Rice County 4-H members take part in learning and leadership program - Faribault MN: Announcements

  • Welcome!
    |
    ||
    Logout|My Dashboard

Rice County 4-H members take part in learning and leadership program

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, June 27, 2014 4:22 pm | Updated: 4:30 pm, Fri Jun 27, 2014.

On June 9-12, more than 300 youth from across Minnesota, and a delegation from Missouri 4-H, gathered at the 4-H Building on the Minnesota State Fair grounds to participate in the annual 4-H Youth Exploring Leadership and Learning Out loud! (YELLO!) youth leadership conference. The event was filled with activities to help youth learn and practice valuable leadership skills that they will use throughout their lives.

Using a youth-teaching-youth model, the 4-H YELLO! leadership conference is developed and led by 4-H State Ambassadors, Minnesota youth who have been selected to serve as spokespeople for 4-H, and to educate youth and adults about the importance of youth development, leadership, citizenship, service, and teamwork. This year’s conference theme was “Channel your World": community leadership through service learning. Conference attendees participated in activities designed to explore how to increase and enhance youth voice in their school, clubs, organizations and community, and to think about community issues in new and different ways. They put some of the skills they learned into practice packing more than 40,000 meals for the nonprofit Feed My Starving Children, and participated in an Oxfam Hunger Banquet to learn about hunger in Minnesota and around the world.

Subscription Required

An online service is needed to view this article in its entirety. You need an online service to view this article in its entirety.

Have an online subscription?

Login Now

Need an online subscription?

Subscribe

Login

You must login to view the full content on this page.

© 2014 Southernminn.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Thank you for reading 15 free articles on our site. You can come back at the end of your 30-day period for another 15 free articles, or you can purchase a subscription and continue to enjoy valuable local news and information. If you need help, please contact our office at 507-333-3111. You need an online service to view this article in its entirety.

Have an online subscription?

Login Now

Need an online subscription?

Subscribe

Login

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

Reader ToolBox

Forms, Contests and Special Content






Faribault Daily News Forms

Contact Us

MAIN NUMBER

507-333-3100

Publisher and Editor

Sam Gett, Publisher and Editor, 507-333-3105  sgett@faribault.com

ADVERTISING

Ross Barrett, advertising manager, 507-333-3109 rbarrett@faribault.com

Lisa Dwyer, advertising consultant, 507-333-3116 ldwyer@faribault.com

Tim Goetz, inside sales specialist, 507-333-3115 tgoetz@faribault.com

Mark Nelson, advertising consultant, 507-333-3122 mnelson@faribault.com

Catherine Olson, advertising consultant, 507-333-3117  colson@faribault.com

CIRCULATION

Kris Johnson, circulation manager, 507-333-3125 kjohnson@faribault.com

Colleen Rolling, Distribution Assistant, 507-333-3306 crolling@faribault.com

Susan Palmer, district manager, 507-333-3108 spalmer@faribault.com

Jamie Rischmiller, customer service, 507-333-3111 jrischmiller@faribault.com

NEWSROOM

Jaci Smith, managing editor, 507-333-3134 jsmith@faribault.com

Chris Houck, editorial assistant, 507-333-3130 chouck@faribault.com

Molly, Larsen, reporter, 507-333-3132 mlarsen@faribault.com

Camey Thibodeau, reporter, 507-333-3128 cthibodeau@faribault.com

Cristeta Boarini, reporter, 507-333-3135 cboarini@faribault.com

Joshua Berhow, sports editor, 507-333-3129 jberhow@faribault.com

Miles Trump, sports reporter, 507-333-3119 mtrump@faribault.com

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…

Pro Picks