Michael Mandsager, associate pastor, First English Lutheran Church - Faribault MN: Archives

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Michael Mandsager, associate pastor, First English Lutheran Church

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, December 5, 2008 12:00 am

Name: Michael Mandsager

Job title: Associate pastor

Church: First English Lutheran Church

Family, including pets: Daughter, Julia; son, Erik; two cats, Bart and Ringo

High school: Decorah High School

College/higher education: Bachelor of Arts from St. Olaf; Master of Divinity, Lutheran Seminary, St. Paul

Time as a pastor: 16 years

$element(adman,groupads,In Story Ads)$</ td>

Time in your current position: 1 1/2 years

When and how did you know you would be a minister? It was a gradual process, but by the time I finished seminary, I had a pretty good idea what I would do. It's a good life.

What are the biggest challenges you face as a pastor? Probably keeping up with the demands of parish and family, which are sometimes in tension. It's a matter of prioritizing.

What makes your church special? First English Lutheran Church has a wonderful variety of people from all the generations. It's a place with a sense of history and with a bright future. People speak their minds here, but without rancor. The worship is excellent and the building is beautiful.

What was the best sermon you ever gave about? It's not my place to say, but last Sunday's sermon on Matthew 25 got a good response. It was good to know that Christ's message of concern for the poor resonated with the people of this congregation.

Favorite food: Pizza

Least favorite food: Crab (I got sick on it as a kid.)

Favorite book: "The Lord of the Rings"

Favorite movie: "Monty Python and the Holy Grail"

Hobbies: Reading, music and, recently, running

Bible verse that's most inspiring to you and why: Mark 9:24: "Immediately the boy's father exclaimed, 'I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief.'"

Jesus' acceptance of us and our doubts has been a comfort to me in dark times.

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content






Faribault Daily News Forms

Contact Us

MAIN NUMBER

507-333-3100

Publisher and Editor

Sam Gett, Publisher and Editor, 507-333-3105  sgett@faribault.com

ADVERTISING

Ross Barrett, advertising manager, 507-333-3109 rbarrett@faribault.com

Lisa Dwyer, advertising consultant, 507-333-3116 ldwyer@faribault.com

Tim Goetz, inside sales specialist, 507-333-3115 tgoetz@faribault.com

Mark Nelson, advertising consultant, 507-333-3122 mnelson@faribault.com

Catherine Olson, advertising consultant, 507-333-3117  colson@faribault.com

CIRCULATION

Kris Johnson, circulation manager, 507-333-3125 kjohnson@faribault.com

Colleen Rolling, Distribution Assistant, 507-333-3306 crolling@faribault.com

Susan Palmer, district manager, 507-333-3108 spalmer@faribault.com

Jamie Rischmiller, customer service, 507-333-3111 jrischmiller@faribault.com

NEWSROOM

Jaci Smith, managing editor, 507-333-3134 jsmith@faribault.com

Chris Houck, editorial assistant, 507-333-3130 chouck@faribault.com

Molly, Larsen, reporter, 507-333-3132 mlarsen@faribault.com

Camey Thibodeau, reporter, 507-333-3128 cthibodeau@faribault.com

Cristeta Boarini, reporter, 507-333-3135 cboarini@faribault.com

Joshua Berhow, sports editor, 507-333-3129 jberhow@faribault.com

Miles Trump, sports reporter, 507-333-3119 mtrump@faribault.com

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Pro Picks