Marvin A. Melchert\\1917-2007 - Faribault MN: Archives

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Marvin A. Melchert\\1917-2007

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Monday, April 18, 2011 12:00 am

FARIBAULT - Marvin A. Melchert, age 89, of Morristown, died on Monday, Feb. 5, 2007, at Pleasant Manor Nursing Home, Faribault.

Funeral services will be held at Trinity Lutheran Church, North Morristown on Saturday, Feb. 10, 2007, at 10:30 a.m. with the Rev. Michael Wallace officiating. Interment will be at Concordia Cemetery, North Morristown. Veteran's military rites will be provided by American Legion, Post 149, Morristown.

Visitation will be at the Boldt Funeral Home, Faribault, on Friday, Feb. 9, 2007, from 4 to 7 p.m. and also at the church on Saturday for one hour prior to the service.

Marvin Albert Melchert was born on June 4, 1917, in Morristown Township, Rice County, to Leo C. and Helen (Schwichtenberg) Melchert. He served in the U.S. Army from 1942-1945 in the Asiatic-Pacific Theater. He married Mildred Velzke on April 28, 1948, at Trinity Lutheran Church, North Morristown. Marvin farmed in the Morristown area and he was also employed by Farmer Seed Company of Faribault and Pioneer Seed Company Warehouse. He was a member of American Legion, Post 149, Morristown.

He is survived by his wife, Mildred; four children, Kenneth (and Julia) Melchert of Faribault, Daniel (and Marg) Melchert of Morristown, Dennis Melchert of Morristown and Betty and (Mark) Richter of Kilkenny; nine grandchildren; and eight great-grandchildren.

He was preceded in death by his parents and one brother, Elmer Melchert.

Memorial gifts may be directed to Trinity Lutheran School, North Morristown, Cannon Valley Lutheran High School or the donor's choice.

© 2015 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content






Faribault Daily News Forms

Contact Us

MAIN NUMBER

MAIN NUMBER

507-333-3100

Publisher and Editor

Sam Gett, Publisher and Editor, 507-333-3105  sgett@faribault.com

ADVERTISING

Mark Nelson, advertising manager, 507-333-3109  mnelson@faribault.com

Lisa Dwyer, advertising consultant, 507-333-3116 ldwyer@faribault.com

Stacy Murphy, inside sales specialist, 507-333-3115 smurphy@faribault.com

Catherine Olson, advertising consultant, 507-333-3117  colson@faribault.com

Elizabeth Sammons, advertising coordinator, 507-333-3120  esammons@faribault.com

CIRCULATION

Kris Johnson, circulation manager, 507-333-3125 kjohnson@faribault.com

Susan Palmer, district manager, 507-333-3108 spalmer@faribault.com

Jamie Rischmiller, customer service, 507-333-3111 jrischmiller@faribault.com

NEWSROOM

Jaci Smith, managing editor, 507-333-3134 jsmith@faribault.com

Brittney, editorial assistant, 507-333-3130 bneset@faribault.com

Camey Thibodeau, reporter, 507-333-3128 cthibodeau@faribault.com

Brad Phenow, reporter, 507-333-3135 bphenow@faribault.com

Eric Dolski, page designer/copy editor, 507-333-3131, edolski@faribault.com

Joshua Berhow, sports editor, 507-333-3129 jberhow@faribault.com

Miles Trump, sports reporter, 507-333-3119 mtrump@faribault.com

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…