honor; Tabitha McDonald, sophomore, High Honor; Katlyn McKenzie, senior, Honor; Christian Peters, sophomore, Honor; Susannah Rosival, sophomore, Honor; Kassandra Schleis, senior, Honor; Chelsea Skluzacek, junior, Honor; and Nichole Stasney, junior, High Honor.

Morristown: Natasha Meister, junior, High Honor; Annette Quast, senior, Honor; Amanda Schulz, senior, High Honor; and Hannie Spitzack, senior, Honor.

Nerstrand: Charissa Bruder, freshman, High Honor; Courtney Drentlaw, sophomore, Honor; Kelsey Drentlaw, sophomore, High Honor; Jeremy Hanson, senior, Honor; and Whitney Schmidt, senior, High Honor.

Warsaw: Karissa Murphy, junior, High Honor.

Students on dean's list

The fall semester dean's list at Gustavus Adolphus College, St. Peter, has been released. The list comprises students who have earned a 3.7 grade-point average (based on a scale in which 4.0 = A) or higher for the semester ending in December 2007.

Local students include:

Dundas: Caroline Rew.

Faribault: Meggan Andrle, Lindsay Boldt, Laura Groskreutz and Jason Pitt.

Kilkenny: Katie Thelemann.

Nerstrand: Logan Smestad.

Reynolds named to dean's list

Ian Reynolds was named to the dean's list for the fall semester at the University of Minnesota. Reynolds maintained a 4.0 grade-point average. He is majoring in physiology and plans on attending medical school after completing his undergraduate degree.

Reynolds is a 2005 graduate of Faribault High School and is the son of Richard Reynolds of Mesa, Ariz., and Susan Reynolds of Faribault.

Culhane accepted

Katrina Culhane of Faribault has been accepted for admission into Minnesota State University, Mankato, for fall 2008. She plans to major in social work.

She is the daughter of Chuck and Marsha Culhane of Faribault. Her activities at Faribault High School include varsity volleyball manager, JO volleyball coach, Strive, Link Crew and Psych Club.

Open house and registration

A Kindergarten/Preschool Open House and Registration will be held 6:30-8 p.m. on Thursday, March 13, at the Peace Lutheran Campus, 213 Sixth Ave. S.W., Faribault.

The school offers a five-day full-day Christ-centered kindergarten program, small class sizes, a variety of preschool class schedules available, and a nurturing and caring environment. Attendees will meet the teachers and get acquainted with the Peace Campus building of Faribault Lutheran School.

BA Annual Fund Drive

The 2007-2008 Annual Fund Drive at Bethlehem Academy in Faribault has attracted over $130,000 in charitable donations according to Jack Kolars, advancement director. The goal of the Annual Fund is to raise over $160,000 to assist students with financial aid and tuition assistance during the current school year.

© 2015 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll