2018 Bruce Smith Golf Classic team

A team of four seen at the 2018 Bruce Smith Golf Classic. The 30th annual event is at Faribault Golf Club June 18. (Mike Randleman/Faribault Daily News)

What do a former University of Minnesota quarterback, kicker, punter, running back and radio personalities all have in common?

They’ll all be at Faribault Golf Club Monday, June 17 for the 30th annual Bruce Smith Golf Classic.

The event annually features several speakers with this year’s list taking on a U of M vibe.

The speakers, in order are Conor Rhoda, Emmit Carpenter, Chris Hawthorne, Dick Jonckowski, June Smith and Darrell Thompson.

Rhoda was a Gopher quarterback from 2013-17 and started six games as a senior. He hails from Eagan and went to Cretin-Derham Hall.

Carpenter was a Gopher kicker from 2014-18. He made 53 of 67 career field goals and was a Lou Groza Award semifinalist in 2016.

Hawthorne was a Gopher kicker from 2011-13 and once a Big Ten Special Teams Player of the Week.

Jonckowski was a public address announcer with the U of M. for 31 years He previously attended the Bruce Smith Golf Classic in 2014 as Master of Ceremonies. Jonckowski has a new book with tales of his career titled “It’s All About Me.”

Smith is the sister of the late Bruce Smith, the 1941 Heisman Trophy winner from Faribault who attended the U of M. He’s the Gophers’ lone Heisman winner.

Thompson is a former Gopher and NFL running back from Rochester, as well as Gopher color commentator. He has attended the event for the past several years.

The Bruce Smith Golf Classic starts with a lunch at 11 a.m., golf throughout the day, a cocktail hour from 5 to 6 p.m. and dinner at 6, which kicks off the round of speakers.

As always, after the tournament, there will be a dinner and banquet featuring silent and live auctions. Auction items in years past have included items donated from Minnesota’s professional and collegiate athletic teams, activities passes for FHS and BA sporting events and other sports-related memorabilia.

Mike Grimm, the radio voice of Gopher football, returns as Master of Ceremonies.

Beginning in 1990, proceeds from the Bruce Smith Golf Classic have been donated to the three Faribault schools for scholarships. The amount has totaled over $236,150.

More information can be found by calling Faribault Golf Club at 507-334-3810.

Reach Sports Editor Mike Randleman at 507-333-3119 or on Twitter @fdnmike.

© Copyright 2019 APG Media of Southern Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.{p style=”color: #000000; font-family: tahoma, arial, helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: 12px;”}{p style=”color: #000000; font-family: tahoma, arial, helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: 12px;”}{p style=”color: #000000; font-family: tahoma, arial, helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: 12px;”}{!--[if gte mso 9]}{xml} {o:OfficeDocumentSettings} {o:AllowPNG/} {/o:OfficeDocumentSettings} {/xml}{![endif]--}{!--[if gte mso 9]}{xml} {w:WordDocument} {w:Zoom}0{/w:Zoom} {w:TrackMoves}false{/w:TrackMoves} {w:TrackFormatting/} {w:PunctuationKerning/} {w:DrawingGridHorizontalSpacing}18 pt{/w:DrawingGridHorizontalSpacing} {w:DrawingGridVerticalSpacing}18 pt{/w:DrawingGridVerticalSpacing} {w:DisplayHorizontalDrawingGridEvery}0{/w:DisplayHorizontalDrawingGridEvery} {w:DisplayVerticalDrawingGridEvery}0{/w:DisplayVerticalDrawingGridEvery} {w:ValidateAgainstSchemas/} {w:SaveIfXMLInvalid}false{/w:SaveIfXMLInvalid} {w:IgnoreMixedContent}false{/w:IgnoreMixedContent} {w:AlwaysShowPlaceholderText}false{/w:AlwaysShowPlaceholderText} {w:Compatibility} {w:BreakWrappedTables/} {w:DontGrowAutofit/} {w:DontAutofitConstrainedTables/} {w:DontVertAlignInTxbx/} {/w:Compatibility} {/w:WordDocument} {/xml}{![endif]--}{!--[if gte mso 9]}{xml} {w:LatentStyles DefLockedState=”false” LatentStyleCount=”276”} {/w:LatentStyles} {/xml}{![endif]--}{!--[if gte mso 10]} {style} /Style Definitions / table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:”Table Normal”; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-parent:””; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:12.0pt; font-family:”Times New Roman”; mso-ascii-font-family:Cambria; mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”; mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast; mso-hansi-font-family:Cambria; mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;} {/style} {![endif]--} {!--StartFragment--} {!--EndFragment--}

Sports reporter for the Faribault Daily News. Graduated from Iowa State University in 2016. Originally from Eden Prairie, Minnesota.

Load comments